Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Japan’s
financial services industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in Japan. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Japan’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Japan’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Financial Services industry KPIs in Japan
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
6 of 953 tracked companies have open roles.
41 of 953 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 43 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 94.8% of disclosed capital, while 95.7% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Japan financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Japan financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $0 | 28 | 0 |
| 2017 | $0 | 17 | 0 |
| 2018 | $2.52B | 29 | 4 |
| 2019 | $633.62M | 37 | 5 |
| 2020 | $47.18M | 30 | 3 |
| 2021 | $6.91M | 32 | 3 |
| 2022 | $93.47M | 22 | 3 |
| 2023 | $61.88M | 15 | 3 |
| 2024 | $265.78M | 3 | 6 |
| 2025 | $65.66M | 3 | 6 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group54.3%
- Tokio Marine Holdings32.6%
- Gojo7.9%
- Other companies5.2%
Funding by stage
65 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in financial services company rounds since 2016.
- 01SMBC Venture Capital 6 rounds
- 02Mitsubishi UFJ Capital 4 rounds
- 03Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation 4 rounds
- 04JAFCO Group 3 rounds
- 05SBI Investment 3 rounds
- 06KLab Venture Partners 2 rounds
- 07Dai-Ichi Life 2 rounds
- 08GMO Venture Partners 2 rounds
- 09TGVest Capital 2 rounds
- 010Incubate Fund 2 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by Kyoshin Social Capital.
Backed by Berkshire Hathaway.
Backed by Japan Post.
Backed by .
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by SMBC Nikko Securities and GMO Venture Partners and others.
Backed by Dai-Ichi Life and AIZAWA SECURITIES and others.
Backed by Globis Capital Partners and Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation and others.
Backed by Marui Group and Dai-Ichi Life and others.
Backed by Cool Japan Fund.
Backed by TGVest Capital and Baillie Gifford and others.
Backed by Nissay Capital and Link and motivation group and others.
Backed by JIC Venture Growth Investments and JAFCO and others.
Backed by Angel Bridge and Nissay Capital and others.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps Japan company identities to the configured global filings table.; No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps Japan company identities to the configured global filings table.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Japan companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
39 of the 953 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (4.1%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 538,829 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| MUFGmufg.jp | 20,028,009 | 80 | 76.2% |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporationsmbc.co.jp | 10,650,756 | 72 | 74.2% |
| Mizuho Bankmizuhobank.co.jp | 9,695,154 | 77 | 82.7% |
| VeriTransveritrans.co.jp | 6,524,991 | 47 | 73.7% |
| SBI Sumishin Net Banknetbk.co.jp | 3,784,513 | 65 | 59.4% |
| AEON Bankaeonbank.co.jp | 2,739,222 | 64 | 84.7% |
| Seven Banksevenbank.co.jp | 2,127,274 | 65 | 92.5% |
| Sony Banksonybank.jp | 2,010,756 | 57 | 76.5% |
| Resona Bankresonabank.co.jp | 1,964,767 | 64 | 67.6% |
| Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurancetokiomarine-nichido.co.jp | 1,762,833 | 49 | 82.4% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
122 of these companies (12.8%) publish at least one Android app — 266 apps in all, carrying 68.8M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| 三菱UFJ銀行MUFG | 7.1M | 4.1 | Finance |
| 三井住友銀行アプリSumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation | 7M | 3 | Finance |
| Resona Group appResona Bank | 3.2M | 4.1 | Finance |
| みずほ銀行 みずほダイレクトアプリMizuho Bank | 3.2M | 3.7 | Finance |
| 東京海上日動マイページTokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance | 2.7M | — | Finance |
| d NEOBANK 住信SBIネット銀行-銀行・ネット銀行SBI Sumishin Net Bank | 2.5M | 3.5 | Finance |
| イオン銀行通帳アプリ かんたんログイン&残高・明細の確認AEON Bank | 2.2M | — | Finance |
| 投資初心者向けFXデモトレードの投資ゲーム-FXなびGreen Monster | 2M | — | Finance |
| Myセブン銀行-口座開設最短10分Seven Bank | 1.8M | 3.8 | Finance |
| 三菱UFJ銀行 かんたん手続アプリMUFG | 1.5M | — | Finance |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q2–2026Q1).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banks | 166 | 48.1M | 三菱UFJ銀行 7.1M | |
| Insurance Carriers | 22 | 7.6M | 東京海上日動マイページ 2.7M | |
| Services For Investment Industry | 9 | 2.7M | 投資初心者向けFXデモトレードの投資ゲーム-FXなび 2M | |
| Consumer And Sme Loans | 4 | 2.3M | アコム公式アプリ myac カードローン・クレジットカード 1.2M | |
| Brokers And Dealers | 17 | 2.1M | 株walk 435.7K | |
| Service Providers To Banks | 9 | 1.9M | Myセブン銀行-口座開設最短10分 1.8M | |
| Services For Health Insurers | 2 | 1.5M | 第一生命アプリ 1.3M | |
| Asset Management | 16 | 1.5M | SMBC日興証券アプリ-株・信用取引 569.6K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 53 of 266 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Japan financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Japan financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Global 2000
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
0 companies hiring · $1.8B disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
CFI is pleased to announce that it acted as exclusive financial advisor to Shizuoka Financial Group on the acquisition of Tokyo Gas Lease Co., Ltd. share by Shizuoka Financial Group.
