Industry landscapes
Industry report

Funding and advertised pay are reported in USD; filed accounts retain their stated source currency and basis.

Exchange-rate basis

Indicative conversions use ECB reference rates dated 2026-09-14, applied consistently across all periods. They are not historical exchange rates. Indian rupees may use crore (1 crore = 10 million); other currencies use K, M and B. CSV downloads, source documents and quoted news headlines retain their original currencies.

THE SAN FRANCISCO EDITION 2026

San Francisco’s
consumer goods industry,
in focus.

The companies, capital and talent shaping consumer goods in San Francisco. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

Snapshot: Funding in USD
Illustrated cover for Consumer Goods Industry Landscape of San Francisco
US
COMPANIES · CAPITAL · TALENT

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.

Consumer Goods illustration
MEET THE COMPANIES

Explore San Francisco’s consumer goods leaders

24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.

Expand panel +
Consumer Goods company highlights in San Francisco, snapshot 1 September 2026
Company
Juul Labsjuullabs.com$16.35B———
JUST Eggju.st$446M—443—
Allbirdsallbirds.com$304.66M—505$152.47MFYFY2025 filing
Memeboxmemebox.com$192.73M—14—
Everlaneeverlane.com$180.21M7 roles375—
Residentresidenthome.com$142.5M—404—
Wild Typewildtypefoods.com$123M—74—
Molekulemolekule.com$114.43M—92$616.51KFYFY2021 filing
Levi Strausslevistrauss.com—13 roles18,000$6.36BFYFY2024 filing
Pottery Barnpotterybarn.com—11 roles——
Sephorasephora.com—11 roles12,574—
Janie and Jackjanieandjack.com—9 roles800—
Philz Coffeephilzcoffee.com—8 roles1,058—
Levi\'slevi.com—7 roles——
Yadav Diamonds and Jewelryyadavjewelry.com—7 roles29—
Amy’s Kitchenamys.com——2,256—
Ankeranker.com——21—
Charcoalcharcoal.inc———Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Cloroxclorox.com——8,700—
Decathlondecathlon.com——102Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Del Montedelmonte.com——201—
Gapgap.com——135,000—
Monstermonsterstore.com——272—
Rodan + Fieldsrodanandfields.com——458—
24 featured companies

Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗

Company discovery

Recorded evidence only

Explore the live startup set in Radar

No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.

Explore classified startups in Radar ↗
THE KEY SIGNALS

Consumer Goods industry KPIs in San Francisco

A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.

1 September 2026
Hiring participation8.1%

56 of 692 tracked companies have open roles.

Funding participation19.9%

138 of 692 tracked companies have a recorded round.

Top 3 funding share87.3%

Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.

Median disclosed round$5.5M

Midpoint of 216 rounds with a disclosed amount.

Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 87.3% of disclosed capital, while 80.1% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.

Explore the segments →
CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATION

How San Francisco consumer goods has grown

Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.

Expand panel +
2016 — 2025

Disclosed funding by year

Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD

San Francisco consumer goods
$0$3.89B$7.79B$11.68B$15.58B2016: $354.72M20162017: $259.99M20172018: $13.66B20182019: $1.01B20192020: $1.19B20202021: $525.29M20212022: $379.8M20222023: $1.39B20232024: $146.37M20242025: $54.92M2025
View the numbers
Annual consumer goods funding and company formation in San Francisco
YearFunding (USD)FoundedRaising
2016$354.72M3021
2017$259.99M2917
2018$13.66B2824
2019$1.01B3421
2020$1.19B4222
2021$525.29M2228
2022$379.8M1720
2023$1.39B914
2024$146.37M1010
2025$54.92M23
WHERE CAPITAL SITS

Funding concentration

Share of all disclosed company funding.

