Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Chennai’s
financial services industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in Chennai. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Chennai’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Chennai’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Startup discovery
Recorded classifications onlyFinancial Services industry KPIs in Chennai
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
52 of 415 tracked companies have open roles.
43 of 415 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 157 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 35.2% of disclosed capital, while 89.6% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Chennai financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Chennai financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $205.72M | 19 | 11 |
| 2017 | $260.69M | 21 | 10 |
| 2018 | $328.94M | 20 | 12 |
| 2019 | $1.01B | 23 | 17 |
| 2020 | $727.95M | 21 | 11 |
| 2021 | $738.35M | 20 | 16 |
| 2022 | $292.17M | 15 | 11 |
| 2023 | $183.93M | 13 | 9 |
| 2024 | $299.92M | 11 | 7 |
| 2025 | $344.36M | 2 | 8 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Star Health and Allied Insurance13.3%
- Northern Arc Capital12.3%
- Five Star Business Finance9.5%
- Other companies64.8%
Funding by stage
165 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in financial services company rounds since 2016.
- 01Lok Capital 10 rounds
- 02Rising Sun Holdings 8 rounds
- 03Adar C Poonawalla 7 rounds
- 04FMO 7 rounds
- 05Norwest 6 rounds
- 06Elevar Equity 6 rounds
- 07Abler Nordic 6 rounds
- 08Peak XV Partners 5 rounds
- 09British International Investment 5 rounds
- 010IFC 5 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by Konark group and Apis Partners and others.
Backed by KKR and TVS Capital Funds and others.
Backed by GIC and Capital Group.
Backed by Affirma Capital and Standard Chartered and others.
Backed by WestBridge Capital and Steadview and others.
Backed by Aviator Global Investment Fund and Elara Capital and others.
Backed by ICICI Venture and Oman Insurance and others.
Backed by TPG and Morgan Stanley and others.
Backed by Premji Invest and TVS Group and others.
Backed by Multiples Alternate Asset Management and IFC and others.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · annual statements grouped by reported fiscal year; exact entity periods remain on preview rows · 106 reporting entities from 159 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not Chennai market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
84 of 106 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 106 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRITHVI EXCHANGE ↗L30006TN1995PLC031931 | ₹3,524.7 crore | ₹8.1 crore | +0.2% | — | ₹69.7 crore |
| Samunnati ↗U46539TN2014PTC096252 | ₹2,046.8 crore | ₹-87.0 crore | -4.3% | — | ₹1,153.8 crore |
| Repco Home ↗L65922TN2000PLC044655 | ₹1,685.2 crore | ₹439.4 crore | +26.1% | — | ₹14,602.2 crore |
| Veritas ↗U65923TN2015PLC100328 | ₹1,550.7 crore | ₹295.1 crore | +19.0% | — | ₹8,515.6 crore |
| CAMS ↗L65910TN1988PLC015757 | ₹1,333.9 crore | ₹441.0 crore | +33.1% | — | ₹1,456.9 crore |
| Novigo Integrated Services ↗U72900TN2016PTC110186 | ₹31.4 crore | ₹0.1 crore | +0.2% | — | ₹9.1 crore |
| Prizm Payment Services ↗U72100TN2005PTC057463 | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar |
| Unifi ↗U67120TN2001PTC046392 | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does financial services compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Chennai companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
8 of the 415 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (1.9%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 408,248 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Star Health and Allied Insurancestarhealth.in | 5,643,964 | 61 | 89.9% |
| CAMScamsonline.com | 2,440,578 | 54 | 76.8% |
| Chola MS GICcholainsurance.com | 684,070 | 54 | 80.8% |
| United India Insurance Companyuiic.co.in | 522,411 | 53 | 75.4% |
| Hinduja Leyland Financehindujaleylandfinance.com | 294,085 | 36 | 82.6% |
| Indian Overseas Bankiob.in | 228,052 | 53 | 94.1% |
| Aditya Birla Moneyadityabirlamoney.com | 160,250 | 35 | 82.8% |
| Equitas Small Finance Bankequitasbank.com | 47,826 | 40 | 51% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
63 of these companies (15.2%) publish at least one Android app — 98 apps in all, carrying 68.4M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| IndSMART IndianBank Mobile AppIndian Bank | 22.3M | 4.2 | Finance |
| TVS Credit SaathiTVS Credit | 19.1M | 4.1 | Finance |
| Star HealthStar Health and Allied Insurance | 8.5M | 4.1 | Health & Fitness |
| myCAMS Mutual Fund AppCAMS | 8.3M | 3.6 | Finance |
| BHIM IOB UPIIndian Overseas Bank | 1.8M | — | Finance |
| Equitas 2.0 Savings, FD & MoreEquitas Small Finance Bank | 1.2M | 4.1 | Finance |
| Chola MS Insurance AppChola MS GIC | 795.5K | — | Business |
