Industry landscapes
Industry report

Funding and advertised pay are reported in USD; filed accounts retain their stated source currency and basis.

Exchange-rate basis

Indicative conversions use ECB reference rates dated 2026-09-14, applied consistently across all periods. They are not historical exchange rates. Indian rupees may use crore (1 crore = 10 million); other currencies use K, M and B. CSV downloads, source documents and quoted news headlines retain their original currencies.

THE SOUTH AFRICA EDITION 2026

South Africa’s
retail industry,
in focus.

The companies, capital and talent shaping retail in South Africa. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

Snapshot: Funding in USD
Illustrated cover for Retail Industry Landscape of South Africa
ZA
COMPANIES · CAPITAL · TALENT

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.

Retail illustration
MEET THE COMPANIES

Explore South Africa’s retail leaders

24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.

Expand panel +
Retail company highlights in South Africa, snapshot 31 August 2026
Company
Takealottakealot.com$215.3M3,894
Jambojambo.technology$37.5M
Zandozando.co.za$25.83M3
Nilenile.ag$13.1M10
SwiftVeeswiftvee.com$11.5M19
Rentozarentoza.co.za$7.3M115
Yagayaga.co.za$6.87M21
Farofaro.co$6M1 roles
FrontierCofrontierco.co.za4 roles2,000
Smollansmollan.com4 roles357
Westcorwestcor.co.za4 roles
DotActivdotactiv.com2 roles105
arch retail systemsarchsoftware.co.za2 roles230
Kids Connectionkidsconnection.co.za1 roles
Shiny Rock Polishedshinyrockpolished.com1 roles
Ackermansackermans.co.za
Bob Shopbobshop.co.za
Clicksclicks.co.za
Dis-Chemdischem.co.za17,972
Gumtreegumtree.co.za70
LEGiT (clothing distributor)legit.co.za305
Makromakro.co.za1
Mr Pricemrpricegroup.com20,767
Pick n Paypnp.co.za59,900
24 featured companies

Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗

Company discovery

Recorded evidence only
THE KEY SIGNALS

Retail industry KPIs in South Africa

A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.

31 August 2026
Hiring participation1.7%

20 of 1,147 tracked companies have open roles.

Funding participation3.5%

40 of 1,147 tracked companies have a recorded round.

Top 3 funding share81.0%

Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.

Median disclosed round$2.3M

Midpoint of 23 rounds with a disclosed amount.

Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 81.0% of disclosed capital, while 96.5% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.

Explore the segments →
CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATION

How South Africa retail has grown

Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.

Expand panel +
2016 — 2025

Disclosed funding by year

Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD

South Africa retail
$0$19.86M$39.72M$59.58M$79.44M2016: $15K20162017: $69.69M20172018: $020182019: $020192020: $7.17M20202021: $2.26M20212022: $47.86M20222023: $7M20232024: $020242025: $33.56M2025
View the numbers
Annual retail funding and company formation in South Africa
YearFunding (USD)FoundedRaising
2016$15K571
2017$69.69M742
2018$0820
2019$0790
2020$7.17M1452
2021$2.26M893
2022$47.86M447
2023$7M312
2024$0220
2025$33.56M05
WHERE CAPITAL SITS

Funding concentration

Share of all disclosed company funding.

  • Takealot62.6%
  • Jambo10.9%
  • Zando7.5%
  • Other companies19.0%

Funding by stage

41 recorded rounds since 2016

NUMBER OF ROUNDS
Seed & Angel24 58.5%
Series A–B14 34.1%
Series C+ / PE1 2.4%
Grants, debt & other2 4.9%

Recent recorded rounds

Latest recorded rounds · USD
0 rounds

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Largest and notable recorded rounds

Each card is one recorded round
10 cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Series A06/2025
Nilenile.ag$10.6M

Backed by Cathay Innovation and FMO and others.

Series A01/2025
Farofaro.co$6M

Backed by Presight Capital and Gharage and others.

THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITY

Revenue, profitability & financial strength

Expand panel +

Annual accounts availability

No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps South Africa company identities to the configured global filings table.

DIGITAL FOOTPRINT

Web traffic, app reach and release cadence

How the South Africa companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.

Busiest websites

33 of the 1,147 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (2.9%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 301,984 visits.

