How this dataset was acquired. Every row comes from the Radar API, Fliar's company-data API and MCP server. Radar reads
business news continuously and extracts each announcement of a new investment fund into structured fields: the manager, the fund name and
type, the target and amount raised, the close date, the sector and geographic focus and any anchor investors. It then links the manager to
its record in a database of five million companies. This release covers venture capital, private equity, infrastructure, real estate and
private credit funds reported from January 2010 to June 2026. Repeat reports of the same fund are merged, and every amount is checked
against the sentence it was read from. Each row names the article it was read from (news_source, news_url) and quotes the sentence
(news_excerpt). A manager's full, continuously updated event timeline, including fund raises, is available through
POST /v1/companies/events (reference) or the get_company_events MCP tool.
This file is a 25% sample: 5,591 of 22,361 fund raises. It keeps every record for a fixed subset of managers. The subset is chosen by a hash, so it stays the same from one release to the next. The findings and tables below were computed on the full data. For the rest, the withheld fields and monthly updates, get a Radar API key (docs). Each row's
fliar_profile_urlopens the company's full profile on Fliar.
Key findings
- 22,361 fund raises by 9,965 managers, 2010 to June 2026. 14,695 disclosed a raised amount, totalling $9.3T.
- 2022 was the busiest year with 2,382 fund raises reported; 2025 had 1,932 ($723.6B disclosed).
- Venture capital is the most common fund type (12,578 funds), but private equity raised the most disclosed money ($5.1T vs $2.0T).
- Billion-dollar funds hold the money: 1,865 funds of US$1B or more are 13% of funds with an amount but 75% of disclosed dollars.
- Targets vs closes: of 8,751 funds reporting both, the median raised 100% of target and 77% met or beat it.
- Geography: the top three countries by disclosed fund size (United States, United Kingdom, India) account for 66% of disclosed dollars with a country.



Fund raises by year and fund type
Full data; 2026 covers January to June. Other and unspecified types are in the total only.
| Year | Fund raises | Venture capital | Private equity | Infrastructure | Real estate | Private credit | Disclosed raised | Median fund |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 497 | 228 | 211 | 13 | 24 | 7 | $171.9B | $156.6M |
| 2011 | 521 | 247 | 209 | 9 | 30 | 13 | $175.3B | $147.3M |
| 2012 | 577 | 313 | 203 | 10 | 22 | 12 | $164.9B | $100.0M |
| 2013 | 755 | 326 | 304 | 37 | 34 | 23 | $322.8B | $155.8M |
| 2014 | 959 | 434 | 377 | 60 | 38 | 23 | $409.5B | $182.5M |
| 2015 | 925 | 509 | 304 | 26 | 34 | 22 | $361.0B | $140.8M |
| 2016 | 1,084 | 565 | 373 | 35 | 50 | 26 | $504.1B | $172.8M |
| 2017 | 1,201 | 582 | 380 | 100 | 44 | 51 | $585.9B | $150.0M |
| 2018 | 1,192 | 648 | 353 | 72 | 57 | 23 | $596.5B | $123.1M |
| 2019 | 1,369 | 799 | 363 | 79 | 56 | 33 | $658.0B | $114.2M |
| 2020 | 1,617 | 963 | 327 | 70 | 64 | 50 | $572.0B | $100.0M |
| 2021 | 2,065 | 1,273 | 434 | 107 | 83 | 66 | $791.9B | $108.0M |
| 2022 | 2,382 | 1,566 | 463 | 93 | 104 | 74 | $994.5B | $110.0M |
| 2023 | 2,151 | 1,274 | 511 | 97 | 78 | 107 | $850.3B | $108.0M |
| 2024 | 2,292 | 1,333 | 570 | 96 | 66 | 132 | $895.7B | $105.0M |
| 2025 | 1,932 | 1,087 | 484 | 71 | 58 | 149 | $723.6B | $100.0M |
| 2026 (Jan–Jun) | 842 | 431 | 259 | 32 | 33 | 48 | $557.4B | $180.0M |
Largest disclosed funds (top 50)
Largest close reported for each fund. Amounts are as reported and checked against the source sentence.
