Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
San Diego’s
financial services industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in San Diego. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore San Diego’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore San Diego’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Financial Services industry KPIs in San Diego
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
38 of 459 tracked companies have open roles.
31 of 459 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 26 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 81.9% of disclosed capital, while 93.2% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow San Diego financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How San Diego financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $2M | 13 | 1 |
| 2017 | $40.15M | 15 | 4 |
| 2018 | $52.43M | 15 | 4 |
| 2019 | $207.75M | 7 | 3 |
| 2020 | $43.5M | 7 | 2 |
| 2021 | $0 | 11 | 0 |
| 2022 | $10.13M | 9 | 2 |
| 2023 | $56.86M | 6 | 4 |
| 2024 | $12.99M | 1 | 2 |
| 2025 | $0 | 1 | 0 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- BioMed Realty65.9%
- Innovative Industrial Properties8.7%
- Favrille7.3%
- Other companies18.1%
Funding by stage
35 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in financial services company rounds since 2016.
- 01Bregal Sagemount 2 rounds
- 02Emigrant Partners 1 rounds
- 03Copley Equity Partners 1 rounds
- 04Ares Capital Corporation 1 rounds
- 05Castle Creek Capital 1 rounds
- 06Capital One 1 rounds
- 07Lee Equity 1 rounds
- 08Plains Commerce Bank 1 rounds
- 09DLA 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by William Blair and Needham Capital Partners and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Sanderling Ventures and Forward Ventures and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · company accounts; aggregate reporting threshold not met · 4 reporting entities from 10 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not San Diego market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
None of 4 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 4 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LPL Financial ↗1397911 | $16,989.5m | $863.0m | +5.1% | — | — |
| Palomar ↗1761312 | $876.0m | $197.1m | +22.5% | — | — |
| Innovative Industrial Properties ↗1677576 | $266.0m | $118.2m | +44.5% | — | — |
| Hginc ↗849145 | $51.0m | $3.6m | +7.0% | — | — |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does financial services compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the San Diego companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
5 of the 459 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (1.1%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 425,282 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| tax products groupsbtpg.com | 818,277 | 48 | 87.2% |
| Guild Mortgageguildmortgage.com | 679,854 | 45 | 68.5% |
| Accredited Debt Reliefaccrediteddebtrelief.com | 425,282 | 34 | 87.4% |
| Mission Federal Credit Unionmissionfed.com | 334,122 | 44 | 52.4% |
| PeopleFirstpeoplefirst.com | 75,083 | 37 | 48.2% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
12 of these companies (2.6%) publish at least one Android app — 19 apps in all, carrying 479.6K installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mission Fed Mobile BankingMission Federal Credit Union | 131.8K | 3.8 | Finance |
| LPL Account ViewLPL Financial | 126.9K | 4.5 | Finance |
| CBT Mobile BankingCalifornia Bank & Trust | 47.7K | 4.8 | Finance |
| Guild MortgageGuild Mortgage | 37.4K | 1.8 | Finance |
| MedImpactMedImpact Healthcare Systems | 32.1K | 4.4 | Health & Fitness |
| GMC Construction LendingGuild Mortgage | 31.8K | 1.6 | Finance |
| S1 ConnectSynergy One Lending | 29.8K | 4.5 | Finance |
| Cabrillo Credit UnionCabrillo CreditUnion | 16.1K | 4.4 | Finance |
| Wawanesa Drive ChangeWawanesa Insurance | 8.6K | — | Finance |
| sbtpg Marketing Protax products group | 5.3K | 3.8 | Business |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2025Q3).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banks | 6 | 198K | Mission Fed Mobile Banking 131.8K | |
| Brokers And Dealers | 4 | 133.5K | LPL Account View 126.9K | |
| Consumer And Sme Loans | 5 | 101.8K | Guild Mortgage 37.4K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe San Diego financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The San Diego financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Nbfc lenders
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
7 companies hiring · $15M disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
WFA of San Diego LLC acquired a new position in Science Applications International during the 2nd quarter valued at about $56,000.
