Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Chicago’s
financial services industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in Chicago. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Chicago’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Chicago’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Financial Services industry KPIs in Chicago
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
90 of 759 tracked companies have open roles.
69 of 759 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 61 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 69.4% of disclosed capital, while 90.9% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Chicago financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Chicago financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $28.91M | 26 | 4 |
| 2017 | $702.15M | 23 | 2 |
| 2018 | $3.81B | 25 | 6 |
| 2019 | $1.84B | 19 | 9 |
| 2020 | $305.35M | 18 | 6 |
| 2021 | $647.66M | 16 | 10 |
| 2022 | $43.15M | 6 | 3 |
| 2023 | $24.05M | 13 | 4 |
| 2024 | $159.32M | 10 | 6 |
| 2025 | $1.67B | 2 | 4 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- HUB International53.6%
- Millennium Trust Company9.1%
- Ventasreit6.7%
- Other companies30.6%
Funding by stage
82 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in financial services company rounds since 2016.
- 01Newlight Partners 3 rounds
- 028VC 3 rounds
- 03Munich Re Ventures 3 rounds
- 04CDFI Fund 3 rounds
- 05Weatherford Capital 2 rounds
- 06Thomas H Lee Partners 2 rounds
- 07Town Hall Ventures 2 rounds
- 08Health2047 2 rounds
- 09Leavitt Equity Partners 2 rounds
- 010Autotech Ventures 2 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by Mihai Faur.
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by Health2047 Capital Partners and CRG and others.
Backed by Asset Management Ventures and DLB Capital and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Victory Park Capital Advisors.
Backed by 8VC and Autotech Ventures and others.
Backed by Weatherford Capital and Daimler Trucks North America and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Victory Park Capital Advisors.
Backed by Town Hall Ventures and Leavitt Equity Partners and others.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · annual statements grouped by reported fiscal year; exact entity periods remain on preview rows · 12 reporting entities from 19 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not Chicago market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
10 of 12 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 12 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allstate ↗899051 | $67,685.0m | $10,282.0m | +15.2% | — | — |
| CME Group ↗1156375 | $6,520.6m | $4,072.2m | +62.5% | — | — |
| Northern Trust ↗73124 | $5,017.8m | $1,736.9m | +34.6% | — | — |
| Kemper ↗860748 | $4,789.7m | $143.3m | +3.0% | — | — |
| TransUnion ↗1552033 | $4,576.3m | $455.4m | +10.0% | — | — |
| GATX ↗40211 | $1,740.4m | $333.3m | +19.2% | — | — |
| CNA Insurance ↗21175 | $1,577.0m | $1,278.0m | +81.0% | — | — |
| IRT Living ↗1466085 | $657.7m | $56.6m | +8.6% | — | — |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does financial services compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Chicago companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
12 of the 759 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (1.6%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 333,912 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Allstateallstate.com | 15,457,892 | 78 | 72.8% |
| TransUniontransunion.com | 10,697,442 | 68 | 79% |
| BCBSAssociationbcbs.com | 1,400,342 | 66 | 47.3% |
| Equity Residentialequityapartments.com | 1,052,638 | 53 | 36.2% |
| Raterate.com | 602,100 | 48 | 73.3% |
| Transworld Systemstsico.com | 422,145 | 41 | 84.5% |
| IRT Livingirtliving.com | 245,680 | 42 | 61.2% |
| RSM USrsmus.com | 236,461 | 46 | 26.8% |
| Northern Trustnortherntrust.com | 228,929 | 50 | 32.6% |
| Citadelcitadel.com | 166,915 | 46 | 13.6% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
46 of these companies (6.1%) publish at least one Android app — 66 apps in all, carrying 21.1M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Allstate MobileAllstate | 11.3M | 4.1 | Finance |
| Klover - Instant Cash AdvanceKlover | 5.1M | 4.6 | Finance |
| TransUnion®TransUnion | 1.7M | 3.4 | Finance |
| BCBSILBCBSIL | 834.2K | 4.5 | Medical |
| Rate: Home, Finance & WellnessRate | 425.4K | 4.5 | Finance |
| Virtual AssistAllstate | 410.1K | 3.2 | Business |
| PLS MobilePLS 24/7 Financial Services | 405.9K | 4 | Finance |
| Alliant Mobile BankingAlliant Credit Union | 333K | 4.4 | Finance |
| Allstate Motor ClubAllstate | 284K | 3.4 | Auto & Vehicles |
| CME GroupCME Group | 151.3K | 4.2 | Finance |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2026Q2).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insurance Carriers | 9 | 12.9M | Allstate Mobile 11.3M | |
| Insurance Underwriters | 3 | 12M | Virtual Assist 410.1K | |
| Alternative Lending | 3 | 6.7M | Klover - Instant Cash Advance 5.1M | |
| Data As A Service | 5 | 1.9M | TransUnion® 1.7M | |
| Service Providers To Banks | 3 | 1.7M | Commercial Mortgage Calculator 2.8K | |
| Banking Tech | 2 | 1.7M | TruLookup® 19 | |
| Consumer And Sme Loans | 9 | 853.1K | Rate: Home, Finance & Wellness 425.4K | |
| Banks | 16 | 373.2K | Alliant Mobile Banking 333K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 64 of 66 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Chicago financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Chicago financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Nbfc lenders
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
6 companies hiring · $117.07M disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
The Bahnsen Group, which has grown to $9.5 billion in assets under management in the past decade, will be acquired by Hightower Advisors, one of the nation’s largest registered investment advisors with $350 billion in AUM.
