Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Ireland’s
consumer goods industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping consumer goods in Ireland. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Ireland’s consumer goods leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Ireland’s consumer goods leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Consumer Goods industry KPIs in Ireland
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
21 of 677 tracked companies have open roles.
34 of 677 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 49 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 85.6% of disclosed capital, while 95.0% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Ireland consumer goods has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Ireland consumer goods has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $14.59M | 31 | 7 |
| 2017 | $1.5M | 42 | 1 |
| 2018 | $17.42M | 39 | 2 |
| 2019 | $21.31M | 29 | 3 |
| 2020 | $40.27M | 45 | 6 |
| 2021 | $71.97M | 24 | 7 |
| 2022 | $26.06M | 3 | 3 |
| 2023 | $448.3M | 2 | 9 |
| 2024 | $726.53K | 4 | 2 |
| 2025 | $85.97M | 1 | 4 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Butternut Box74.7%
- Waterford Whisky6.4%
- POWERSCOURT DISTILLERY4.5%
- Other companies14.4%
Funding by stage
57 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in consumer goods company rounds since 2016.
- 01Europa 6 rounds
- 02Passion Capital 5 rounds
- 03Enterprise Ireland 5 rounds
- 04White Star Capital 4 rounds
- 05Literacy Capital 4 rounds
- 06Castlegate Investments 3 rounds
- 07L Catterton 3 rounds
- 08Five Seasons Ventures 3 rounds
- 09Halo Business Angel Network 3 rounds
- 010HSBC 3 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by General Atlantic and L Catterton.
Backed by Passion Capital and White Star Capital and others.
Backed by White Star Capital and Five Seasons Ventures and others.
Backed by Five Seasons Ventures and Passion Capital and others.
Backed by Castlegate Investments and West.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Literacy Capital and Passion Capital and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
No reviewed exact national-ID connector has yet been qualified for Ireland; this is a checked implementation boundary, not evidence that filings are absent.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Ireland companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
10 of the 677 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (1.5%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 359,912 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smyths Toyssmythstoys.com | 15,696,490 | 75 | 85.9% |
| Diydiy.ie | 961,621 | 52 | 69.7% |
| Decathlon Irelanddecathlon.ie | 922,935 | 50 | 73.4% |
| Butternut Boxbutternutbox.com | 912,458 | 44 | 86.7% |
| Elveryselverys.ie | 423,490 | 46 | 72.1% |
| Guinness Storehouseguinness-storehouse.com | 296,335 | 55 | 76.3% |
| Baileysbaileys.com | 242,851 | 50 | 88.4% |
| Jameson Irish Whiskeyjamesonwhiskey.com | 186,147 | 56 | 63.8% |
| Portwestportwest.com | 158,703 | 41 | 24% |
| IrelandsEyeirelandseyeknitwear.com | 16,930 | 30 | 85.2% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
11 of these companies (1.6%) publish at least one Android app — 12 apps in all, carrying 387.4K installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Butternut BoxButternut Box | 171.5K | — | Lifestyle |
| PhoneWatch AlarmPhoneWatch | 133.5K | 4.2 | House & Home |
| Butlers Chocolate CaféButlers Chocolates | 53.6K | — | Food & Drink |
| Jameson J-ClubJameson Irish Whiskey | 17.6K | — | Food & Drink |
| ATC CALAAutomated Technical Controls | 6.4K | — | Lifestyle |
| DermAcademyDermaceutic | 2.7K | — | Education |
| Didier Lab IrelandDidier Lab | 790 | — | Shopping |
| FrankiesFrankies Hairdressing | 479 | — | Lifestyle |
| Reveal - Beauty & WellnessReveal | 446 | — | Lifestyle |
| Mink Hand & Foot SpaMink Hand & Foot Spa | 228 | — | Lifestyle |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Ireland consumer goods market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Ireland consumer goods market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Internet first brands
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
2 companies hiring · $40.42M disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Avoca announced it has raised more than $125 million across multiple funding rounds, reaching a valuation of approximately $1 billion.
