Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Ireland’s
retail industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping retail in Ireland. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Ireland’s retail leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Ireland’s retail leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyRecently founded independent companies
Recently founded means a recorded 2023–2026 founding year and no recorded parent, acquirer or public-company status. These companies are not labelled startups without that separate classification.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Retail industry KPIs in Ireland
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
21 of 748 tracked companies have open roles.
48 of 748 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 75 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 91.5% of disclosed capital, while 93.6% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Ireland retail has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Ireland retail has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $20.67M | 42 | 7 |
| 2017 | $9.45M | 37 | 6 |
| 2018 | $53.91M | 29 | 7 |
| 2019 | $685.79M | 44 | 5 |
| 2020 | $68.18M | 87 | 4 |
| 2021 | $278.17M | 47 | 8 |
| 2022 | $753.51M | 27 | 7 |
| 2023 | $1.43B | 20 | 9 |
| 2024 | $11.73M | 12 | 3 |
| 2025 | $740.7M | 2 | 4 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Wayflyer47.8%
- Etsy31.2%
- Butternut Box12.5%
- Other companies8.5%
Funding by stage
89 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in retail company rounds since 2016.
- 01Enterprise Ireland 11 rounds
- 02Delta Partners 5 rounds
- 03Passion Capital 5 rounds
- 04White Star Capital 4 rounds
- 05Literacy Capital 4 rounds
- 06L Catterton 3 rounds
- 07QED Investors 3 rounds
- 08Brian Caulfield 3 rounds
- 09Five Seasons Ventures 3 rounds
- 010AIB Seed Capital Fund 2 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by Enterprise Ireland.
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by Neuberger Berman.
Backed by General Atlantic and L Catterton.
Backed by DST Global and QED Investors and others.
Backed by QED Investors and Speedinvest and others.
Backed by Crosspoint Capital Partners.
Backed by Passion Capital and White Star Capital and others.
Backed by Index Ventures and Union Square Ventures and others.
Backed by White Star Capital and Five Seasons Ventures and others.
Backed by Accel and Union Square Ventures.
Backed by Molten Ventures and First Round Capital and others.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
No reviewed exact national-ID connector has yet been qualified for Ireland; this is a checked implementation boundary, not evidence that filings are absent.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Ireland companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
26 of the 748 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (3.5%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 469,080 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Etsyetsy.com | 355,716,111 | 100 | 66.1% |
| Primarkprimark.com | 15,431,110 | 83 | 83.9% |
| DoneDealdonedeal.ie | 5,070,692 | 70 | 67.9% |
| Advertsadverts.ie | 2,410,630 | 57 | 57.9% |
| Bootsboots.ie | 1,419,387 | 58 | 76% |
| DPD (Logistic Solution)dpd.ie | 1,112,792 | 45 | 71.6% |
| ChannelSightchannelsight.com | 1,038,281 | 39 | 84.6% |
| Woodieswoodies.ie | 921,608 | 46 | 76.3% |
| Butternut Boxbutternutbox.com | 912,458 | 44 | 86.7% |
| SuperValusupervalu.ie | 750,946 | 56 | 79.3% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
51 of these companies (6.8%) publish at least one Android app — 116 apps in all, carrying 304.6M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Etsy: Shop Home, Style & MoreEtsy | 74M | 4.8 | Shopping |
| Disney Coloring WorldStoryToys | 36.2M | 4.2 | Educational |
| LEGO® DUPLO® WorldStoryToys | 31.9M | 4 | Educational |
| LEGO® Friends: Heartlake RushStoryToys | 27.9M | 4.1 | Arcade |
| LEGO® DUPLO® MarvelStoryToys | 27.8M | 4.3 | Education |
| Hacoo - Discovering &InspiringHacoo | 27.8M | 3.6 | Lifestyle |
| Barbie Color CreationsStoryToys | 15.2M | 4.1 | Entertainment |
| Marvel HQ: Kids Super Hero FunStoryToys | 13M | 4 | Educational |
| LEGO® DUPLO® DisneyStoryToys | 11.2M | 4 | Education |
| LEGO® DUPLO® Peppa PigStoryToys | 10.5M | 4.1 | Educational |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q2–2026Q1).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online Mom & Baby Care | 22 | 187.9M | Disney Coloring World 36.2M | |
| Pre-K Edtech | 22 | 187.8M | LEGO® DUPLO® World 31.9M | |
| K-12 Edtech | 20 | 187.8M | LEGO® Friends: Heartlake Rush 27.9M | |
| Horizontal E-Commerce | 9 | 111.7M | Etsy: Shop Home, Style & More 74M | |
| Food Distributors | 2 | 1.4M | Real Rewards 1M | |
| Payments | 5 | 740.7K | Payzone 430.9K | |
| Retail Chains | 3 | 395.4K | Brown Thomas 173.2K | |
| Online Gifting | 4 | 369.8K | CleverCards 293.5K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 103 of 116 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Ireland retail market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Ireland retail market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Consumer digital
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
3 companies hiring · $1.48B disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Avoca announced it has raised more than $125 million across multiple funding rounds, reaching a valuation of approximately $1 billion.