Northern Trust Corp lifted its stake in Albemarle by 1.8% in the third quarter.
Arlington-based Communities is in early discussions about a potential with Chicago-based rival Equity Residential, Bloomberg has reported, citing people familiar with the matter.
Astor Raises $5M Seed for AI-Based Financial Advice
TMX Group on Wednesday reached an agreement to acquire the Australian and Canadian operations of Cboe Global Markets for $300 million.
Harbor Capital Advisors Inc. acquired a new stake in shares of The Goldman Sachs Group in the 3rd quarter valued at about $26,000.
Earlier this month, Corient said it planned to acquire Vivaldi Capital Management, a Chicago-based registered investment adviser with $5.6bn in assets under management.
Horizon Technology Finance Corporation (NASDAQ: HRZN) ("Horizon" or the "Company") announced today the closing of the previously announced merger of Monroe Capital Corporation (NASDAQ: MRCC) ("MRCC") with and into Horizon, with Horizon remaining as the surviving company.
TransUnion (NYSE: TRU) has successfully completed its previously announced acquisition of the mobile division of RealNetworks.
For example, American President Lines late in 2000 acquired GATX to fatten its portfolio of services, particularly in the e-logistics area.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 910 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
2 companies with recorded IPO activity
Follow-on Offering · New York Stock Exchange3 reports
Follow-on Offering · NYSE3 reports
Leadership moves
85 tracked people moves
Appointment President and Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Deputy Managing Director
Appointment Independent Member of Board of Directors
Promotion Vice President, Net Lease
Promotion Senior Account Manager
Promotion Account Executive
Promotion Consultant
Appointment Vice Chairman
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Product
Analytics Orchestrator
Collateralized Loan Obligation (CLO) middle office services
generative AI tool
Class Action Service
Contract wins
13 recorded customer wins
Customer: sacramento county employees’ retirement systemPublic Funds
Customer: tovalafoodservice
Customer: Northwest GroupIndustrial Real Estate
Customer: alpaca
Customer: nasdaqFinancial services
Customer: bayer
Workforce actions
3 companies with reported reductions
334 rolescost reduction
101 rolesoperational efficiency
3.0% rolescost reduction
Regulatory events
5 recorded events
pending approval
fined for violating audit committee communication rulesPublic Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB)
fined for preventing whistleblowers from reporting potential misconductUnited States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Litigation
3 tracked suits
Biden‑era lawsuitCivil · Dismissed
debt claim for owed interest in company assetsCivil ·
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 187 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Trust→albemarle | Announced | 2026-05-04 | $102.5M |
| High Tower→Bahnsen Group | Pending | 2026-05-04 | Not stated in snapshot |
| AvalonBay→Equity Residential ↗ | Rumored | 2026-05-01 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Northern Trust→regeneron pharmaceuticals | Completed | 2026-04-23 | $553.7M |
| tmx group→Chicago Board Options Exchange ↗ | Announced | 2026-04-23 | $300.0M |
| Harbor Capital Advisors→The Goldman Sachs Group | 2026-04-20 | $26.0K |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
5,343 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 9,084-posting snapshot covers 105 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
5,343 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 9,084-posting snapshot covers 105 employers.