Asset Management One Co. Ltd. lifted its holdings in shares of American Healthcare REIT by 16.0% in the 4th quarter. Asset Management One Co. Ltd. now owns 291,426 shares of the company’s stock valued at $14,076,000 after buying an additional 40,231 shares during the period.
He helped orchestrate the investment in Tokio Marine Holdings (TKOMY 2.16%), one of the world's largest reinsurance businesses.
Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group (SMFG), Japan’s second largest lender, is readying plans to take over investment bank Jefferies, the Financial Times has reported.
Japan Cash Machine Co Ltd, also known as JCM Global, says its board has approved the acquisition of a “medium- and small-sized recycler/dispenser manufacturing and sales business” operated by Fujitsu Frontech Ltd.
Striders Impex IPO price band was set at ₹71 to ₹72 per share. The company raised ₹36.29 crore from the book-building which was a combination of fresh issue of 42.78 lakh equity shares worth ₹32.62 crore and offer for sale of 5.08 lakh shares aggregating to ₹3.66 crore.
An affiliate of Japan’s Mizuho Financial Group has agreed to take a quarter stake in developer and fund manager Star Asia Group through a JPY 30 billion ($191.9 million) investment in new shares of the Tokyo-based firm.
Still, after the case of Suruga Bank, in which Nojima acquired a stake but later sold it, he said: "Acquisition is not the goal. If we can't strengthen our business, we let go."
DJ Talanx buys Meiji Yasuda from Polish daughters DOW JONES--Talanx has brought the intended complete takeover of two Polish daughters under the roof and subject. As the insurance group announced, he has made use of his purchase options to the shares held by Meiji Yasuda Life Insurance Co of the subsidiaries Towarzystwo Ubezpieczen i Reasekuracji Warta (Warta) (24.3%) and Towarzystwo Ubezpieczen Europa (TU Europa) (50.0 percent minus one share) and acquired the minority interests of Japanese in Polish insurers.
Sydney proptech eGuarantee has raised $5.5 million, with global specialist insurance investor Correlation increasing its ownership stake from 25% to more than 60%.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 341 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
2 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO · NSE SME3 reports
IPO · Nasdaq2 reports
Leadership moves
20 tracked people moves
Promotion Joint General Manager
Appointment Deputy President and Executive Officer with the status of Representative Executive Officer
Appointment Managing Director, Head of Insurance Coverage, Financial Institutions
Appointment Vice-Chair and Managing Director in the Industrial Group
Appointment Previously Global Head of Real Assets and Services; Co-Head of Middle East Investment Banking
Appointment
Appointment Chief Revenue Officer
Appointment Senior Managing Executive Officer of ORIX Corporation
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Post‑trade processing platform
Contract wins
13 recorded customer wins
Customer: esvoltaInfrastructure
Customer: kawasaki kisen kaishaMaritime
Customer: Leifras
Customer: vinfastFinance / Green Financing
Customer: Santoku SenpakuMaritime
Customer: somec corporationMaritime
Workforce actions
2 companies with reported reductions
5,000 rolesAI automation
87 roles
Regulatory events
38 recorded events
approved for cross‑border investment stakeCompetition Commission of India
approved for purchase of 20% stake in DMI FinanceCompetition Commission of India
approved for stake acquisitionCompetition Commission of India (CCI)
approved for acquisition completion
Litigation
3 tracked suits
damages at Prospecton plant due to 2022 KZN floodsCivil · Filed
Preferred shareholder abuse and derivative claims over collapse of Get Together Inc.Regulatory · Verdict
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 21 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| MUFG Bank→shriram finance | Completed | 2026-04-22 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Shizuoka Financial Group→tokyo gas | Completed | 2026-04-22 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Asset Management One→american healthcare reit | Completed | 2026-04-21 | $14.1M |
| Nippon Life Insurance→reliance capital | Rumored | 2026-04-06 | Not stated in snapshot |
| berkshire hathaway→Tokio Marine Holdings ↗ | Announced | 2026-03-30 | $1.8B |
| Asset Management One→td synnex | Announced | 2026-03-28 | $1.7M |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
1 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 2-posting snapshot covers 2 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
1 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 2-posting snapshot covers 2 employers.
Most advertised job titles
No repeated job title is supported by this snapshot.
0 tracked postings mention remote work.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 2 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| MUFG ↗ | 111,100 |
| Nippon Life Insurance ↗ | 86,394 |
| Sompo Holdings ↗ | 80,000 |
| Mizuho Financial Group ↗ | 56,375 |
| AEON Financial Service ↗ | 21,483 |
| Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank ↗ | 21,113 |
| SBI Life Insurance Company ↗ | 20,286 |
| Shizuoka Financial Group ↗ | 6,147 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
234 founders and chief executives across 197 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
234 founders and chief executives across 197 companies.