| # | Fund | Manager | Type | Raised | Target | Reported | Country | Articles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vision Fund 1 | SoftBank Group | Venture capital | $108.0B | $100.0B | 2018-05 | Japan | 57 |
| 2 | SoftBank Vision Fund | SoftBank Group | Venture capital | $100.0B | $100.0B | 2016-10 | Japan | 110 |
| 3 | Vision Fund | SoftBank Group | Private equity | $45.0B | $108.0B | 2019-11 | Japan | 6 |
| 4 | Senior Direct Lending Fund III | Ares Management | Private credit | $33.6B | $10.0B | 2024-07 | United States | 9 |
| 5 | Ardian Secondary Fund IX | Ardian | Private equity | $30.0B | $30.0B | 2025-01 | 4 | |
| 6 | CVC Capital Partners IX Fund | CVC | Private equity | $28.6B | $27.0B | 2023-07 | Luxembourg | 8 |
| 7 | Brookfield Infrastructure Fund V | Brookfield Asset Management | Infrastructure | $28.0B | $25.0B | 2022-06 | Canada | 8 |
| 8 | Blackstone Capital Partners VIII | Blackstone | Private equity | $26.0B | $25.0B | 2018-06 | United States | 16 |
| 9 | Advent International GPE X | Advent International | Private equity | $25.0B | $25.0B | 2022-05 | 8 | |
| 10 | Apollo Investment Fund IX | Apollo Global Management | Private equity | $24.7B | $22.5B | 2017-05 | United States | 5 |
| 11 | 16Th Flagship Fund | Thoma Bravo | Private equity | $24.4B | $20.0B | 2025-06 | United States | 3 |
| 12 | Thoma Bravo Fund XV | Thoma Bravo | Private equity | $24.3B | $24.3B | 2022-12 | United States | 10 |
| 13 | CVC Capital Partners VIII | CVC | Private equity | $24.1B | $21.6B | 2020-03 | 3 | |
| 14 | KKR North America Fund XIII (NAX3) | KKR | Private equity | $24.0B | $19.0B | 2021-07 | United States | 6 |
| 15 | EQT X | EQT | Private equity | $24.0B | $23.8B | 2022-01 | United States | 15 |
| 16 | Brookfield Global Transition Fund II | Brookfield Asset Management | Infrastructure | $23.5B | $20.0B | 2023-05 | Canada | 10 |
| 17 | EQT Infrastructure VI | EQT | Infrastructure | $23.2B | $21.6B | 2023-01 | United States | 21 |
| 18 | North America Fund XIV | KKR | Private equity | $23.0B | $23.0B | 2024-06 | United States | 4 |
| 19 | Thoma Bravo Flagship Fund XIV | Thoma Bravo | Private equity | $22.8B | $17.8B | 2020-10 | United States | 6 |
| 20 | X | Lexington Partners | Private equity | $22.7B | $15.0B | 2024-01 | 5 | |
| 21 | Fund IV | Global Infrastructure Partners | Infrastructure | $22.0B | $20.0B | 2019-05 | 6 | |
| 22 | BCP V | Blackstone | Private equity | $21.7B | $21.7B | 2010-07 | United States | 3 |
| 23 | Global Transition Fund | Brookfield Asset Management | Infrastructure | $21.0B | $25.0B | 2023-02 | Canada | 7 |
| 24 | Silver Lake Partners VII | Silver Lake | Private equity | $20.5B | $20.5B | 2024-05 | United States | 3 |
| 25 | Fund IV | Brookfield Asset Management | Infrastructure | $20.0B | $3.5B | 2016-06 | Canada | 9 |
| 26 | Fund XII | Insight Partners | Private equity | $20.0B | $20.0B | 2022-02 | United States | 6 |
| 27 | 10th Private Equity Fund | Apollo Global Management | Private equity | $20.0B | 2025-05 | United Kingdom | 3 | |
| 28 | Brookfield Infrastructure Fund IV | Brookfield Asset Management | Infrastructure | $20.0B | $20.0B | 2019-05 | Canada | 8 |