CompanyMonthly visitsAuthorityMobile
Takealottakealot.com12,289,1276859%
Makromakro.co.za3,731,4416071.2%
Superbalistsuperbalist.com2,478,1025975.2%
Dis-Chemdischem.co.za2,170,7276082.7%
WooCommercewoocommerce.com2,145,3956222.3%
Bob Shopbobshop.co.za2,089,3464954.6%
Clicksclicks.co.za2,021,0956178.5%
Woolworthswoolworths.co.za1,941,0577065.1%
Pick n Paypnp.co.za1,781,1516271%
OneDayOnlyonedayonly.co.za1,167,8084553.5%

Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.

Most-installed apps

89 of these companies (7.8%) publish at least one Android app — 142 apps in all, carrying 58M installs between them.

Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.

App reach by segment

The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2024Q1–2026Q2).

SegmentAppsInstallsLeading appRelease trend
Horizontal E-Commerce2733.3MTakealot – Online Shopping App 18.5M
Fashion Tech59.4MSuperbalist Shopping App 5.6M
Retail Chains75.7MMakro Online Shopping 2.7M
E-Commerce Support Services24.6MWoolworths 4.5M
E-Commerce Enablers211.8MWooCommerce: Store & POS 1.5M
Retailers51.7MDis-Chem 1.5M
Pharmacies21.6MDis-Chem Health 135K
Coupons And Deals2613.8KVarsity Vibe 613.5K

A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.

Release cadence by quarter

New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.

2023Q1: 32023Q1: 02023Q12023Q2: 42023Q2: 22023Q22023Q4: 42023Q4: 12023Q42024Q1: 22024Q1: 12024Q12024Q2: 22024Q2: 32024Q22024Q3: 12024Q3: 52024Q32024Q4: 12024Q4: 42024Q42025Q1: 32025Q1: 22025Q12025Q2: 12025Q2: 32025Q22025Q3: 22025Q3: 122025Q32025Q4: 32025Q4: 252025Q42026Q1: 22026Q1: 162026Q1

Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 98 of 142 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.

INSIDE THE INDUSTRY

The South Africa retail market map

Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.

Expand panel +

Where companies are building

Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.

Consumer digital609
B2c e-commerce575
Enterprise tech213
Internet first brands159
Commerce enablers123
B2c fashion e-commerce119
Enterprise software111
Marketplaces91
Beauty e-commerce85
Saas69
Internet first fashion brands61
Retail saas50

Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.

SEGMENT TO EXPLORE

Consumer digital

The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.

609companies
1.3%have hiring activity

8 companies hiring · $307.62M disclosed funding

Explore in Radar

How companies make money

Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.

E-commerce - product768
E-commerce - service265
Subscription228
Commission on transaction182
Advertising135
Physical commerce123
Fee-for-service59
Sponsorship5
THE COMPANIES IN MOTION

Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work

Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.

Expand panel +
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Mergers & acquisitionsmrpricegroup.com ↗

The clothing and homewares group, which expects to close its purchase of German-based discount retailer NKD Group this month to expand into Central and Eastern Europe...

Mergers & acquisitionsargility.com ↗

Alacrity Technologies (Pty) Ltd has announced that Argility has bought a majority stake in the privately held company.

Mergers & acquisitionspepkor.co.za ↗

Over the past year, Pepkor has absorbed Choice Clothing, Shoprite’s furniture chains (still in progress) and Retailability’s businesses, including Legit, adding hundreds of stores and securing its adult wear exposure.

Mergers & acquisitionstouchsides.com ↗

In February 2024, the group acquired software-as-a-service solutions firm Touchsides from Heineken SA for an undisclosed sum.

Funding roundsswiftvee.com ↗

The biggest splash comes from South African agritech SwiftVEE also made headlines, raising about $10.1 million to expand from a livestock marketplace into embedded financial services.

Funding roundslocstat.co.za ↗

Locstat, an AI-driven location intelligence for supply chain and retail analytics, in South Africa raised $2.9M (pre-Series A) from undisclosed investors

Mergers & acquisitionsmassmart.co.za ↗

Wal Mart expressed interest in buying 51% of the shares of the South African supermarket chain Massmart, according to the American retailer in a press release.

IPO activitydischem.co.za ↗

Coronation participated in the initial public offering (IPO) at an average price of R18.50.

Mergers & acquisitionsintellicell.co.za ↗

regenerative medicine firm IntelliCell Biosciences Inc., of New York, said it was reaching OTC BB investors through its merger with Media Exchange Group

Funding roundswisioi.com ↗

These startups will gain access to ZAR1 million (US$50,000) in non-dilutive funding and up to ZAR3.6 million (US$200,000) in Google Cloud credits.

Full recorded event mix

Top 10 categories among 186 recorded events in the 24-month window.