  • Juul Labs83.4%
  • JUST Egg2.3%
  • Allbirds1.6%
  • Other companies12.7%

Funding by stage

259 recorded rounds since 2016

NUMBER OF ROUNDS
Seed & Angel95 36.7%
Series A–B102 39.4%
Series C+ / PE33 12.7%
Grants, debt & other29 11.2%

Recent recorded rounds

Latest recorded rounds · USD
1 rounds

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Largest and notable recorded rounds

Each card is one recorded round
10 cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Series E03/2021
JUST Eggju.st$200M

Backed by Qatar Investment Authority and Charlesbank Capital Partners and others.

THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITY

Revenue, profitability & financial strength

Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.

Expand panel +
USD · millions · consolidated

Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.

FY2025 · company accounts; aggregate reporting threshold not met · 1 reporting entities from 5 eligible matches.

Revenue in covered accounts—

Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not San Francisco market sales.

Net profit / loss—

Combined result for the same cohort.

Aggregate net margin—

Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.

Median company revenue—

The middle covered reporting entity.

Profitable entities—

None of 1 covered entities.

Top-five concentration—

Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.

Annual account trend

Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.

Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.

Profitability has two perspectives

FY2025 · 1 reporting entities

Open the company accounts

Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.

1 reporting entities
Continue your financial research in Radar

Explore full company accounts and filings.

View financials in Radar ↗
SAN FRANCISCO · INDUSTRY COHORTS

How does consumer goods compare?

Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.

IndustryCovered / eligibleRevenue totalMedian revenueNet profit / lossAggregate marginProfitable shareOverlap

Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.

Coverage, calculations & financial sources

Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.

The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.

Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.

DIGITAL FOOTPRINT

Web traffic, app reach and release cadence

How the San Francisco companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.

Busiest websites

39 of the 692 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (5.6%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 266,519 visits.

CompanyMonthly visitsAuthorityMobile
Gapgap.com49,708,5438278.8%
Sephorasephora.com34,793,7088174.3%
Levi\'slevi.com14,558,3147673.2%
Pottery Barnpotterybarn.com8,032,9717368.5%
Decathlondecathlon.com7,447,5125678.7%
Phiaphia.com6,848,3713499.2%
Williams-Sonomawilliams-sonoma.com5,082,0546868.4%
Ankeranker.com4,820,1356966.4%
Honeylovehoneylove.com1,295,6845082.7%
Peak Designpeakdesign.com1,036,6885051.5%

Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.

Most-installed apps

27 of these companies (3.9%) publish at least one Android app — 52 apps in all, carrying 56.2M installs between them.

Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.

App reach by segment

The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2026Q2).

SegmentAppsInstallsLeading appRelease trend
Sports Equipment1334MDecathlon Sports Shop 31.6M
Sportswear733.1MDecathlon Connect 1.4M
Beauty & Personal Care Products310.5MSephora: Buy Makeup & Skincare 10.4M
Retail Chains65.1MOld Navy: Fashion at a Value! 3.3M
Mobiles & Accessories42MMonster Smart 1M
Household Durables6148.5KMolekule 54.1K
Imaging Products10144.4KOptoma Connect 76.3K
Consumer Electronics E-Commerce472.4KSpinn 13.6K

A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.

Release cadence by quarter

New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.

2022Q4: 32022Q4: 02022Q42023Q1: 12023Q1: 12023Q12023Q2: 12023Q2: 02023Q22023Q4: 12023Q4: 22023Q42024Q1: 12024Q1: 02024Q12024Q2: 12024Q2: 02024Q22024Q3: 22024Q3: 02024Q32024Q4: 12024Q4: 22024Q42025Q3: 12025Q3: 32025Q32026Q1: 32026Q1: 32026Q1

Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 47 of 52 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.

INSIDE THE INDUSTRY

The San Francisco consumer goods market map

Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.

Expand panel +

Where companies are building

Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.

Internet first brands113
Consumer digital92
B2c e-commerce80
B2c fashion e-commerce27
Internet first fashion brands27
Internet first apparel brands23
Beauty e-commerce19
Internet first beauty brands18
Nutritional formula13
Enterprise tech12
B2c grocery delivery12
Uber for grocery delivery12

Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.