| 29 | 8Th Flagship Fund | Vista Equity Partners | Private equity | $20.0B | $22.0B | 2023-09 | 3 | |
| 30 | (unnamed) | Blackstone | Infrastructure | $20.0B | 2017-05 | Saudi Arabia | 2 | |
| 31 | (unnamed) | Blackstone Strategic Partners | Private equity | $20.0B | 2024-05 | 1 | ||
| 32 | Secondaries Programme VIII + co-investments | Carlyle AlpInvest | Private equity | $20.0B | 2026-02 | 1 | ||
| 33 | Silver Lake Partners VI | Silver Lake | Private equity | $20.0B | $20.0B | 2021-01 | United States | 3 |
| 34 | HSBC Global Infrastructure Debt Fund | HSBC | Infrastructure | $19.1B | $19.1B | 2021-03 | United Kingdom | 4 |
| 35 | New £14.7Bn Lending Fund | Barclays | Private credit | $18.7B | $18.7B | 2019-03 | United Kingdom | 2 |
| 36 | Seventh Flagship Buyout Fund | Carlyle Group | Private equity | $18.5B | $15.0B | 2018-05 | United States | 5 |
| 37 | Ares Capital Europe VI | Ares Management | Private equity | $18.5B | $16.2B | 2025-01 | 3 | |
| 38 | Apollo Investment Fund VIII | Venture Investment Fund | Private equity | $18.4B | $17.5B | 2014-01 | 1 | |
| 39 | Permira ninth flagship PE offering | Permira | Private equity | $18.4B | $18.4B | 2026-03 | 1 | |
| 40 | Fund VII | Blackstone | Private equity | $18.0B | $16.0B | 2014-09 | United States | 5 |
| 41 | GPE IX | Advent International | Private equity | $17.5B | $17.5B | 2018-12 | United States | 14 |
| 42 | Warburg Pincus Global Growth 14 | Warburg Pincus | Private equity | $17.3B | $16.0B | 2021-09 | United States | 4 |
| 43 | CVC Capital Partners VII | CVC | Private equity | $17.3B | $16.7B | 2017-06 | United Kingdom | 8 |
| 44 | KKR Global Infrastructure Investors IV | KKR | Infrastructure | $17.0B | $17.0B | 2020-09 | United States | 24 |
| 45 | Coller International Partners IX | Coller Capital | Private equity | $17.0B | $10.0B | 2026-01 | United Kingdom | 6 |
| 46 | EQT Infrastructure V | EQT | Infrastructure | $17.0B | $17.0B | 2020-04 | United States | 11 |
| 47 | P8 fund | Permira | Private equity | $16.7B | 2023-03 | 1 | ||
| 48 | TA XV | TA | Private equity | $16.5B | $16.5B | 2023-05 | United States | 8 |
| 49 | European direct-lending fund | Venture Investment Fund | Private credit | $16.4B | 2024-09 | 1 | ||
| 50 | Fund VI | Blackstone | Private equity | $16.4B | $16.5B | 2011-07 | United States | 7 |
Most active fund managers (top 50)
Distinct funds per manager after merging repeat reports.
| # | Manager | Funds | Disclosed raised | Largest fund | Main type | Country | Active |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Blackstone | 57 | $301.3B | $26.0B | Private equity | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 2 | Carlyle Group | 57 | $132.4B | $18.5B | Private equity | United States | 2010–2025 |
| 3 | KKR | 56 | $213.6B | $24.0B | Private equity | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 4 | Andreessen Horowitz | 48 | $80.5B | $15.0B | Venture capital | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 5 | Bain Capital | 42 | $125.7B | $14.0B | Private equity | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 6 | Sequoia Capital | 42 | $49.0B | $12.0B | Venture capital | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 7 | Accel | 38 | $25.7B | $4.0B | Venture capital | India | 2010–2025 |