Earnings
48
Company announcements
38
Mergers & acquisitions
30
New products
19
Leadership moves
12
Asset acquisitions
9
Funding rounds
8
Contracts
6
Lawsuit
5
Regulatory
5
6 activity cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

IPO pipeline

1 companies with recorded IPO activity

Dis-Chem ↗

IPO · JSE1 reports

Leadership moves

11 tracked people moves

Reeza Isaacs

Appointment Chief Executive Officer

Angelo Swartz

Resignation Previously Chief Executive Officer

Makro ↗
Asli Aracioglu

Appointment Chief Financial Officer

Dis-Chem ↗
Ivan Saltzman

Resignation Previously Chief Executive Officer

Dis-Chem ↗
Saul Saltzman

Resignation Non‑Independent Non‑Executive Director

Pick n Pay ↗
Lerena Olivier

Resignation Previously Chief Financial Officer

Pick n Pay ↗
Tina Rookledge

Appointment Chief Financial Officer

Pick n Pay ↗
Gareth Ackerman

Retirement Previously Chairman

Product launches

Products, platforms and features in the recorded window

Dis-Chem ↗
Melrose Arch Health Hub

Health Hub

Pick n Pay ↗
Smart Shopper loyalty program integration

Loyalty program

Pick n Pay ↗
Asap! on-demand delivery platform

On-demand delivery

HelloChoice ↗
multi-wallet system

Feature

Dis-Chem ↗
Better Rewards programme

Loyalty Program

Makro ↗
Makro Restored

Refurbished technology online store

Massmart ↗
Makro Restored

Refurbished electronics

Contract wins

2 recorded customer wins

Customer: retailabilityRetail

postnet ↗

Customer: Printing and Shipping Solutions

Litigation

5 tracked suits

Company
Lewis Stores v shoprite, pepkor

Third-party intervention in mergers under the Competition ActRegulatory · Verdict

Company
Lewis Stores Proprietary Ltd v pepkor, others

Intervention in large merger proceedings in furniture sectorCivil · Verdict

Earnings pulse

Reported company results in the recorded window.

10companies
49period observations
7.9%median reported growth

Median across 45 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.

Mergers and acquisitions

Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.

Acquirer → targetStatusDateValue / context
Mr Pricenkd groupPending2026-03-18Not stated in snapshot
Mr PricenkdPending2026-02-24Not stated in snapshot
Pick n PaybottlesAnnounced2026-02-10Not stated in snapshot
Argilityalacrity technologiesAnnounced2026-02-10Not stated in snapshot
Mr PricenkdAnnounced2026-02-04Not stated in snapshot
Pepkor HoldingsRetailability’s businesses, including LegitCompleted2026-02-04Not stated in snapshot

A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.

PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITY

The talent market

0 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 13-posting snapshot covers 9 employers.

Expand panel +

Most advertised job titles

Assistant/Trainee Retail Branch Managers3
Warehouse Assistants For Italtile Retail2
Retail E Commerce Manager Durban1
Retail Account Manager1
Mfc Sales Agent (Fm Retail)1
Senior Business Analyst Retail Durban Or Jhb And Cpt Contract1
0 internship postings

0 tracked postings mention remote work.

The seniority mix

7 postings specify a level.

unspecified
6
entry
3
manager
3
senior
1

Skills employers mention

Top skills across 13 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.

Software
2
Sas
2
Telco
2
Banking
2
Retail
2
Hardware
2
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELD

Founders and leaders

259 founders and chief executives across 215 companies.

Expand panel +
12 profiles

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Education networks

7 profiles with education records.

University of Cambridge
3
Monash University
1
Harvard University
1
London Business School (LBS)
1
London School of Economics and Political Science
1

Prior employers

1 profiles with prior-work records.

Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.

NEWS INTELLIGENCE

How this industry appears in the news

165,174 articles in the measured 12-month window.

Expand panel +
165,174articles in the measured year
48,762articles in 2026Q1
65.3%positive tone in the latest complete year

News volume trends

Retail coverage across South Africa · articles per complete quarter

014,37728,75343,13057,5072021Q2: 32,6832021Q22021Q3: 32,9322021Q4: 44,5002022Q1: 33,2502022Q2: 30,6792022Q22022Q3: 31,9822022Q4: 41,8342023Q1: 40,2672023Q2: 33,5142023Q22023Q3: 50,0062023Q4: 42,1562024Q1: 41,9572024Q2: 39,2292024Q22024Q3: 36,3472024Q4: 42,6902025Q1: 47,1632025Q2: 33,1582025Q22025Q3: 42,3902025Q4: 46,4542026Q1: 48,7622026Q1
View quarterly article counts
QuarterArticles
2021Q232,683
2021Q332,932
2021Q444,500
2022Q133,250
2022Q230,679
2022Q331,982
2022Q441,834
2023Q140,267
2023Q233,514
2023Q350,006
2023Q442,156
2024Q141,957
2024Q239,229
2024Q336,347
2024Q442,690
2025Q147,163
2025Q233,158
2025Q342,390
2025Q446,454
2026Q148,762

Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.