Sanjay Gandhi
Gojo ↗ex- KPMG, World Bank, ADB, UNDP, Mercy. Delhi University BCom 1989
Yu Sakai
Paytner ↗Ex-hey, Coiney, NTT DOCOMO.
Daisuke Iwase
Animoca Brands ↗CEO-Benesse · Ex-Animoca Brands, KLKTN, Spiral Capital · The University of Tokyo LLB 1998, Harvard Business School MBA 2006
Shota Tashiro
Simple Form ↗Ex-Japan Policy Investment Bank Permanent, Seconded to Mercuria Investment, Japan Policy Investment Bank Permanent. Waseda University 2011
Shogo Abe
Fivot ↗Merrill Lynch. Hitotsubashi University BS
Satoshi Takahashi
Impact Circle ↗Ex-Global Mobility Service, Consulting Firm. Gifu University BE 2013
Harm Bots
MUFG ↗Mufg, ex-Natwest, ex-Natwest Markets, SOAS, University of London
Oliver Gabbay
Snippet ↗Founder Snippet Finance, ex-Co-Founder PayMe, Titan Alpha, HSBC. UCL BSc 2000
Masashi Yazawa
BSP Group ↗Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, BSP Tax Accountant Corporation, UBS Bank Tokyo Branch, UBS Securities Japan. Waseda University.
Samura Reijiro
AI Capital ↗Alternative Investment Capital, ex-Mizuho Global Alternative Investments, ex-Ant Capital Partners, Osaka university, 1990
Yuji Kato
EIC ↗Managing Director - ARCHIMED. Yale School of Management Master of Business Administration 1998
Ken Kitahara
Minato Advisors ↗Co-Founder Decima Fund, ex- B Cryptos, Mizuho Securities . Keio University LLB 2015
Education networks
10 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
0 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
502,212 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
502,212 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Financial Services coverage across Japan · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 70,868 |
| 2021Q3 | 92,977 |
| 2021Q4 | 62,936 |
| 2022Q1 | 77,124 |
| 2022Q2 | 74,559 |
| 2022Q3 | 78,215 |
| 2022Q4 | 102,720 |
| 2023Q1 | 102,741 |
| 2023Q2 | 101,584 |
| 2023Q3 | 116,253 |
| 2023Q4 | 96,898 |
| 2024Q1 | 114,959 |
| 2024Q2 | 114,571 |
| 2024Q3 | 126,235 |
| 2024Q4 | 124,650 |
| 2025Q1 | 152,419 |
| 2025Q2 | 113,169 |
| 2025Q3 | 192,686 |
| 2025Q4 | 92,704 |
| 2026Q1 | 109,436 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
374 recorded company events across 40 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Financial Services coverage across Japan · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Financial Services coverage across Japan
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| countries | 4,193 | 1,858 | 126% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 2,666 | 1,678 | 59% |
| bilateral trade | 2,361 | 1,389 | 70% |
| preferential tariff | 1,835 | 1,269 | 45% |
| forex liquidity | 1,690 | 577 | 193% |
| exchange rates | 1,598 | 973 | 64% |
| tariff rate quota | 1,506 | 978 | 54% |
| mfn tariff | 1,372 | 920 | 49% |
| gold spot price | 1,334 | 197 | 577% |
| commodity futures | 1,162 | 381 | 205% |
| honda forums | 0 | 2,596 | -100% |
| olympic team selections | 951 | 2,579 | -63% |
| olympic trials | 1,017 | 2,398 | -58% |
| summer olympics athletics | 263 | 1,360 | -81% |
| olympic venues | 410 | 1,219 | -66% |
Event and signal lenses
Financial Services coverage across Japan
Regulatory Risk
828,022 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, countries
25.3% critical · 17.3% positiveFunding Momentum
85,139 classified articlesinflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, trade deficits fx
38.7% critical · 42.2% positiveGrowth
226,344 classified articlesgdp growth rate, gdp acceleration, economic slowdown
33.8% critical · 45.6% positiveFinancial Services coverage across Japan. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Tokyo
141 companies37.0% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $1.8B disclosed funding
Explore companies in Tokyo ↗Chiyoda City
73 companies19.2% across the displayed hubs
2 companies hiring · $600.0K disclosed funding
Explore companies in Chiyoda City ↗Minato City
46 companies12.1% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $20.6M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Minato City ↗
Shibuya
34 companies8.9% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $461.6M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Shibuya ↗
Minato
30 companies7.9% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $66.1M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Minato ↗Chuo City
24 companies6.3% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Chuo City ↗
Osaka
20 companies5.2% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Osaka ↗
Chiyoda-Ku
13 companies3.4% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $3.0B disclosed funding
Explore companies in Chiyoda-Ku ↗Financial Services in Japan: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 31 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