| 8 | Brookfield Asset Management | 35 | $217.4B | $28.0B | Infrastructure | Canada | 2015–2026 |
| 9 | GLP | 35 | $60.1B | $12.0B | Real estate | China | 2015–2025 |
| 10 | EQT | 32 | $158.8B | $24.0B | Private equity | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 11 | TPG | 31 | $73.1B | $12.0B | Private equity | United States | 2011–2025 |
| 12 | Ares Management | 26 | $108.9B | $33.6B | Private credit | United States | 2012–2026 |
| 13 | Ardian | 25 | $85.6B | $30.0B | Private equity | France | 2015–2025 |
| 14 | Lightspeed Venture Partners | 24 | $37.1B | $9.0B | Venture capital | India | 2012–2025 |
| 15 | Goldman Sachs | 23 | $79.8B | $16.0B | Private equity | United States | 2010–2024 |
| 16 | Sofinnova Partners | 23 | $6.6B | $750.0M | Venture capital | France | 2010–2025 |
| 17 | CVC | 22 | $145.7B | $28.6B | Private equity | Australia | 2011–2026 |
| 18 | Thoma Bravo | 22 | $129.3B | $24.4B | Private equity | United States | 2012–2025 |
| 19 | Insight Partners | 22 | $81.1B | $20.0B | Venture capital | United States | 2011–2025 |
| 20 | CapitaLand | 22 | $5.4B | $643.8M | Private equity | Singapore | 2015–2026 |
| 21 | SIDBI | 22 | $5.3B | $2.4B | Venture capital | India | 2010–2025 |
| 22 | Blume Venture | 22 | $1.4B | $250.0M | Venture capital | India | 2011–2025 |
| 23 | European Investment Fund | 22 | $999.0M | $442.8M | Venture capital | Ireland | 2010–2026 |
| 24 | General Catalyst | 21 | $28.6B | $8.6B | Venture capital | United States | 2011–2026 |
| 25 | Partech Partners | 21 | $4.8B | $750.0M | Venture capital | France | 2011–2025 |
| 26 | 20 | $10.4B | $10.0B | Venture capital | United States | 2010–2025 | |
| 27 | Speedinvest | 20 | $2.4B | $648.0M | Venture capital | Austria | 2014–2026 |
| 28 | Omnivore | 20 | $1.1B | $150.0M | Venture capital | India | 2010–2025 |
| 29 | SoftBank Group | 19 | $257.6B | $108.0B | Venture capital | Japan | 2013–2023 |
| 30 | HarbourVest Partners | 19 | $43.2B | $15.1B | Private equity | Canada | 2014–2026 |
| 31 | Tiger Global Management | 19 | $35.4B | $12.7B | Venture capital | United States | 2012–2025 |
| 32 | IFC | 19 | $1.4B | $1.2B | Venture capital | United States | 2011–2025 |
| 33 | Aavishkaar Capital | 19 | $1.3B | $250.0M | Venture capital | India | 2010–2025 |
| 34 | Founders Fund | 18 | $26.5B | $6.0B | Venture capital | United States | 2010–2026 |
| 35 | Orbimed | 18 | $16.3B | $4.3B | Private equity | United States | 2012–2025 |
| 36 | Northleaf | 18 | $10.0B | $1.4B | Private equity | Canada | 2012–2025 |
| 37 | Warburg Pincus | 17 | $54.8B | $17.3B | Private equity | United States | 2013–2026 |
| 38 | Eurazeo | 17 | $13.6B | $3.2B | Private equity | France | 2013–2026 |
| 39 | Index Ventures | 17 | $12.3B | $2.3B | Venture capital | United Kingdom | 2011–2024 |
| 40 | Khosla Ventures | 17 | $8.5B | $1.6B | Venture capital | United States | 2010–2025 |
| 41 | TrueBridge | 17 | $5.5B | $884.0M | Venture capital | United States | 2012–2024 |
| 42 | BDC Capital | 17 | $2.0B | $500.0M | Venture capital | Canada | 2016–2026 |
| 43 | Inveready | 17 | $472.2M | $378.0M | Venture capital | Spain | 2013–2025 |
