Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
South Africa’s
financial services industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in South Africa. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore South Africa’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore South Africa’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyRecently founded independent companies
Recently founded means a recorded 2023–2026 founding year and no recorded parent, acquirer or public-company status. These companies are not labelled startups without that separate classification.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Financial Services industry KPIs in South Africa
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
43 of 1,034 tracked companies have open roles.
31 of 1,034 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 16 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 95.1% of disclosed capital, while 97.0% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow South Africa financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How South Africa financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $72.39K | 52 | 1 |
| 2017 | $2.42B | 58 | 2 |
| 2018 | $180.19M | 43 | 3 |
| 2019 | $41.7M | 48 | 1 |
| 2020 | $6.2M | 44 | 1 |
| 2021 | $22.29M | 26 | 2 |
| 2022 | $16.43M | 16 | 1 |
| 2023 | $45.1M | 7 | 3 |
| 2024 | $1.8M | 9 | 1 |
| 2025 | $0 | 0 | 0 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Safari Investments85.8%
- Westbrooke7.1%
- Retail Capital2.1%
- Other companies4.9%
Funding by stage
35 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in financial services company rounds since 2016.
- 01ARC Investments 3 rounds
- 02RMB 2 rounds
- 03Fledge Capital 2 rounds
- 04Triodos Investment Management 2 rounds
- 05Stellar Capital Partners 1 rounds
- 06Tokio Marine Holdings 1 rounds
- 07DFS Lab 1 rounds
- 08Sasfin 1 rounds
- 09Crossfin 1 rounds
- 010Crossgate 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Crossfin.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Imvelo Ventures and Empowerment Capital and others.
Backed by LeapFrog Investments.
Backed by Norfund.
Backed by Omidyar Network and Accion.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by DFS Lab.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps South Africa company identities to the configured global filings table.; No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps South Africa company identities to the configured global filings table.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the South Africa companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
21 of the 1,034 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (2%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 233,487 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| FNBfnb.co.za | 4,799,373 | 62 | 45% |
| Capitec Bankcapitecbank.co.za | 2,504,148 | 60 | 80.5% |
| Discoverydiscovery.co.za | 2,334,040 | 63 | 71.2% |
| absaabsa.co.za | 1,598,283 | 58 | 59.5% |
| Nedbanknedbank.co.za | 1,369,189 | 60 | 42.3% |
| Momentummomentum.co.za | 717,337 | 47 | 79.4% |
| Standard Bankstandardbank.com | 450,383 | 44 | 29.4% |
| African Bankafricanbank.co.za | 390,988 | 44 | 81% |
| sanlamsanlam.co.za | 387,262 | 41 | 48.5% |
| RCSrcs.co.za | 293,840 | 41 | 85.4% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
53 of these companies (5.1%) publish at least one Android app — 119 apps in all, carrying 107.8M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capitec BankCapitec Bank | 43.5M | 4.4 | Finance |
| FNB Banking AppFNB | 21M | 4.6 | Finance |
| Nedbank MoneyNedbank | 12.4M | 3.9 | Finance |
| Absa Banking Appabsa | 10.4M | 4.2 | Finance |
| DiscoveryDiscovery | 4M | 3.3 | Finance |
| African BankAfrican Bank | 2.7M | 3.1 | Finance |
| Discovery BankDiscovery | 2.1M | 4.8 | Finance |
| Nedbank AppSuiteNedbank | 1.6M | 3.6 | Finance |
| ClientèleClientele | 1.5M | — | Finance |
| Game CreditRCS | 740.8K | — | Finance |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q2–2025Q3).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banks | 25 | 93.3M | Capitec Bank 43.5M | |
| Insurance Carriers | 35 | 11.4M | Discovery 4M | |
| Consumer And Sme Loans | 13 | 2.4M | Game Credit 740.8K | |
| Payments | 12 | 2M | RCS 351.7K | |
| Insurance Distribution | 17 | 1.9M | Momentum 708.4K | |
| Services For Health Insurers | 6 | 574.7K | GEMS: Member 457.2K | |
| Service Providers To Banks | 4 | 75.8K | Finbond Mutual Bank 33.4K | |
| Asset Management | 6 | 45.8K | InTouch by Verso 31.1K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 74 of 119 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2025Q3, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe South Africa financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The South Africa financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Nbfc lenders
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
0 companies hiring · $89.45M disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Spear Reit raised R1bn in an oversubscribed bookbuild last week, signalling strong investor appetite for its Western Cape-focused growth strategy.