| Selfe LoansEquitas Small Finance Bank | 734.9K | — | Finance |
| BelstarBelstar | 717.3K | — | Finance |
| TVS Credit Dealer AppTVS Credit | 680.7K | — | Finance |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q3–2026Q2).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banks | 15 | 27.8M | IndSMART IndianBank Mobile App 22.3M | |
| Consumer And Sme Loans | 16 | 20.6M | TVS Credit Saathi 19.1M | |
| Insurance Carriers | 14 | 10.3M | Star Health 8.5M | |
| Registrar And Transfer Agents | 5 | 8.6M | myCAMS Mutual Fund App 8.3M | |
| Microfinance | 4 | 983.3K | Belstar 717.3K | |
| Affordable Housing | 2 | 220.4K | Aptus E-Seva 202.8K | |
| Services For Investment Industry | 4 | 121.7K | CAMSfinserv Account Aggregator 55.9K | |
| Asset Management | 23 | 111.7K | Sundaram MF 41.5K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 51 of 98 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2025Q4, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Chennai financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Chennai financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Nbfc lenders
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
17 companies hiring · $3.95B disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
PrimeInvestor Raises ₹19.5 Cr from Rainmatter in First External Round
On the listing of Rs 1,500 per share, these three companies can get Rs 11,500 crore to Rs 12,000 crore.
In 2023, Svasti raised an additional ₹40 crore from Abler Nordic and seven high-net-worth individuals.
followed by MSME lending platform Prayaan Capital with $12 million.
The government of India, through the Department of Financial Services, on Tuesday announced an offer for sale of up to 3% equity in Indian Overseas Bank through the stock exchange mechanism.
Reflecting strong investor confidence in the company’s strategic direction, prominent investors include Choice Strategic Advisors LLP and Accufolio Risers LLP, each committing Rs. 25 crore by subscribing to 1 crore warrants.
The Board of Directors of Hinduja Leyland Finance, in a meeting held on November 25, approved the merger by absorption of Hinduja Leyland Finance into NDL Ventures Ltd.
Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company plans to raise 10 billion rupees ($112.13 million), which includes 5 billion rupees of a greenshoe option through sale of subordinated bonds maturing in seven years, three bankers said on Monday.
Auto major TVS Motor Company Ltd has invested ₹172 crore in its subsidiary TVS Credit Services Limited (TVS Credit).
The Finance Ministry is also said to be considering a merger between Indian Overseas Bank and Indian Bank, both based in Chennai.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 806 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
16 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO activity · NSE1 reports
IPO · BSE & NSE14 reports
IPO · BSE & NSE4 reports
IPO · NSE6 reports
IPO · National Stock Exchange8 reports
OFS3 reports
IPO2 reports
IPO · NSE47 reports
Leadership moves
14 tracked people moves
Appointment Executive Director
Appointment Executive Director
Appointment Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
Retirement Previously Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Executive Chairman
Appointment Group Chief Financial Officer
Appointment Executive Director
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Current Account
digital loan product
AI-powered tool
AI-powered regulatory implementation engine
Contract wins
3 recorded customer wins
Customer: OQ Group
Customer: Al Baleed Petrochemical
Customer: tata motorsAutomotive Finance
Regulatory events
41 recorded events
approved the re-appointment of Vasudevan P NReserve Bank of India
approved extension of tenureAppointments Committee of the Cabinet
approved for share transmissionIRDAI
approved for mergerCompetition Commission of India
Litigation
4 tracked suits
disbursal of claim amounts for debt claims against Sterling Biotech LtdCivil · Ongoing
bank loan fraud and money launderingRegulatory · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 263 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rangarajan Krishnan→Prayaan Capital ↗ | Announced | 2026-02-23 | Not stated in snapshot |
| NDL Ventures→Hinduja Leyland Finance ↗ | Announced | 2026-01-29 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Na→Indian Overseas Bank ↗ | Announced | 2025-12-16 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Indian Bank→allahabad bank | 2025-11-18 | Not stated in snapshot | |
| Indian Overseas Bank→Bharat Overseas Bank | 2025-11-18 | Not stated in snapshot | |
| Indian Overseas Bank→Indian Bank ↗ | Rumored | 2025-11-03 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
1,067 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 1,117-posting snapshot covers 42 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
1,067 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 1,117-posting snapshot covers 42 employers.