| 44 | Vista Equity Partners | 16 | $52.0B | $20.0B | Private equity | United States | 2012–2025 |
| 45 | Industry Ventures | 16 | $6.6B | $1.4B | Private equity | United States | 2011–2024 |
| 46 | ICICI Venture | 16 | $3.6B | $800.0M | Private equity | India | 2010–2023 |
| 47 | ESR | 16 | $3.6B | $1.0B | Real estate | Australia | 2017–2024 |
| 48 | Bpifrance | 16 | $815.4M | $243.0M | Venture capital | France | 2014–2026 |
| 49 | I Squared | 15 | $61.1B | $15.0B | Infrastructure | United States | 2014–2026 |
| 50 | Partners Group | 15 | $47.4B | $15.0B | Infrastructure | Switzerland | 2013–2026 |
Fund raises by country (top 30)
| # | Country | Funds | Managers | Disclosed raised | Median fund | Main type | Funds 2024 | Funds 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | United States | 5,154 | 2,701 | $3.4T | $200.0M | Venture capital | 520 | 382 |
| 2 | India | 3,131 | 1,381 | $412.3B | $50.0M | Venture capital | 327 | 280 |
| 3 | United Kingdom | 1,228 | 704 | $478.8B | $127.0M | Venture capital | 138 | 126 |
| 4 | Canada | 740 | 361 | $330.7B | $74.0M | Venture capital | 66 | 52 |
| 5 | France | 583 | 312 | $162.3B | $110.2M | Venture capital | 50 | 54 |
| 6 | Germany | 495 | 281 | $90.7B | $162.0M | Venture capital | 55 | 38 |
| 7 | China | 445 | 268 | $250.9B | $420.0M | Venture capital | 25 | 24 |
| 8 | Spain | 437 | 258 | $62.8B | $75.6M | Venture capital | 53 | 49 |
| 9 | Singapore | 393 | 233 | $72.5B | $100.0M | Venture capital | 28 | 29 |
| 10 | Brazil | 375 | 247 | $49.6B | $40.0M | Venture capital | 26 | 46 |
| 11 | Australia | 361 | 205 | $119.5B | $80.5M | Venture capital | 28 | 18 |
| 12 | Japan | 240 | 156 | $313.8B | $125.0M | Venture capital | 22 | 16 |
| 13 | Israel | 226 | 116 | $28.0B | $120.0M | Venture capital | 16 | 11 |
| 14 | Netherlands | 209 | 119 | $29.8B | $74.2M | Venture capital | 44 | 29 |
| 15 | Switzerland | 150 | 89 | $56.3B | $200.0M | Venture capital | 17 | 14 |
| 16 | United Arab Emirates | 143 | 107 | $53.5B | $100.0M | Venture capital | 12 | 16 |
| 17 | Nigeria | 141 | 89 | $7.0B | $10.2M | Venture capital | 10 | 19 |
| 18 | South Africa | 140 | 86 | $11.1B | $30.0M | Venture capital | 16 | 16 |
| 19 | Ireland | 137 | 84 | $11.3B | $54.0M | Venture capital | 7 | 8 |
| 20 | South Korea | 136 | 71 | $28.3B | $117.5M | Venture capital | 20 | 26 |
| 21 | Italy | 132 | 85 | $18.8B | $84.8M | Venture capital | 21 | 19 |
| 22 | Saudi Arabia | 96 | 79 | $43.2B | $100.0M | Venture capital | 21 | 20 |
| 23 | Luxembourg | 95 | 72 | $53.9B | $136.1M | Venture capital | 14 | 15 |
| 24 | Sweden | 92 | 55 | $73.1B | $211.2M | Venture capital | 13 | 11 |
| 25 | Hong Kong | 92 | 63 | $94.2B | $417.5M | Private equity | 7 | 4 |
| 26 | New Zealand | 78 | 40 | $3.7B | $60.0M | Venture capital | 4 | 13 |
| 27 | Egypt | 78 | 48 | $12.1B | $25.0M | Venture capital | 8 | 7 |
| 28 | Belgium | 73 | 44 | $8.0B | $45.4M | Venture capital | 8 | 13 |
| 29 | Mexico | 71 | 49 | $6.6B | $66.0M | Venture capital | 1 | 5 |
| 30 | Denmark | 64 | 48 | $15.0B | $82.1M | Venture capital | 9 | 16 |
Funds by stated sector focus
The stated focus is grouped by keyword; a fund with several themes is counted under the first matching one.