LPL Financial announced plans Tuesday to acquire Mariner Advisor Network, a division of Mariner with 367 advisors and $31 billion in assets that was already affiliated with LPL.
AlphaCore Capital LLC acquired a new position in Liberty Broadband in the 2nd quarter valued at about $80,000.
Brandes Investment Partners LP now owns 603,941 shares of the basic materials company’s stock valued at $39,836,000 after purchasing an additional 464,570 shares in the last quarter.
US-based fintech Vervent has agreed an $80m (£58.3m) funding partnership led by Mesirow Alternative Credit to expand its credit card programs.
BCP, a services and infrastructure-focused private equity management firm, today announced the successful closing of the previously announced sale of The Gray Casualty & Surety Company ("Gray Surety") to Palomar Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ: PLMR) ("Palomar").
Insurance services holding company, K2 Insurance services, is expanding its financial lines capabilities with the acquisition of the Management Liability Underwriting business of specialty insurer Rising Edge.
Heritage Global Inc. recently expanded its Financial Assets division by acquiring The Debt Exchange, Inc. (DebtX), a leading loan-sale and valuation platform, for approximately $8.5 million.
Realty Income Corporation, The Monthly Dividend Company®, today announced that it has closed on a £900 million Sterling‑denominated unsecured term loan.
Speaking about Guild’s recent acquisition by a fund owned by Bayview Asset Management, Schmidt said, “We’ve been in the acquisition M&A space for a long time. It’s been a way for us to continue to grow in the retail channel, as well as organically. But this came up where, as stewards of our companies, we have to really think about what the world is going to look like in five to 10 years.”
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 395 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
2 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO · Nasdaq1 reports
IPO · NASDAQ3 reports
Leadership moves
35 tracked people moves
Appointment Financial Advisor
Appointment Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Appointment Financial Advisor
Appointment head of ICW Specialty business unit, Alternative Risk Transfer (ART)
Appointment
Resignation Previously Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel and Secretary
Appointment Managing Director, Head of Portfolio Management
Appointment Vice President of Sales for Data Center Solutions
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Banking
Banking
Contract wins
3 recorded customer wins
Customer: Blackstone Real EstateReal Estate
Customer: NexGold Mining Corp. & Signal Gold Inc.Finance
Customer: NexGoldFinance
Workforce actions
1 companies with reported reductions
Scale not stated rolesmerger integration
Regulatory events
2 recorded events
pending approval
fined for marketing rule violationsSecurities and Exchange Commission
Litigation
10 tracked suits
liability management transaction disputeCivil · Settled
false and misleading statements regarding securities of ImmunityBio, Inc.Securities Fraud · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 75 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| WFA San Diego→Science Applications International | Announced | 2026-04-22 | $56.0K |
| LPL Financial→Mariner Advisor Network | Announced | 2026-04-14 | Not stated in snapshot |
| WFA San Diego→Altria Group | Announced | 2026-03-28 | $39.0K |
| AlphaCore Capital→liberty broadband | 2026-03-08 | $80.0K | |
| k2 Insurance Services→rising edge | Announced | 2026-02-28 | Not stated in snapshot |
| bayview asset management→Guild Mortgage ↗ | Announced | 2026-02-11 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
3,105 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 4,533-posting snapshot covers 52 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
3,105 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 4,533-posting snapshot covers 52 employers.
Most advertised job titles
37 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
1,293 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 4,533 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 555 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
Large employers
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
112 founders and chief executives across 99 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
112 founders and chief executives across 99 companies.
Timothy Schoen
BioMed Realty ↗Chief Executive Officer - BioMed Realty. University of California, Irvine - The Paul Merage School of Business Master of Business Administration 1997
Bob Lorsch
Favrille ↗CEO MMRGlobal, The RHL Group.