SEGMENT TO EXPLORE

Internet first brands

The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.

113companies
9.7%have hiring activity

11 companies hiring · $1.35B disclosed funding

Explore in Radar

How companies make money

Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.

E-commerce - product597
Physical commerce191
Subscription31
E-commerce - service26
Commission on transaction23
Advertising23
Fee-for-service14
Sponsorship7
THE COMPANIES IN MOTION

Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work

Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.

Expand panel +
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
IPO activityallbirds.com ↗

Less than five years after the sneaker maker‘s $3 billion IPO, Vernachio is now asking shareholders to approve a deal, announced April 15, to sell the company’s assets to American Exchange Group for just $39 million.

Mergers & acquisitionslevistrauss.com ↗

Cleary Gottlieb represented Levi Strauss & Co. (LS&Co.) in the sale of its Dockers brand to Authentic Brands Group (Authentic) in a transaction with a total value of up to $391 million, based on an initial transaction value of $311 million, with an $80 million earnout opportunity in future years based on the performance of the Dockers business under Authentic’s ownership.

Funding roundsever.com ↗

Ever has now raised a total of $48.5M in total equity funding and is backed by Eclipse Ventures, Ibex Investors, Jameel Investment Management Company, Joint Effects, Lifeline Ventures, and Maki.vc.

Mergers & acquisitionslevi.com ↗

Jefferies announced on Wednesday that he had initiated the purchase of the Levis' title,

Mergers & acquisitionsclorox.com ↗

Clorox announced a definitive all‑cash deal to buy GOJO (Purell maker) for $2.25 billion

Mergers & acquisitionsdelmonte.com ↗

"B&G Foods has agreed to acquire Del Monte Foods’ broth and stock business, including the College Inn and Kitchen Basics brands, for about $110 million in cash following a competitive bankruptcy auction."

Mergers & acquisitionsdecathlon.com ↗

The subsidiary of the international sports brand Decathlon acquires 65% of the shares in the Bikeleasing Group as part of a transaction.

Funding roundstruebotanicals.com ↗

True Botanicals’ $30 million Series B raise led by NextWorld Evergreen

Mergers & acquisitionssvedka.com ↗

At the end of last year, the Buffalo Trace Bourbon whiskey maker snapped up Svedka vodka from Constellation Brands.

Mergers & acquisitionseatnowadays.com ↗

The Auspicious Group has bought a controlling stake in film production company Nowadays.

Full recorded event mix

Top 10 categories among 600 recorded events in the 24-month window.

Earnings
171
Company announcements
132
Leadership moves
104
Mergers & acquisitions
49
Asset acquisitions
44
New products
26
Funding rounds
15
Contracts
15
Layoffs
10
Job creation
10
7 activity cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Leadership moves

27 tracked people moves

Harmit Singh

Retirement Previously Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Growth Officer

Andy Berliner

Appointment Executive Chairman of the Board

Paul Schiefer

Appointment Chief Executive Officer

Anita Fung

Appointment Managing Director of the Levi’s brand for Greater China

Kelly McGinnis

Retirement Previously Chief Communications Officer

unspun ↗
Arne Arens

Appointment Chief Executive Officer

Wiley X ↗
Johnathan Weikum

Appointment Vice President of Sales

Athleta ↗
Michelle Goad

Appointment Chief Digital Officer

Product launches

Products, platforms and features in the recorded window

Sourse ↗
Horizon

digital monitoring platform

Prime Roots ↗
mycelium-based deli meats

deli meats

cultivated meat pet food treats

pet food

Cocokind ↗
Olipop Ceramide Lip Balm Flavors

Beauty

Super Agent AI orchestration platform

AI orchestration platform

Stitch

Mobile app

UK website

E-commerce platform

London Pop‑Up Shop

Retail pop‑up shop

Litigation

8 tracked suits

Company
levi strauss v amazon

price parity antitrust violationAntitrust · Ongoing

Company
levi strauss v Peruvian Manufactures San Isidro

industrial property rights infringementCivil · Ongoing

Earnings pulse

Reported company results in the recorded window.