Tone of coverage over time

2021
65,060 positive · 3,912 neutral · 48,543 negative
2022
89,409 positive · 5,222 neutral · 42,805 negative
2023
114,502 positive · 5,546 neutral · 45,514 negative
2024
104,377 positive · 5,024 neutral · 50,509 negative
2025
110,188 positive · 5,343 neutral · 53,237 negative

Leading coverage topics

Retail coverage across South Africa · ranked by full-period article count.

International Sports Competitions47,714 articles in the full recorded period
12,462 recent · 10,602 prior
Cricket Test Matches16,363 articles in the full recorded period
3,778 recent · 2,711 prior
Championship Event Highlights15,236 articles in the full recorded period
4,482 recent · 3,308 prior
Sports History And Legacy Stories10,342 articles in the full recorded period
2,452 recent · 1,953 prior
Sports Injury Reports10,295 articles in the full recorded period
2,354 recent · 1,411 prior
International Political Relations10,260 articles in the full recorded period
1,954 recent · 2,656 prior
Olympic Games Coverage10,097 articles in the full recorded period
2,107 recent · 2,078 prior
Government International Agreements Coordination8,469 articles in the full recorded period
1,698 recent · 1,898 prior
Sports Governance And Policy Changes7,758 articles in the full recorded period
1,416 recent · 1,111 prior
Covid 19 Vaccine Development And Efficacy Trials7,542 articles in the full recorded period
202 recent · 91 prior

Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.

Topics gaining and losing attention

Retail coverage across South Africa

KeywordRecentPriorChange
angel investors1,013353187%
free trade deals46030352%
trade dispute mechanisms45727268%
international cups44526270%
asset acquisition423138207%
bilateral trade42026558%
early-stage investment419139201%
solar electricity generation38422968%
preferential tariff34417992%
world cup334134149%
odi cricket2,1473,295-35%
odi tactics1,9823,149-37%
odi world cup1,5793,138-50%
limited overs cricket2,0293,127-35%
odi series1,9572,986-34%

Event and signal lenses

Retail coverage across South Africa

All complete annual cohorts shown
Rising

Regulatory Risk

221,914 classified articles

test cricket, odi world cup, test innings

44.6% critical · 31.6% positive
Rising

Funding Momentum

45,051 classified articles

angel investors, odi world cup, icc world cup

39.5% critical · 42.5% positive
Rising

Growth

77,754 classified articles

gdp growth rate, gdp acceleration, economic output growth

34.2% critical · 47.5% positive

Retail coverage across South Africa. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.

DEMAND, SUPPLY & PLACE

Where demand signals run ahead of mapped supply — South Africa

Compare demand signals in South Africa’s newsflow with the retail categories mapped to each signal.

Expand panel +
HOW TO READ THE GAP

Signal percentile − supply percentile = gap in percentile points. Positive gaps highlight questions to investigate. A high signal can reflect spending pressure or access friction, as well as potential demand.

The comparison is relative to the signal families on this page. A supply percentile of zero means the lowest relative reading, not zero companies. It is a prioritisation clue, not measured market size or unmet demand.

COMPARISON PERIOD2025-05-01 to 2026-05-01Against 2024-05-01 to 2025-05-01Explore the signals ↓

The opportunity, in one view

Signal and mapped-supply percentiles, their gap, and change in the signal’s article share.

Swipe horizontally to compare all columns →

3 South Africa demand signals compared with mapped retail supply
Signal familySignal percentileSupply percentileRelative gapGap (points)Signal share vs prior year
Layoffs & income shocks ↗Spending Pressure25.00.0+25.0+69.6%
Tourism footfall ↗Demand Driver50.050.0+0.0-1.4%
Inflation & spending pressure ↗Spending Pressure75.0100.0-25.0+94.9%

Showing all 3 signals. Select a family for its history and mapped categories.

Where the signals are loudest

All 7 city readings for these demand families in the comparison geography. South Africa is highlighted.

Mentions per 10,000 articles

Each city’s reading is a share of its own coverage.

