Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Toronto’s
investment industry industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping investment industry in Toronto. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Toronto’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Toronto’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Investment Industry industry KPIs in Toronto
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
43 of 632 tracked companies have open roles.
16 of 632 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 34 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 60.6% of disclosed capital, while 97.5% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Toronto investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Toronto investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $0 | 29 | 0 |
| 2017 | $25M | 36 | 1 |
| 2018 | $0 | 34 | 0 |
| 2019 | $39.6M | 40 | 3 |
| 2020 | $12.95M | 44 | 4 |
| 2021 | $1.42M | 51 | 1 |
| 2022 | $3.4M | 25 | 2 |
| 2023 | $0 | 17 | 0 |
| 2024 | $37.05M | 13 | 4 |
| 2025 | $15.73M | 0 | 3 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Terra Firma21.1%
- Halmont Properties20.9%
- Sprott Asset Management18.6%
- Other companies39.4%
Funding by stage
37 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in investment industry company rounds since 2016.
- 01FPT Software 1 rounds
- 02Texas Capital Bank 1 rounds
- 03Qube Research & Technologies 1 rounds
- 04FirePower Capital 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by FirePower Capital.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
The measured Canada identity-to-filing probe did not produce a qualifying designated legal or national-ID join: world_filings_distributed exposes no reviewed Canadian national-ID key; none of the designated Canadian identities carried a CIK.; The measured Canada identity-to-filing probe did not produce a qualifying designated legal or national-ID join: world_filings_distributed exposes no reviewed Canadian national-ID key; none of the designated Canadian identities carried a CIK.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Toronto investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Toronto investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Enterprise tech
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
First Trust Advisors LP raised its position in Applied Materials by 4.9% during the third quarter. ... worth $635,057,000 after acquiring an additional 145,050 shares in the last quarter.
today announced three new project awards totaling approximately $2.4 million from the California Department of Transportation ('Caltrans').
Sun Life formed BGO in July 2019 through the merger of Bentall Kennedy with global real estate investment firm GreenOak, contributing its Bentall Kennedy interest (valued at C$482 million at the time of the transaction) and investing C$195 million ( US$146 million ) in cash to acquire a 56% majority stake.
Middle-market buyout shop Charlesbank Capital Partners LLC agreed to buy a stake in Overbay Capital Partners Inc.
Equinix and Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPP Investments) have announced the acquisition of Nordic data center operator atNorth from Partners Group for $4 billion.
Slate Asset Management (“Slate” or the “Firm”), a global investor and manager focused on essential real estate and infrastructure, and private markets investment management firm Hamilton Lane (Nasdaq: HLNE), announced today the acquisition of a majority equity stake in Cold-Link Logistics (“Cold-Link” or the “Company”).
Palisades Goldcorp Ltd. (TSXV: PALI) announced today that further to its May 21, 2025 news release, the Company has agreed to extend the maturity date of its secured convertible note in the principal amount of C$4,161,600.
Kinterra Capital Corp. ('Kinterra') and its operating subsidiary, Southwest Critical Materials LLC, are pleased to announce receipt of a Non-Binding Letter of Interest from the Export-Import Bank of the United States ('EXIM') indicating potential debt financing of up to US $200 million under EXIM's Make More in America Initiative.
The Canadian Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (OTPP) has reached a final agreement with the US private capital firm Adventist International to acquire 100% of the Donte Group dental group, the matrix of brands such as Vitaldent, Smysecret, Moonz and Maex. The operation, valued at more than 1 billion euros, is expected to close by the end of 2025, as reported by both parties on Tuesday.
Predictiv AI Inc. has entered an amended letter of intent to acquire Shift Technologies Canada Inc. and HouseStack Holdings Inc.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 300 recorded events in the 24-month window.
Leadership moves
8 tracked people moves
Appointment Managing Director
Appointment ServiceNow Leader, M&A Advisor
Appointment chief administrative officer
Appointment Global Head of Private Equity
Resignation
Appointment Chief Financial Officer
Appointment President and CEO
Departure Previously President and CEO
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Tolling system
ETF
Contract wins
16 recorded customer wins
Customer: california
Customer: Arkansas DOTTransportation technology
Customer: endurance goldFinance
Customer: Ghana Enterprises Agency (GEA)
Customer: Aduro Clean TechFinancial Services
Customer: Shift Technologies Canada Inc. and HouseStack Holdings Inc.
Workforce actions
1 companies with reported reductions
100 rolescost reduction
Regulatory events
8 recorded events
trading resumedCanadian Investment Regulatory Organization (CIRO)
approved the plan of arrangementSupreme Court of British Columbia
approved the arrangementSupreme Court of British Columbia
subject to regulatory approvalTSX Venture Exchange
Litigation
1 tracked suits
financial misconduct and diversion of charitable fundsCivil · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 27 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| FT Portfolios Canada→applied materials | Completed | 2026-04-19 | $635.1M |
| Ontario Teachers\' Pension Plan→omega healthcare | Completed | 2026-04-13 | $1.8B |
| Bentall Kennedy→greenoak | Completed | 2026-03-30 | Not stated in snapshot |
| charlesbank capital partners→Overbay ↗ | Announced | 2026-03-13 | Not stated in snapshot |
| CPP Investments→atnorth | Announced | 2026-02-27 | $4.0B |
| CPP Investments→inkia | Announced | 2026-02-12 | $3.4B |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
4,056 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 6,202-posting snapshot covers 40 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
4,056 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 6,202-posting snapshot covers 40 employers.
