Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Boston’s
investment industry industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping investment industry in Boston. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Boston’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Boston’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Investment Industry industry KPIs in Boston
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
33 of 325 tracked companies have open roles.
12 of 325 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 10 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 88.7% of disclosed capital, while 96.3% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Boston investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Boston investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $160.23M | 7 | 2 |
| 2017 | $0 | 14 | 0 |
| 2018 | $19.18M | 11 | 2 |
| 2019 | $0 | 12 | 0 |
| 2020 | $48.8M | 31 | 1 |
| 2021 | $5M | 14 | 1 |
| 2022 | $0 | 15 | 0 |
| 2023 | $1M | 5 | 1 |
| 2024 | $0 | 5 | 0 |
| 2025 | $50.83M | 2 | 3 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- CrossHarbor Capital52.2%
- City Year21.1%
- Pearl Meyer15.4%
- Other companies11.3%
Funding by stage
12 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in investment industry company rounds since 2016.
- 01Main Street Capital 2 rounds
- 02Europa 1 rounds
- 03ECMC Foundation 1 rounds
- 04Yawkeyfoundation 1 rounds
- 05national service 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · company accounts; aggregate reporting threshold not met · 1 reporting entities from 3 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not Boston market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
None of 1 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 1 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| State Street ↗93751 | $13,944.0m | $2,945.0m | +21.1% | — | — |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does investment industry compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Boston companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
6 of the 325 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (1.8%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 338,048 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dartmouth College Investment Officedartmouth.edu | 2,058,706 | 65 | 38.7% |
| WGBHwgbh.org | 479,101 | 53 | 54.8% |
| Mass Audubonmassaudubon.org | 355,587 | 51 | 63.5% |
| State Streetstatestreet.com | 320,509 | 51 | 16.3% |
| The MSPCAmspca.org | 176,154 | 52 | 65.8% |
| The Greater Boston Food Bankgbfb.org | 11,932 | 38 | 0% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Boston investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Boston investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Segment data unavailable
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Advanced Medical Solutions said on Monday that it is in negotiations with U.S. private equity firm TA Associates over a potential takeover of the British medical supplier.
37 Capital Inc. (CSE: JJJ) ("37 Capital" or the "Company") announces that it has acquired for US $100,000 a 5% ownership in SpendRight, Inc.
GA Group has acquired G2 Capital Advisors, creating a combined platform designed to deliver full-lifecycle advisory and investment banking services to middle-market clients.
State Street Corp increased its position in shares of CVS Health by 0.3% during the third quarter. State Street Corp now owns 58,938,286 shares of the pharmacy operator’s stock worth $4,443,357,000 after acquiring an additional 149,701 shares in the last quarter.
Yellow Wood Partners is also understood to still want to make waves in beauty. Last year, It merged Suave Brands and Elida, both 2023 acquisitions from Unilever, into a single operating entity called Evermark, a platform of personal care brands with combined annual retail sales of around $1.9 billion.
WittKieffer, the premier executive search and leadership advisory firm dedicated to improving quality of life through impactful leadership, today announced that it is acquiring the assets of Ross & Company and that its founder, Larry Ross, will join WittKieffer as Senior Partner and Lead Partner for Private Equity.
TELUS achieved a strong foothold in the Canadian healthcare telecom market through its acquisition of Emergis, a business process outsourcer specializing in healthcare and financial services.
ArcLight Capital Partners, LLC (together with its affiliates "ArcLight") today announced its managed fund has entered into definitive purchase agreements with Osaka Gas USA Corporation ("Osaka Gas") and Kyuden International Americas Inc. ("Kyuden") to acquire their indirect common equity ownership interests in Kleen Energy Systems, LLC ("Kleen Power").
Arrowstreet Capital Limited Partnership purchased a new stake in shares of McCormick & Company, Incorporated during the 2nd quarter worth $6,520,000.
In February, Cabot Properties acquired a 220,608-square-foot, multistory logistics warehouse in Minoh City, Osaka — its first investment in Japan.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 213 recorded events in the 24-month window.
Leadership moves
33 tracked people moves
Appointment Global Head of Human Resources
Promotion Senior Vice President
Appointment Chief Operating Officer
Appointment Managing Director and Head of Private Equity Secondaries
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Retirement Previously Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Head of Markets UK and Senior Managing Director
Appointment Managing Director
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Pooled employer plan
Contract wins
10 recorded customer wins
Customer: marinerwealth management
Customer: New England Appliance Group
Customer: red thread
Customer: amazonReal Estate
Customer: sponsor-backed contract beverage co-packerFood & Beverage
Customer: river global
Workforce actions
1 companies with reported reductions
900 rolescost reduction
Regulatory events
1 recorded events
agreed to pay civil penaltySEC
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 16 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| TA→advanced medical solutions | Rumored | 2026-04-21 | Not stated in snapshot |
| ga group→G2 Capital Advisors ↗ | Announced | 2026-04-20 | Not stated in snapshot |
| 37 Capital→SpendRight, Inc. | Announced | 2026-04-17 | $100.0K |
| TA→netwrix | Announced | 2026-04-15 | Not stated in snapshot |
| TA→weiman products | Completed | 2026-04-15 | Not stated in snapshot |
| TA→Vee Healthtek | Completed | 2026-04-13 | $250.0M |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
1,164 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 1,703-posting snapshot covers 29 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
1,164 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 1,703-posting snapshot covers 29 employers.