and $35m raised by Dublin-based financing platform Wayflyer.
Subsequently, the Group has completed the business acquisitions of StoryToys in 2021, astragon and The Label in 2022, and Independent Arts Software GmbH by astragon in 2023.
In a corporate filing on Thursday (January 15), HYBE disclosed plans to sell 24,500 shares of its common stock at 210,740 won ($143.28) apiece, representing a 36% discount to HYBE’s closing price yesterday (January 14).
Butternut Box Fetches $100 M in Debt Financing for Fresh Pet Food Service
Rover Group Inc. , a platform that connects pet owners to walkers and sitters, is buying Dublin-based marketplace Gudog as it eyes more buyouts and organic growth in Europe.
Musgrave Group has agreed to buy a 91% stake in Carrick Supermarket Ltd
Dunelm has snapped up Irish soft furnishings retailer Home Focus at Hickeys.
New accounts filed by DID Electrical Appliances Ltd show that profits increased by 151 per cent as revenues decreased by 29.5 per cent from €142.17 million to €100.69 million in the 12 months to the end of September last.
Cyber security platform Coro has promoted presales team lead Ben Morrell to vice president of security strategy.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 290 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
1 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO · Kospi7 reports
Leadership moves
32 tracked people moves
Promotion Vice President of Security Strategy
Promotion Vice President of Security Strategy
Appointment Vice President of Marketing
Appointment Chief Executive Officer at Primark
Appointment Chief Commercial Officer
Appointment Non-Executive Director
Resignation Previously Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Board Member
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Circularity Framework
Agency AI platform
Marketplace Engagement Tools
Product
Contract wins
2 recorded customer wins
Workforce actions
2 companies with reported reductions
82 rolesrapidly changing market
Scale not stated rolesbuilding repair
Regulatory events
8 recorded events
Litigation
8 tracked suits
contract termination and payment claimCivil · Appeal
Stock sale payment disputeCivil · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 53 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Etsy→depop | Completed | 2026-02-19 | $1.6B |
| everplay→StoryToys ↗ | Completed | 2026-02-11 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Hybe→Ithaca Holdings | Announced | 2025-08-02 | $950.0M |
| Hybe→SM Entertainment | Completed | 2025-05-27 | $335.0M |
| Rover Group Inc.→Gudog ↗ | Announced | 2025-04-29 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Musgrave→carrick | Pending | 2025-02-21 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
3 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 56-posting snapshot covers 46 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
3 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 56-posting snapshot covers 46 employers.
Most advertised job titles
0 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
24 postings specify a level.
Companies hiring
| Company | Open roles |
|---|---|
| Primark ↗ | 11 |
| Wayflyer ↗ | 8 |
| Profitero ↗ | 6 |
| Life Style Sports ↗ | 5 |
| Everseen ↗ | 4 |
| Phorest ↗ | 4 |
| Carraig Donn ↗ | 3 |
| Etsy ↗ | 3 |
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Musgrave ↗ | 4,006 |
| heatons ↗ | 2,000 |
| Etsy ↗ | 1,827 |
| fastway couriers ireland ↗ | 750 |
| Butternut Box ↗ | 705 |
| Portwest ↗ | 689 |
| Wayflyer ↗ | 479 |
| DPD (Logistic Solution) ↗ | 332 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
201 founders and chief executives across 162 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
201 founders and chief executives across 162 companies.