The group has already acquired 53.7m Octodec shares, equivalent to 20.17% of the company, in off market deals worth about R891.8m.
most recently, the merger with Discovery in 2022.
FirstRand acquired Standard Chartered Zambia’s wealth and retail banking business, helping to place the bank among the top three lenders in that country.
Coronation, which is listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, acquired 1,83,322 equity shares of Le Travenues in the open market, according to the disclosure.
With the acquisition, Kaspar& will continue to be a separate company within the Liberty Group.
Access Bank’s proposed 100% equity acquisition of South Africa’s Bidvest Bank has officially lapsed.
The conclusion of the AODC deal with NTT Data comes not long after the Competition Tribunal approved a deal for Stanlib to acquire Africa Data Centres from parent Cassava Technologies.
Standard Bank has acquired a 5.95% stake in Investec, crossing the 5% ownership threshold that requires regulatory disclosure.
Deloitte Digital (Africa) has acquired fintech services business, Jinja Interactive, as part of its strategy to build a fully-integrated digital transformation business, providing digital innovation and customer-centric engagement solutions to its rapidly growing list of clients across Africa.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 387 recorded events in the 24-month window.
Leadership moves
46 tracked people moves
Resignation Previously Chief Information Officer
Appointment Independent non-executive director
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Resignation Previously Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Group Chief AI Officer
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Promotion Group Chief Operating Officer
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Virtual Assistant
Structured Securities-Backed Lending
Cross-border payments solution
Payment service / BNPL
Pension
Contract wins
6 recorded customer wins
Customer: bolton councilPublic sector, education
Customer: Eastern Michigan Financial Corp.Banking & Finance
Customer: uganda electricity distribution company limitedElectricity Distribution
Customer: esquire electronicscash management
Customer: pensana
Regulatory events
22 recorded events
approved for merger
granted license to set up a reinsurance branch
approved for branch establishment
approved acquisition
Litigation
9 tracked suits
Access to information under Promotion of Access to Information Act (PAIA)Regulatory · Ongoing
Regulatory enforcement under the Promotion of Access to Information Act (Paia) regarding dRegulatory · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 32 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nedbank→ikhokha | Completed | 2026-05-05 | Not stated in snapshot |
| warner media→Discovery ↗ | Completed | 2026-05-05 | $43.0B |
| warnermedia→Discovery ↗ | Announced | 2026-04-17 | $43.0B |
| Emira→octodec investments ltd ↗ | Pending | 2026-04-14 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Nedbank→ncba | Announced | 2026-03-27 | Not stated in snapshot |
| at&t→Discovery ↗ | Completed | 2026-03-10 | $43.0B |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
1 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 14-posting snapshot covers 13 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
1 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 14-posting snapshot covers 13 employers.
Most advertised job titles
1 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
8 postings specify a level.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Remgro ↗ | 117,867 |
| Standard Bank ↗ | 54,558 |
| FirstRand ↗ | 44,916 |
| absa ↗ | 36,535 |
| Capitec Bank ↗ | 15,451 |
| Discovery ↗ | 12,950 |
| santam insurance ↗ | 6,339 |
| Hollard ↗ | 5,754 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
205 founders and chief executives across 176 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
205 founders and chief executives across 176 companies.
Dirk Engelbrecht
Safari Investments ↗Safari Investments Rsa, ex-G4s Secure Solutions, ex-Weavind And Weavind, University of Pretoria/Universiteit van Pretoria, 2008
Jarred Winer
Westbrooke ↗Ex-Barclays Africa Group, Standard Bank. University of Johannesburg BCom 2001, University of South Africa 2004
Eugene Booysen
Cape Town Stock Exchange ↗Ballistic Bike Trading, ex-EOH, MTN.
Tertius Cilliers
Synercore ↗Innovative Research Solutions, ex-DuPont Nutrition & Health, Research Solutions, SurePure. Stellenbosch University PhD
Mike Quinn
Mobile Transactions ↗University of Oxford MBA 2008.