Most advertised job titles
13 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
2,311 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 6,202 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 380 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| brookfield infrastructure partners ↗ | 248,200 |
| Ontario Teachers\' Pension Plan ↗ | 1,509 |
| Mastercard Foundation ↗ | 939 |
| Quarterhill ↗ | 604 |
| OPTrust ↗ | 448 |
| Futurpreneur Canada ↗ | 396 |
| Eckler ↗ | 391 |
| Ontario Pension Board ↗ | 244 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
423 founders and chief executives across 393 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
423 founders and chief executives across 393 companies.
Justin Choi
Sprott Asset Management ↗Managing Director - Sprott Asset Management. Korea University Bachelor of Business Administration 2006
David Johnston
PenEquity ↗ex-Price Waterhouse. McMaster University in Hamilton BCom
Collin Kettell
Palisades Goldcorp ↗Founder, CEO & Director-Palisades Goldcorp
Taz Turner
CordovaCann ↗Founder Southshore Capital Partners, ex-Trafelet Delta Funds, ABS Capital Partners. University of Virginia BS 2000
Brian Bosse
Capitalight ↗Zentek, ex-VP Dundee. Wilfrid Laurier University 1995
Ahmed Eldemerdash
NileQuest Capital ↗Ex-Co-Founder Appetito, NOMU Group, Swvl, McKinsey, Vodafone. Cairo University BSc 2012, HBS MBA 2017
Richard Lee
Spackman Equities Group ↗Ex-BNP Paribas, HSBC Private Equity, CIMB Securities, CLSA Securities. Harvard College BA 1998
Zachary Goldenberg
Liberty Venture Partners ↗Liberty Venture Partners, PsyBio Therapeutics, NowVertical, CoinSmart. Ivey Business School at Western University HBA 2013, Western University JD 2013
Aaron Toporowski
BMO Capital Partners ↗Ex-HSBC, Canada Post Pension Fund, EDC Investments. University of Victoria BCom 2004, University of Toronto - Rotman School of Management MFin 2010
Ari Silverberg
Harbour Equity ↗Harbour Equity Capital, ex-Charter Real Estate Investment Trust, ex-General Growth Properies, University of Pennsylvania - The Wharton School, 2001
Duncan Webster
Authentic Asset Management ↗Ex-CIBC Global Asset Management Inc, PIMCO Canada Corp, Allianz Investment Management.The London School of Economics and Plitical Science MSc 1987…
Rahul Suri
Clariti Strategic Advisors ↗HealthHub, ex-Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Canada-India Business Council, Covenant House Toronto, The Carlyle Group. University of Toronto LLB 1987…
Education networks
108 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
11 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
70,886 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
70,886 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Investment Industry coverage tagged Toronto · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 18,310 |
| 2021Q3 | 17,959 |
| 2021Q4 | 13,519 |
| 2022Q1 | 18,370 |
| 2022Q2 | 18,080 |
| 2022Q3 | 17,008 |
| 2022Q4 | 18,323 |
| 2023Q1 | 17,173 |
| 2023Q2 | 19,208 |
| 2023Q3 | 18,757 |
| 2023Q4 | 18,047 |
| 2024Q1 | 22,665 |
| 2024Q2 | 23,390 |
| 2024Q3 | 21,254 |
| 2024Q4 | 23,654 |
| 2025Q1 | 28,613 |
| 2025Q2 | 19,501 |
| 2025Q3 | 23,482 |
| 2025Q4 | 15,591 |
| 2026Q1 | 18,228 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
312 recorded company events across 33 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Investment Industry coverage tagged Toronto · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Canada comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| startup news | 1,975 | 561 | 252% |
| stock price | 1,308 | 906 | 44% |
| multilateral diplomacy | 1,069 | 731 | 46% |
| angel investors | 1,036 | 405 | 156% |
| investment deal | 1,007 | 533 | 89% |
| ice sports | 883 | 231 | 282% |
| international cups | 817 | 573 | 43% |
| market snapshot | 801 | 215 | 273% |
| wto rulings | 756 | 393 | 92% |
| share price | 711 | 466 | 53% |
| tariff negotiations | 6,302 | 15,345 | -59% |
| free trade deals | 3,132 | 6,385 | -51% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 2,931 | 4,670 | -37% |
| bilateral trade | 1,919 | 3,515 | -45% |
| preferential tariff | 1,286 | 3,326 | -61% |
Event and signal lenses
Canada comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
607,067 classified articlestariff negotiations, free trade deals, trade dispute mechanisms
35.3% critical · 35.8% positiveFunding Momentum
163,210 classified articlesangel investors, investment deal, initial public offering
27.9% critical · 43.5% positiveGrowth
238,477 classified articlesearnings report, league expansion news, quarterly financials
26.3% critical · 46.9% positiveInvestment Industry coverage tagged Toronto. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Investment Industry in Toronto: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 1 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