Most advertised job titles
7 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
923 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 1,703 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 236 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| State Street ↗ | 46,000 |
| Social Finance ↗ | 2,371 |
| WGBH ↗ | 1,129 |
| Cambridge Associates ↗ | 1,068 |
| City Year ↗ | 797 |
| TA ↗ | 748 |
| Mass Audubon ↗ | 619 |
| The MSPCA ↗ | 476 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
298 founders and chief executives across 200 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
298 founders and chief executives across 200 companies.
Jennifer Dumas Hall
CrossHarbor Capital ↗Ex-Banc of America Securities, Fleet Bank. Bentley University 1994
Michael Brown
City Year ↗Harvard College
Beth Florin
Pearl Meyer ↗University of Florida BS 1983, Cornell University 1985
Javier Dborkin
Boston Andes Capital ↗Ex-OBC, CONSULTORIA Y CAPACITACION, Bankers Trust. University of Buenos Aires BA 1997, Babson College MBA 2002
Clark Callander
Albany Road ↗Sugar Bowl Resort, Barton Asset Management, Bryte, Cargo Chief, ex- Co-Founder GCA. Stanford University BS 1980, The Wharton School MBA 1986
Catherine D'amato
The Greater Boston Food Bank ↗The Rwanda Infertility Initiative, ex-Federal Reserve Bank Of Boston, ex-Basic Health International, Harvard University, 1996
Kirk Waldron
G2 Capital Advisors ↗Managing Director - G2 Capital Advisors. University of Southern California Bachelor of Business Administration 1985
Adam Norris
Tritower Financial Group ↗Tritower Financial, ex-Franklin Street Properties Corp Fsp Investments, ex-Pioneer Investments Pioneer Funds Distributor, Pingree School
Jeff Shumway
Social Finance ↗Ex-The Bridgespan Group, Monitor Group. Brigham Young University BS 1997, Harvard Kennedy School MPP 2005
Paul English
Boston Venture Studio ↗Founder & CEO Supercal.com, Deets, Xiangqi.com, Summits Education, ex-Co-Founder Moonbeam, Lola Travel and Expense, KAYAK, InterMute. UMass Boston BA…
Kevin McCarthy
Truck 9 Partners ↗Managing Director Truck 9 Partners, ex-Century Equity Partners, Symmetric Capital. Dartmouth College BA 2010, MIT Sloan School of Management MBA 2017
Yasmin Cruz Ferrine
Visible Hands ↗Kauffman Fellows, ex-Togetherfund And Deval For All 2020, ex-Brown Advisory, Boston College - Wallace E. Carroll Graduate School of Management, 2018
Education networks
72 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
16 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
27,848 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
27,848 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Investment Industry coverage tagged Boston · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 6,357 |
| 2021Q3 | 8,195 |
| 2021Q4 | 6,006 |
| 2022Q1 | 7,691 |
| 2022Q2 | 7,477 |
| 2022Q3 | 6,974 |
| 2022Q4 | 7,123 |
| 2023Q1 | 7,751 |
| 2023Q2 | 8,427 |
| 2023Q3 | 7,169 |
| 2023Q4 | 7,734 |
| 2024Q1 | 9,940 |
| 2024Q2 | 8,938 |
| 2024Q3 | 7,715 |
| 2024Q4 | 8,965 |
| 2025Q1 | 13,786 |
| 2025Q2 | 8,880 |
| 2025Q3 | 8,542 |
| 2025Q4 | 8,149 |
| 2026Q1 | 7,930 |
| 2026Q2 | 3,227 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
237 recorded company events across 14 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Investment Industry coverage tagged Boston · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
United States comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| investment deal | 11,071 | 3,690 | 200% |
| stablecoin fx impact | 9,211 | 6,423 | 43% |
| private equity | 6,438 | 1,681 | 283% |
| etf trading | 5,654 | 3,580 | 58% |
| share price | 5,418 | 2,994 | 81% |
| etfs | 4,856 | 3,086 | 57% |
| sector etfs | 4,671 | 2,980 | 57% |
| investment | 4,412 | 1,035 | 326% |
| stock surge | 4,385 | 2,355 | 86% |
| etf structures | 4,345 | 2,674 | 62% |
| tariff negotiations | 13,596 | 23,784 | -43% |
| flood stage forecasting | 607 | 10,570 | -94% |
| hydrologic risk modeling | 79 | 10,120 | -99% |
| free trade deals | 5,648 | 9,436 | -40% |
| economic slowdown | 5,394 | 8,577 | -37% |
Event and signal lenses
United States comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
2,670,381 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, stock performance
42.7% critical · 26.8% positiveFunding Momentum
582,279 classified articlesinvestment deal, inflation reports fx, currency intervention policies
40.0% critical · 49.1% positiveGrowth
848,455 classified articlesearnings report, cannabis industry regulations, legal cannabis sales
36.2% critical · 44.7% positiveInvestment Industry coverage tagged Boston. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Investment Industry in Boston: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 3 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