Johannesburg107.9

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure · Tourism footfall

Kwazulu-Natal106.4

Tourism footfall · Layoffs & income shocks

Eastern Cape75.9

Tourism footfall · Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure

Western Cape53.3

Tourism footfall · Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure

Kwazulu Natal50.8

Tourism footfall · Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure

Gauteng49.0

Layoffs & income shocks · Tourism footfall · Inflation & spending pressure

England15.1

Tourism footfall · Layoffs & income shocks

Inside the leading signals

Open any signal for its quarterly history
SPENDING PRESSURELayoffs & income shocks+25.0percentile-point gap
THE OPERATING HYPOTHESIS

Layoff cycles can pull discretionary spend back toward value offerings.

24.82mentions per 10,000 articles+69.6%share change vs prior year

Mapped retail categories

  • Internet First Brands159
  • Marketplaces91

Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.

Quarterly share of South Africa coverage

Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline

091928382024Q3: 232024Q32024Q4: 92024Q42025Q1: 142025Q12025Q2: 222025Q22025Q3: 252025Q32025Q4: 152025Q42026Q1: 332026Q1
View quarterly signal counts
Layoffs & income shocks in South Africa coverage
QuarterMentionsPer 10,000 articles
2024Q33323.62
2024Q4149.98
2025Q12314.76
2025Q22822.43
2025Q34225.97
2025Q42715.4
2026Q17533.03

Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography

Johannesburg56.3 / 10,000
DEMAND DRIVERTourism footfall+0.0percentile-point gap
THE OPERATING HYPOTHESIS

Visitor flows can convert into discretionary spend where they land.

29.21mentions per 10,000 articles-1.4%share change vs prior year

Mapped retail categories

  • Internet First Brands159
  • B2C Fashion E-Commerce119
  • Beauty E-Commerce85
  • Internet First Fashion Brands61

Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.

Quarterly share of South Africa coverage

Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline

0112334452024Q3: 392024Q32024Q4: 272024Q42025Q1: 312025Q12025Q2: 242025Q22025Q3: 302025Q32025Q4: 372025Q42026Q1: 242026Q1
View quarterly signal counts
Tourism footfall in South Africa coverage
QuarterMentionsPer 10,000 articles
2024Q35539.36
2024Q43927.8
2025Q14931.44
2025Q23024.03
2025Q34930.29
2025Q46637.64
2026Q15524.22

Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography

Kwazulu-Natal81.8 / 10,000
Eastern Cape44.6 / 10,000
Western Cape35.2 / 10,000
SPENDING PRESSUREInflation & spending pressure-25.0percentile-point gap
THE OPERATING HYPOTHESIS

Sustained price pressure can shift spending toward value formats.

25.5mentions per 10,000 articles+94.9%share change vs prior year

Mapped retail categories

  • B2C E-Commerce575
  • Marketplaces91

Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.

Quarterly share of South Africa coverage

Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline

091827362024Q3: 192024Q32024Q4: 102024Q42025Q1: 122025Q12025Q2: 192025Q22025Q3: 172025Q32025Q4: 192025Q42026Q1: 312026Q1
View quarterly signal counts
Inflation & spending pressure in South Africa coverage
QuarterMentionsPer 10,000 articles
2024Q32719.32
2024Q41510.69
2025Q12012.83
2025Q22419.22
2025Q32917.93
2025Q43419.39
2026Q17231.71

Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography

Johannesburg30.5 / 10,000
Gauteng11.1 / 10,000
RESEARCH & CHANGING CONVERSATIONS

Related research and changing coverage

South Africa retail coverage

Expand panel +
RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2018

Strategic implications of Fintech on South African retail banks

South African Journal of Economic and Management Sciences

84 citations in the snapshot

RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2017

The determinants of corporate cash holdings levels: evidence from selected South African retail firms

Investment Management and Financial Innovations

61 citations in the snapshot

RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2022

Financial Performance and Working Capital Management Practices in the Retail Sector: Empirical Evidence from South Africa

Risks

55 citations in the snapshot

RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2017

Perceived justice, service satisfaction and behavior intentions following service recovery efforts in a South African retail banking context

International Journal of Bank Marketing

45 citations in the snapshot

What is growing in this coverage

South Africa coverage of this page's demand families

KeywordRecent articlesPrior articlesShare change

Share changes describe coverage in the stated comparison periods, not search demand or market size.

GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINT

Where companies are based

Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Expand panel +
8 cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

UNDERSTAND THE LANDSCAPE

Retail in South Africa: key questions

Clear definitions for making better comparisons.

What does this landscape measure?

It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.

Can segment counts be added together?

No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.

What does a missing figure mean?

A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.

Company ecosystem snapshot: 31 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.

Canonical landscape ↗
Coming soon