European sweet baked foods and snacks maker Valeo Foods Group plans to acquire Prestige 96 AD, a Bulgaria-based manufacturer of biscuits, wafers and sweet baked treats.
C&C Group plc, the Dublin-based manufacturer, marketer and distributor of beer and hard cider brands including Woodchuck and Hornsby’s, has acquired the remaining 50 percent stake in Wallaces Express, Scotland's largest wine and spirits wholesaler.
The US fresh vegetable business of Dublin-based company Dole has been acquired by Organicgirl, a packaged salad firm owned by Arable Capital Partners, for USD 140m.
Ireland-based Smyths Toys has reached a deal to take over more than 90 Toys R Us stores in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.
Butternut Box Fetches $100 M in Debt Financing for Fresh Pet Food Service
Conaty Food and Catering Supplies, whose customers include prominent golf resorts Adare Manor, Carton House, and the K Club, says it expects revenues to exceed €50m in 2025 after confirming the acquisition of Wicklow wholesaler Irish Distributors Ltd for an undisclosed amount.
During fiscal 2012, not only did the company complete its acquisition of The Daniels Group in the U.K., but it also acquired Cully & Sully brand fresh chilled soups in Ireland and Europe’s Best frozen fruits and vegetables brand in Canada.
Aryzta has acquired Dublin, Ireland-based food service company La Rousse Foods.
Mayfair Equity Partners has acquired a majority stake in Promise Gluten Free
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 110 recorded events in the 24-month window.
Leadership moves
17 tracked people moves
Appointment Member of the Board of Directors
Appointment Member of the Board of Directors
Appointment Member of the Board of Directors
Resignation
Resignation Previously Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Company Chairman
Departure Previously Co-founder
Departure Previously Co-founder
Contract wins
1 recorded customer wins
Customer: lion
Workforce actions
1 companies with reported reductions
134 rolesoperational efficiency
Regulatory events
1 recorded events
approved for examinershipHigh Court
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 25 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| valeo foods group→Prestige 96 AD | Pending | 2026-04-15 | Not stated in snapshot |
| valeo foods group→Prestige-96 AD | Announced | 2026-03-25 | Not stated in snapshot |
| valeo foods group→I.D.C. Holding | Completed | 2025-09-22 | Not stated in snapshot |
| C&C Gleeson→Wallaces Express | Completed | 2025-09-12 | Not stated in snapshot |
| valeo foods group→freddi | Completed | 2025-09-12 | Not stated in snapshot |
| organicgirl→Dole Plc ↗ | Completed | 2025-08-26 | $140.0M |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
0 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 3-posting snapshot covers 3 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
0 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 3-posting snapshot covers 3 employers.
Most advertised job titles
0 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
3 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 3 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| valeo foods group ↗ | 4,500 |
| Ornua ↗ | 3,000 |
| Smyths Toys ↗ | 2,230 |
| Tirlan ↗ | 1,145 |
| Butternut Box ↗ | 705 |
| Portwest ↗ | 689 |
| Butlers Chocolates ↗ | 400 |
| Guinness Storehouse ↗ | 204 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
167 founders and chief executives across 141 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
167 founders and chief executives across 141 companies.
Kevin Glynn
Butternut Box ↗Ex-Goldman Sachs, 100minds, Popdeem, Co-Founder Irish Student Entrepreneurship Forum. University College Dublin BBL 2012
Ashley Gardiner
POWERSCOURT DISTILLERY ↗DDC Shopfit & Design, ex-Marks and Spencer.
Mark Ganly
N-Pro ↗Founder & MD MARC Sports, ex- Vulcan Solutions, Enterprise Ireland. University of Limerick BTech 2001
Donal O'Gallachoir
Glendalough Distillery ↗Ex- The Irishman Brands, CMS Marketing Services, Grass Roots Group. National University of Ireland BBS 2011, Dublin Institute of Technology MSc 2013
Oisin Lennon
Danu sports ↗Ex- Connexicon Medical, Auctionxchange, Liosin Riding Centre & Stud. Technological University Dublin 2016
Chupi Sweetman
Chupi ↗Ex-What to Eat, TOPSHOP TOPMAN.