| Focus | Funds | Disclosed raised | Median fund | Venture capital share | Funds 2019 | Funds 2025 | Largest fund |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other / unspecified | 2,985 | $1.7T | $143.0M | 43.0% | 165 | 243 | Senior Direct Lending Fund III |
| Technology (general) | 2,507 | $794.6B | $80.5M | 82.5% | 165 | 154 | Vision Fund 1 |
| Healthcare and life sciences | 1,989 | $693.4B | $172.8M | 60.7% | 105 | 170 | EQT X |
| Climate and energy | 1,648 | $553.6B | $120.0M | 50.5% | 85 | 174 | Global Transition Fund |
| Fintech | 1,126 | $288.2B | $71.0M | 77.3% | 94 | 104 | Genstar Capital Partners XI LP |
| Consumer | 972 | $235.1B | $100.0M | 56.5% | 73 | 62 | Fund XIII |
| Artificial intelligence | 891 | $183.1B | $64.4M | 88.4% | 44 | 206 | Late-Stage Venture Fund V |
| Real estate | 871 | $436.4B | $250.0M | 8.3% | 59 | 45 | Blackstone Capital Partners VIII |
| Enterprise software | 865 | $336.5B | $86.4M | 67.7% | 47 | 67 | 16Th Flagship Fund |
| Infrastructure | 708 | $745.2B | $450.0M | 22.5% | 42 | 67 | Brookfield Infrastructure Fund V |
| Industrials and manufacturing | 456 | $313.4B | $191.5M | 39.5% | 28 | 54 | SoftBank Vision Fund |
| SMEs and growth companies | 376 | $123.1B | $150.0M | 19.9% | 26 | 24 | New £14.7Bn Lending Fund |
| Deep tech | 364 | $37.7B | $64.8M | 83.0% | 19 | 50 | Waymo |
| Agriculture and food systems | 211 | $21.4B | $42.9M | 52.1% | 18 | 12 | National Financing Guarantee Fund |
| Media and gaming | 157 | $43.6B | $106.3M | 67.5% | 9 | 12 | KKR Asian Fund IV |
| Education | 132 | $19.2B | $76.0M | 72.7% | 7 | 4 | LLCP Fund VII LP |
Target vs raised, by fund type
Funds reporting both a target and a raised amount. A raised amount can be an interim close, so "below half" includes funds still raising.
| Fund type | Funds with both | Median target | Median raised | Median raised / target | Met or beat target | Beat by 20%+ | Below half of target |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Venture capital | 5,071 | $100.0M | $79.0M | 100.0% | 77.9% | 5.6% | 7.8% |
| Private equity | 2,533 | $427.7M | $405.0M | 100.0% | 78.4% | 17.7% | 7.5% |
| Infrastructure | 395 | $1.0B | $800.0M | 100.0% | 62.5% | 20.0% | 13.4% |
| Real estate | 303 | $500.0M | $370.0M | 100.0% | 64.7% | 14.2% | 14.5% |
| Private credit | 286 | $256.5M | $240.0M | 100.0% | 73.4% | 16.8% | 10.8% |
| Unspecified | 163 | $60.0M | $50.0M | 100.0% | 69.3% | 3.7% | 14.7% |
| All types | 8,751 | $162.0M | $147.0M | 100.0% | 76.6% | 10.4% | 8.4% |
Fund size distribution by type
| Fund size | Venture capital | Private equity | Infrastructure | Real estate | Private credit | All funds | Share of disclosed $ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| < $10M | 1,413 | 192 | 13 | 9 | 54 | 1,817 | 0.1% |
| $10–50M | 2,316 | 470 | 41 | 61 | 96 | 3,083 | 1.0% |
| $50–100M | 1,359 | 387 | 47 | 58 | 56 | 1,957 | 1.6% |
| $100–250M | 1,575 | 769 | 95 | 147 | 101 | 2,738 | 4.9% |
| $250–500M | 801 | 802 | 106 | 117 | 96 | 1,966 | 7.8% |
| $500M–1B | 426 | 683 | 142 | 99 | 67 | 1,431 | 11.2% |
| $1–5B | 227 | 744 | 189 | 91 | 82 | 1,347 | 31.3% |
| ≥ $5B | 32 | 232 | 52 | 11 | 25 | 356 | 42.2% |
Column dictionary
22 columns in the sample CSV.