Charl Wyk
CompSol ↗Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University MBA
Marina Short
Consumer Profile Bureau ↗Association Of Debt Recovery Agents, ex-Credit Bureau Association, ex-Fernwood Business College, University of Pretoria/Universiteit van Pretoria…
Warren Wheatley
Lebashe ↗Telkom Retirement Fund, Aluwani Capital Partners, Co-founder TSS Capital, ex-The Financial Planning Institute of South Africa. University of the…
Paul Jackson
TUHF ↗Ex-Johannesburg Housing Company, Transitional National Development Trust, Development Bank of Southern Africa. St Andrews College Grahamstown…
Maya Burney
Womvest ↗Senior Investment Officer - Calvert Impact. Georgetown University McDonough School of Business Masters of Science (MS) in Environment and…
Anthony Miller
Simply ↗Big Arrow, CEO Lightstone Pty, RGTSmart, Lightstone Risk Management. University of Cape Town BE 1995, Northwestern University MBA 2002
Geoff Jennett
Emira ↗FNB Corporate, Coronation Capital, Nedbank Capital, Absa Capital, Honey Fashion Accessories, CEO eProperty News Gallery, REAL INSIGHT.
Education networks
5 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
0 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
172,182 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
172,182 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Financial Services coverage across South Africa · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 33,027 |
| 2021Q3 | 31,938 |
| 2021Q4 | 44,754 |
| 2022Q1 | 33,788 |
| 2022Q2 | 31,427 |
| 2022Q3 | 32,445 |
| 2022Q4 | 42,690 |
| 2023Q1 | 40,993 |
| 2023Q2 | 34,011 |
| 2023Q3 | 50,741 |
| 2023Q4 | 42,468 |
| 2024Q1 | 42,896 |
| 2024Q2 | 39,616 |
| 2024Q3 | 37,229 |
| 2024Q4 | 44,349 |
| 2025Q1 | 48,166 |
| 2025Q2 | 33,467 |
| 2025Q3 | 43,664 |
| 2025Q4 | 46,674 |
| 2026Q1 | 53,088 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
392 recorded company events across 41 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Financial Services coverage across South Africa · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Financial Services coverage across South Africa
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| angel investors | 1,013 | 355 | 185% |
| famous deaths | 811 | 16 | 4969% |
| celebrity mourning | 765 | 17 | 4400% |
| free trade deals | 464 | 303 | 53% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 459 | 272 | 69% |
| international cups | 453 | 263 | 72% |
| asset acquisition | 423 | 138 | 207% |
| bilateral trade | 423 | 265 | 60% |
| early-stage investment | 419 | 139 | 201% |
| solar electricity generation | 383 | 224 | 71% |
| odi cricket | 2,150 | 3,310 | -35% |
| odi tactics | 1,985 | 3,164 | -37% |
| limited overs cricket | 2,032 | 3,143 | -35% |
| odi world cup | 1,580 | 3,142 | -50% |
| odi series | 1,958 | 3,001 | -35% |
Event and signal lenses
Financial Services coverage across South Africa
Regulatory Risk
229,170 classified articlestest cricket, odi world cup, test innings
44.8% critical · 31.2% positiveFunding Momentum
46,332 classified articlesangel investors, odi world cup, icc world cup
39.7% critical · 41.8% positiveGrowth
78,948 classified articlesgdp growth rate, gdp acceleration, economic output growth
34.5% critical · 47.0% positiveFinancial Services coverage across South Africa. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Johannesburg
216 companies35.9% across the displayed hubs
7 companies hiring · $29.0M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Johannesburg ↗Cape Town
156 companies26.0% across the displayed hubs
6 companies hiring · $81.0M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Cape Town ↗
Sandton
88 companies14.6% across the displayed hubs
5 companies hiring · $266.6M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Sandton ↗
Pretoria
53 companies8.8% across the displayed hubs
2 companies hiring · $2.4B disclosed funding
Explore companies in Pretoria ↗
Centurion
33 companies5.5% across the displayed hubs
4 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Centurion ↗
Durban
21 companies3.5% across the displayed hubs
2 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Durban ↗
Bryanston
19 companies3.2% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Bryanston ↗
Gauteng
15 companies2.5% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Gauteng ↗Financial Services in South Africa: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 31 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