Tom Cronin
Rye River Brewing Company ↗ex CEO NORTH WEST BARS, Molson Coors Ireland, The HEINEKEN. Dublin Institute of Technology 2015
Tom Jensen
Connacht Whiskey ↗Founder New Liberty Distillery, Woodland Radicle ex- Remy Cointreau USA, Allied Domecq, Central Division, Central States, Gallo Wine Division…
Quincey Fennelly
Wicklow Wolf Brewing Company ↗Ex-San Francisco Baking Institute, C&C Wholesale, United Beverages, Ballygowan. Trinity College Dublin
Ernest Cantillon
LYQD ↗Co-Founder Black Emerald Irish Whiskey, Sober Lane, Electric Cork. University College Cork BCom 2004
Conor Quinn
Wilde Irish Gin ↗Leftys, ex-805basecamp, ex-The Hangar Santa Barbara, University of Denver, 2002
Paul Gilligan
Sonic Innovations ↗Ex-Commissioners of Irish Lights, Excelsys Technologies. Dublin Institute of Technology ME 2006
Education networks
3 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
4 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
213,395 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
213,395 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Consumer Goods coverage across Ireland · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 28,780 |
| 2021Q3 | 60,017 |
| 2021Q4 | 27,895 |
| 2022Q1 | 31,459 |
| 2022Q2 | 28,204 |
| 2022Q3 | 26,756 |
| 2022Q4 | 31,774 |
| 2023Q1 | 33,236 |
| 2023Q2 | 34,689 |
| 2023Q3 | 33,395 |
| 2023Q4 | 30,295 |
| 2024Q1 | 34,623 |
| 2024Q2 | 35,826 |
| 2024Q3 | 33,574 |
| 2024Q4 | 32,476 |
| 2025Q1 | 42,984 |
| 2025Q2 | 27,251 |
| 2025Q3 | 115,310 |
| 2025Q4 | 26,641 |
| 2026Q1 | 35,699 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
113 recorded company events across 17 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Consumer Goods coverage across Ireland · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Consumer Goods coverage across Ireland
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| study overseas | 413 | 200 | 106% |
| overseas study | 371 | 181 | 105% |
| semester abroad | 354 | 172 | 106% |
| stock performance | 347 | 210 | 65% |
| stablecoin fx impact | 230 | 73 | 215% |
| sports legislation | 199 | 97 | 105% |
| international programs | 185 | 97 | 91% |
| bowl game matchups | 177 | 89 | 99% |
| border enforcement practices | 172 | 33 | 421% |
| currency etfs | 165 | 104 | 59% |
| odi world cup | 255 | 790 | -68% |
| icc world cup | 227 | 730 | -69% |
| odi tactics | 336 | 691 | -51% |
| limited overs cricket | 336 | 653 | -49% |
| odi cricket | 323 | 637 | -49% |
Event and signal lenses
Consumer Goods coverage across Ireland
Regulatory Risk
143,135 classified articlesodi world cup, limited overs cricket, odi tactics
39.6% critical · 33.4% positiveFunding Momentum
34,642 classified articleson-campus living, residential colleges, student accommodation
31.6% critical · 42.5% positiveGrowth
41,248 classified articlestax policy execution, tax expenditure oversight, gdp growth rate
32.5% critical · 46.0% positiveConsumer Goods coverage across Ireland. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Dublin
211 companies64.5% across the displayed hubs
7 companies hiring · $597.5M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Dublin ↗
Cork
39 companies11.9% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $1.4M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Cork ↗
Galway
16 companies4.9% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $6.9M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Galway ↗
Donegal
15 companies4.6% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $3.2M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Donegal ↗
Kilkenny
13 companies4.0% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Kilkenny ↗
Wicklow
12 companies3.7% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $6.7M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Wicklow ↗
Waterford
12 companies3.7% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $47.9M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Waterford ↗
Tralee
9 companies2.8% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $218.1K disclosed funding
Explore companies in Tralee ↗Consumer Goods in Ireland: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 1 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