| Column | Description |
|---|---|
fund_id | stable 12-character ID of the fund raise |
announced_date | date of the earliest report (YYYY-MM-DD) |
year | announcement year |
fund_manager | firm managing the fund (organisations only; blank when the report named only individuals) |
fund_manager_domain | manager's website domain (the join key for the API) |
fund_name | fund name as reported |
fund_type | Venture capital / Private equity / Infrastructure / Real estate / Private credit / Fund of funds / Unspecified |
country | country of the manager or fund |
sector_focus | stated sector focus (as reported) |
focus_group | sector focus grouped into about 15 themes |
geography_focus | stated geographic focus (as reported) |
target_amount_usd | target fund size in US$ (blank when not reported or it failed the check) |
raised_amount_usd | amount raised or closed in US$ (latest and largest close reported; blank when not reported or it failed the check) |
amount_status | verified / unchecked / failed_check / not_disclosed (for raised_amount_usd) |
close_date | reported close date, where given |
anchor_count | number of anchor investors or LPs named (the names are in the API) |
fund_strategy | short strategy statement (blank when longer than 200 characters) |
news_mentions | articles that reported the fund |
news_source | publisher of the article (website domain) |
news_url | link to the article |
news_excerpt | the sentence the fund raise was extracted from (up to 300 characters) |
fliar_profile_url | full company profile on Fliar (financials, funding, team, news) |
Method
- Extraction. Radar's pipeline reads each article about a new fund and extracts structured fields, including the source sentence.
- Scope. Venture capital, private equity, infrastructure (including energy), real estate, private credit and fund-of-funds vehicles. Mutual funds, hedge funds and ETFs are dropped, as are rows with no fund type unless the name says "fund", and rows that describe a company's own funding round.
- Manager. The manager name comes from Fliar's company database when its website is known. Names that read as individuals are blanked, and social-profile links are removed from the domain field.
- Deduplication. Reports are merged per manager (name variants such as "Blackstone Group" and "The Blackstone Group" count as one). The same numbered fund name (roman and ordinal numbers normalised, "Fund IX" = "Ninth Fund") is one fund at any distance in time. Otherwise, within 540 days of a fund's first report, reports merge when the fund name matches, when the amount matches within 3%, or when one report is unnamed and close in time (45 days). A US$1B+ amount re-reported by the same manager or under the same fund name (within 1%, 540 days) is the same fund. Otherwise funds with different numbers never merge. The largest checked close is kept.
- Amount check. Each amount is compared with the money figures parsed from its source sentence (tolerance 0.6–1.7×), allowing for amounts stored in millions.
verifiedmatched;uncheckedhad no parseable figure;failed_checkis blank because it did not match, was a bare number under 10,000, was over US$5B without a match, or was over US$20B (US$30B) without two (three) or more reports and a known manager website;not_disclosedhad no amount. - Currency. US dollars, from the stored conversion or at fixed approximate rates.
- Bulk back-fills. Days carrying more than five times the usual number of reports (archive back-fills stamped with an ingest date rather than the publication date) are dropped.
-
Dates. The date is the earliest report's publication date; rows before 2010 or after June 2026 are dropped.
-
Sample. Each manager key is ranked by
sha1(key). Keys are taken in rank order until the file holds max(25%, 5,000) rows (capped at 100,000). -
Profile links. Links are built from Fliar's company index and checked against it. A row whose company has no public profile has an empty link.
Limitations
- Derived from news: funds that were never reported are missing, and coverage favours large, English-reported funds.
- The date is the article date. An article can describe a fund closed earlier.
- A raised amount can be an interim close rather than the final size.
- Fund types and focus are as reported and classified; the focus grouping is keyword-based.
- Individuals named as managers are blanked, so some rows have no manager.
news_sourceandnews_urlare blank when the article could not be retrieved at release time.
Cite this dataset
Fliar BI. (2026). VC & PE Fund Raises 2010–2026 (Sample release) [Data set]. Zenodo. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23432346
@misc{fliarbi_vc_pe_fund_raises_2026,
author = {{Fliar BI}},
title = {{VC & PE Fund Raises 2010–2026}},
year = {2026},
publisher = {Zenodo},
doi = {10.5281/zenodo.23432346},
url = {https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23432346},
note = {Sample release. Licence CC BY-NC 4.0}
}