Travis Likert
Innovative Capital ↗Ex- Wilshire Quinn Income Fund, DMAC Funding. San Diego State University 2003, University of San Diego MBA 2009
Mac Armstrong
Palomar ↗Palomar Holdings, ex-Arrowhead General Insurance Agency, ex-Spectrum Equity Investors, Princeton University, 1997
Ian Gill
Silvergate ↗Highland Companies, ex-Starboard Development. Loughborough University M.Sc 1975
Christopher Nero
BridgePort ↗Bridgeport Financial Technology, ex-Franklin Templeton Investments, ex-Reality Shares, Providence College, 1989
Frederick Cary
IdeaPros ↗Ex-Home Bistro, The Cary, City Loan, Dutchess Capital. Thomas Jefferson School of Law JD 1988, Harvard Law School 1990…
Arsy Grindulo
Wealth Financial Life ↗Wealth Financial Life, ex-Wfl Productions, San Beda College, 1979
John Kassar
Sage Insurance Services ↗C3 Risk & Insurance Services, ex-Arthur Gallagher & Co, GS Levine. San Diego State University-California State University BS, Miami University 1993
Wade Hansen
Cabrillo Advisors ↗Green Acres Retirement, ex-Founder MHT Partners, Intrepid, Dell, McKinsey & Company, Bank One, Ernst & Young. San Diego State University BS 1989…
Foster Mobley
FMG Leading ↗Fmg Leading, ex-Boston College Woods College Of Advancing Studies, Pepperdine University Graduate School of Education and Psychology, 2010
Gavin James
Uinta Investment Partners ↗CEO Western Mortgage Capital, JPMorgan Investment Management, Mellon Bank, London, Drexel Burnham Lambert. Kingston University BSc
Education networks
5 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
2 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
18,259 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
18,259 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Financial Services coverage tagged San Diego · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 4,516 |
| 2021Q3 | 5,174 |
| 2021Q4 | 3,213 |
| 2022Q1 | 4,405 |
| 2022Q2 | 4,412 |
| 2022Q3 | 4,415 |
| 2022Q4 | 4,779 |
| 2023Q1 | 5,067 |
| 2023Q2 | 5,122 |
| 2023Q3 | 4,996 |
| 2023Q4 | 5,373 |
| 2024Q1 | 5,756 |
| 2024Q2 | 5,567 |
| 2024Q3 | 6,506 |
| 2024Q4 | 5,353 |
| 2025Q1 | 11,941 |
| 2025Q2 | 5,091 |
| 2025Q3 | 6,207 |
| 2025Q4 | 4,271 |
| 2026Q1 | 5,221 |
| 2026Q2 | 2,560 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
466 recorded company events across 26 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Financial Services coverage tagged San Diego · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
United States comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| investment deal | 10,657 | 3,498 | 205% |
| stablecoin fx impact | 10,542 | 7,470 | 41% |
| etf trading | 6,865 | 3,947 | 74% |
| private equity | 6,471 | 1,648 | 293% |
| oil price volatility | 6,308 | 3,815 | 65% |
| share price | 5,968 | 3,366 | 77% |
| etfs | 5,957 | 3,424 | 74% |
| sector etfs | 5,715 | 3,305 | 73% |
| etf structures | 5,385 | 2,981 | 81% |
| etf products | 5,313 | 2,858 | 86% |
| patent claims | 141 | 28,788 | -100% |
| patent prosecution | 141 | 28,787 | -100% |
| patent examination | 139 | 28,774 | -100% |
| litigation defenses | 114 | 28,766 | -100% |
| tariff negotiations | 14,842 | 25,875 | -43% |
Event and signal lenses
United States comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
3,333,458 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, monetary easing
44.8% critical · 25.2% positiveFunding Momentum
660,994 classified articlesinflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, trade deficits fx
39.9% critical · 41.4% positiveGrowth
935,055 classified articlesgdp growth forex, earnings report, inflation reports fx
38.8% critical · 40.9% positiveFinancial Services coverage tagged San Diego. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Financial Services in San Diego: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 2 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