Aidan Corbett
Wayflyer ↗Ex-Co-Founder Conjura, The Kubicle, NTR, McKinsey · University College Cork BE 2005, London Business School MBA 2013
Jared Tarbell
Etsy ↗ScriptEd, Ex-Co-Founder Evite, Hellman & Friedman, American Express, Skype, Shopping.com, eBay. Brown University BA 1991…
Kevin Glynn
Butternut Box ↗Ex-Goldman Sachs, 100minds, Popdeem, Co-Founder Irish Student Entrepreneurship Forum. University College Dublin BBL 2012
Joe White
Everseen ↗Ex-Zebra Technologies, Motorola Solutions, Motorola Solutions · University of Maryland BS 1992
Ronan Perceval
Phorest ↗Co-Founder Demonware. Trinity College Dublin LLB 2002
Kealan Lennon
CleverCards ↗Founder K Partners, ex-CJ Fallon, Wilton Radio Group, On Demand Communications, AGI Media Ireland
Ciara Flood
&Open ↗Director Makers & Brothers, ex-Selfridges, NET-A-PORTER. Trinity College 2007, London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London MA 2008
Bryan Wiener
Profitero ↗Ex- CEO Comscore, Co-Founder 360i, Sysomos Expion, Net2Phone, TheGlobe.com. Syracuse University BA, NYU Stern School of Business MBA
Rosanne Longmore
Coroflo ↗Ex-Davy, PI Investment Management. University of Limerick BA 2003
Eoin Bara
Tipple ↗Ex-Great Irish Gin. ational College of Ireland MSc 2011
Oran Mulvey
VisionR ↗Ex-Mulveys of Dundrum Wood Flooring. University College Dublin BA 2017, UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School 2018
Emmet O'Neill
StoryToys ↗Ex-Houghton Mifflin, Rothco, CustomerMinds, ThirdForce. Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology BA 1998
Education networks
14 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
10 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
204,575 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
204,575 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Retail coverage across Ireland · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 27,708 |
| 2021Q3 | 54,935 |
| 2021Q4 | 26,902 |
| 2022Q1 | 30,097 |
| 2022Q2 | 27,203 |
| 2022Q3 | 25,990 |
| 2022Q4 | 30,804 |
| 2023Q1 | 31,853 |
| 2023Q2 | 33,337 |
| 2023Q3 | 31,877 |
| 2023Q4 | 28,405 |
| 2024Q1 | 32,311 |
| 2024Q2 | 34,245 |
| 2024Q3 | 32,245 |
| 2024Q4 | 30,559 |
| 2025Q1 | 40,777 |
| 2025Q2 | 25,765 |
| 2025Q3 | 113,209 |
| 2025Q4 | 24,711 |
| 2026Q1 | 32,964 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
663 recorded company events across 17 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Retail coverage across Ireland · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Retail coverage across Ireland
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| study overseas | 413 | 200 | 106% |
| overseas study | 371 | 181 | 105% |
| semester abroad | 354 | 172 | 106% |
| stock performance | 279 | 171 | 63% |
| sports legislation | 195 | 92 | 112% |
| international programs | 185 | 97 | 91% |
| stablecoin fx impact | 180 | 53 | 240% |
| border enforcement practices | 170 | 33 | 415% |
| bowl game matchups | 167 | 81 | 106% |
| comex gold analysis | 159 | 84 | 89% |
| odi world cup | 255 | 790 | -68% |
| icc world cup | 227 | 730 | -69% |
| odi tactics | 336 | 691 | -51% |
| limited overs cricket | 336 | 653 | -49% |
| odi cricket | 323 | 637 | -49% |
Event and signal lenses
Retail coverage across Ireland
Regulatory Risk
136,261 classified articlesmark rule gaelic football, odi world cup, limited overs cricket
39.5% critical · 33.2% positiveFunding Momentum
33,157 classified articleson-campus living, residential colleges, student accommodation
31.1% critical · 41.9% positiveGrowth
38,165 classified articlestax policy execution, tax expenditure oversight, gdp growth rate
32.5% critical · 45.7% positiveRetail coverage across Ireland. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Dublin
344 companies76.6% across the displayed hubs
10 companies hiring · $4.3B disclosed funding
Explore companies in Dublin ↗
Cork
41 companies9.1% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $93.2M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Cork ↗
Galway
22 companies4.9% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Galway ↗
Waterford
11 companies2.4% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Waterford ↗
Donegal
8 companies1.8% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Donegal ↗
Kildare
8 companies1.8% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Kildare ↗
Wicklow
8 companies1.8% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Wicklow ↗
Limerick
7 companies1.6% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Limerick ↗Retail in Ireland: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 1 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