Most advertised job titles
0 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
834 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 1,117 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company ↗ | 42,100 |
| Indian Bank ↗ | 40,251 |
| Indian Overseas Bank ↗ | 26,071 |
| Equitas Small Finance Bank ↗ | 23,596 |
| United India Insurance Company ↗ | 14,322 |
| Five Star Business Finance ↗ | 10,774 |
| Sundaram Finance ↗ | 8,285 |
| Veritas ↗ | 7,918 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
232 founders and chief executives across 178 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
232 founders and chief executives across 178 companies.
Ashish Mehrotra
Northern Arc Capital ↗Finreach, ex-Citi, ex-Citibank, Harvard Business School, 2023
Rangarajan Krishnan
Five Star Business Finance ↗Managing Director-Prayaan Capital · Ex-Five-Star Business Finance India, International Finance, World Bank…
Anil Kumar G
Samunnati ↗Ex-CEO IFMR Rural Channels & Services, ICICI Bank, Canara Bank
Ramamurthy Thyagarajan
Shriram City ↗Indian Statistical Institute
Arulmany Duraisamy
Veritas ↗Ex-CEO Aptus Value Housing Finance India, Pioneer, CholaDBS. Aditanar College BBA 1983
Sachin Pillai
Hinduja Leyland Finance ↗Hinduja Leyland Finance, ex-Reliance Capital, ex-Hdfc Bank, CRIM, 1994
Vasudevan Narasimhan
Equitas Small Finance Bank ↗Equitas Healthcare Foundation, ex-Equitas Micro Finance, ex-Dcb Bank, Agurchand Manmull Jain College - India, 1983
Munuswamy Anandan
Aptus Value Housing Finance India ↗Ex-Five Star Business Credits, Equitas Micro Finance India, Cholamandalam MS General Insurance. ICAI CA
Jayaraman Balakrishnan
Belstar ↗Technology Development Board, ex-Alpha Assets Advisory Services, Indian Overseas Bank. American college Madurai B.Com 1982…
Santhanam Viji
Royal Sundaram ↗Wheels India, Sundaram Finance, T.V. Sundram Iyengar & Sons, Brakes India.
Ravi Subramanian
Truhome Finance ↗Shriram Group, ex-HSBC, Citibank, ANZ Grindlays Bank
Ashish Sapra
TVS Credit ↗Ex-Bajaj Housing Finance, Bajaj Allianz General Insurance, Bajaj Finance, American Express. EMPI Business School 1997
Education networks
9 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
1 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
44,509 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
44,509 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Financial Services coverage tagged Chennai · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 5,744 |
| 2021Q3 | 4,751 |
| 2021Q4 | 4,393 |
| 2022Q1 | 4,984 |
| 2022Q2 | 6,112 |
| 2022Q3 | 6,764 |
| 2022Q4 | 7,017 |
| 2023Q1 | 7,408 |
| 2023Q2 | 9,139 |
| 2023Q3 | 8,083 |
| 2023Q4 | 8,584 |
| 2024Q1 | 7,705 |
| 2024Q2 | 9,017 |
| 2024Q3 | 10,083 |
| 2024Q4 | 8,735 |
| 2025Q1 | 9,697 |
| 2025Q2 | 7,406 |
| 2025Q3 | 8,021 |
| 2025Q4 | 8,475 |
| 2026Q1 | 17,494 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
1,442 recorded company events across 52 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Financial Services coverage tagged Chennai · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
India comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| tariff negotiations | 11,654 | 5,735 | 103% |
| bilateral trade | 4,614 | 2,445 | 89% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 4,525 | 2,213 | 104% |
| trade barrier reduction | 4,505 | 2,457 | 83% |
| trade facilitation commitments | 4,333 | 2,208 | 96% |
| countries | 4,193 | 1,860 | 125% |
| free trade deals | 4,085 | 2,445 | 67% |
| multilateral diplomacy | 3,932 | 2,727 | 44% |
| diplomatic strategies | 3,838 | 2,360 | 63% |
| bilateral trade imbalance | 3,287 | 2,063 | 59% |
| odi cricket | 6,058 | 9,722 | -38% |
| limited overs cricket | 5,796 | 9,377 | -38% |
| odi tactics | 5,652 | 8,814 | -36% |
| odi series | 5,276 | 8,381 | -37% |
| odi rankings | 5,025 | 8,115 | -38% |
Event and signal lenses
India comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
1,945,602 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, test cricket
43.8% critical · 27.4% positiveFunding Momentum
259,811 classified articlespre-ipo valuation, ipo prospectus, ipo pricing
49.0% critical · 45.9% positiveGrowth
549,706 classified articlesgdp growth rate, economic output growth, economic growth statistics
47.3% critical · 49.9% positiveFinancial Services coverage tagged Chennai. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Financial Services in Chennai: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 3 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