Most advertised job titles
263 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
3,970 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 9,084 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 1,064 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Allstate ↗ | 54,000 |
| Health Care Service Corporation ↗ | 23,898 |
| RSM US ↗ | 15,882 |
| Kemper ↗ | 9,500 |
| Rate ↗ | 9,261 |
| CNA Insurance ↗ | 6,300 |
| Ryan Specialty ↗ | 4,122 |
| CME Group ↗ | 3,565 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
264 founders and chief executives across 203 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
264 founders and chief executives across 203 companies.
Debra Cafaro
Ventasreit ↗University of Notre Dame BA, University of Chicago Law School JD
Vincent Kolber
Residco ↗Residco, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Chuck Wallace
HDVI ↗Ex-Co-Founder Esurance, CEO Ustream, US Air Force. US Air Force Academy BE 1986, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School JD 1997…
Daniel Rosen
Renovo Financial ↗ex-Founder Ventura Development, The Village Foundation, Smith Rothchild Financial, US Equities. Wisconsin School of Business 2005…
William Mccarty
Belmont Bank ↗Belmont Bank And Trust, ex-Mccartyhansen Capital, ex-Mb Financial Bank, Gies College of Business - University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Bryan Duncan
Signature Bank ↗Signature Bank Chicago, ex-Associated Bank, ex-Lasalle Bank, DePaul University - Charles H. Kellstadt Graduate School of Business, 2000
Bennett Rosenthal
Ares Public Funds ↗Los Angeles Football Club, ex-Merrill Lynch, Drexel Burnham Lambert. The Wharton School BS 1985, MBA 1986
Cary D McMillan
True Partners ↗Ex-Sara Lee Branded Apparel. University of Illinois
Nick Lamparelli
Green Shield Risk Solutions ↗reThought Insurance, Coverager, ex-Insurance Nerds, QBE, Marsh, AIR Worldwide. University of Massachusetts Lowell BS 1992
Jorge Newbery
AHP Servicing ↗Americas Trustee Services, ex-Ahp Mortgage Direct, ex-Group Legal Services Association, Brentwood School
Trent Davis
Paulson Capital Holding ↗Ex - CEO - Paulson Investment · Ex-Whitestone Investment Network · Linfield University 1990, University of Portland MBA 1995
Fred Phillips Iv
Investor Cash Management ↗Investment Cards Ria, ex-Innovative Card Systems, Yale Law School
Education networks
30 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
2 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
62,998 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
62,998 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Financial Services coverage tagged Chicago · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 13,067 |
| 2021Q3 | 16,203 |
| 2021Q4 | 12,743 |
| 2022Q1 | 14,959 |
| 2022Q2 | 14,021 |
| 2022Q3 | 13,657 |
| 2022Q4 | 13,126 |
| 2023Q1 | 13,706 |
| 2023Q2 | 15,941 |
| 2023Q3 | 14,807 |
| 2023Q4 | 16,236 |
| 2024Q1 | 20,060 |
| 2024Q2 | 16,479 |
| 2024Q3 | 22,610 |
| 2024Q4 | 17,521 |
| 2025Q1 | 26,407 |
| 2025Q2 | 17,944 |
| 2025Q3 | 22,075 |
| 2025Q4 | 17,587 |
| 2026Q1 | 15,717 |
| 2026Q2 | 7,619 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
1,276 recorded company events across 60 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Financial Services coverage tagged Chicago · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
United States comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| investment deal | 10,657 | 3,498 | 205% |
| stablecoin fx impact | 10,542 | 7,470 | 41% |
| etf trading | 6,865 | 3,947 | 74% |
| private equity | 6,471 | 1,648 | 293% |
| oil price volatility | 6,308 | 3,815 | 65% |
| share price | 5,968 | 3,366 | 77% |
| etfs | 5,957 | 3,424 | 74% |
| sector etfs | 5,715 | 3,305 | 73% |
| etf structures | 5,385 | 2,981 | 81% |
| etf products | 5,313 | 2,858 | 86% |
| patent claims | 141 | 28,788 | -100% |
| patent prosecution | 141 | 28,787 | -100% |
| patent examination | 139 | 28,774 | -100% |
| litigation defenses | 114 | 28,766 | -100% |
| tariff negotiations | 14,842 | 25,875 | -43% |
Event and signal lenses
United States comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
3,333,458 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, monetary easing
44.8% critical · 25.2% positiveFunding Momentum
660,994 classified articlesinflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, trade deficits fx
39.9% critical · 41.4% positiveGrowth
935,055 classified articlesgdp growth forex, earnings report, inflation reports fx
38.8% critical · 40.9% positiveFinancial Services coverage tagged Chicago. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Financial Services in Chicago: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 1 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