9companies
191period observations
3.2%median reported growth

Median across 166 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.

Mergers and acquisitions

Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.

Acquirer → targetStatusDateValue / context
american exchange group→Allbirds ↗Announced2026-04-16$39.0M
Go Global Retail→Janie and Jack ↗Announced2026-04-02Not stated in snapshot
authentic brands group→dockers ↗Completed2026-03-06$311.0M
authentic brands group→Levi Strauss ↗Completed2026-02-27$391.0M
jefferies→Levi\'s ↗Announced2026-02-04Not stated in snapshot
Clorox→gojo industriesAnnounced2026-01-25$2.2B

A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.

PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITY

The talent market

3,274 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 5,317-posting snapshot covers 97 employers.

Expand panel +

Most advertised job titles

Beauty Advisor Flex531
Beauty Advisor Part Time161
Operations Associate Flex150
Operations Associate Part Time91
Aesthetician/Esthetician62
Design Studio Spc/Home Stylist61
0 internship postings

9 tracked postings mention remote work.

The seniority mix

1,495 postings specify a level.

unspecified
3,822
manager
894
lead
311
senior
243
intern
43
entry
4

Skills employers mention

Top skills across 5,317 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.

Excel
50
Inventory Management
47
Visual Merchandising
36
Pos System
35
Merchandising
27
Order Fulfillment
24
Cctv
21
Reporting Tools
21
Waxing
13
False Application
13
ADVERTISED PAY$45.8K/ year

Median across 659 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.

Salary by seniority

manager$71.0K/ year135 postings
lead$41.6K/ year31 postings
senior$116.8K/ year46 postings

Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.

THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELD

Founders and leaders

359 founders and chief executives across 271 companies.

Expand panel +
12 profiles

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Education networks

60 profiles with education records.

Stanford University
17
Harvard University
8
University of Pennsylvania
8
University of California (Berkeley)
7
Stanford Business School
6
Columbia University
6
Harvard Business School
4
Wharton School
4

Prior employers

7 profiles with prior-work records.

Goldman Sachs
2
Google
1
Microsoft
1
Facebook
1
Bain
1
Boston Consulting Group
1

Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.

NEWS INTELLIGENCE

How this industry appears in the news

59,394 articles in the measured 12-month window.

Expand panel +
59,394articles in the measured year
6,785articles in 2026Q2
63.3%positive tone in the latest complete year

News volume trends

Consumer Goods coverage tagged San Francisco · articles per complete quarter

06,13712,27418,41124,5482021Q2: 11,1062021Q22021Q3: 14,2662021Q4: 11,2952022Q1: 14,4202022Q2: 12,6742022Q22022Q3: 11,9772022Q4: 14,4782023Q1: 15,5602023Q2: 16,6512023Q22023Q3: 14,0762023Q4: 17,1202024Q1: 18,5712024Q2: 13,8982024Q22024Q3: 17,4612024Q4: 17,1622025Q1: 21,3462025Q2: 14,1202025Q22025Q3: 20,1252025Q4: 13,6082026Q1: 18,8762026Q2: 6,7852026Q2
View quarterly article counts
QuarterArticles
2021Q211,106
2021Q314,266
2021Q411,295
2022Q114,420
2022Q212,674
2022Q311,977
2022Q414,478
2023Q115,560
2023Q216,651
2023Q314,076
2023Q417,120
2024Q118,571
2024Q213,898
2024Q317,461
2024Q417,162
2025Q121,346
2025Q214,120
2025Q320,125
2025Q413,608
2026Q118,876
2026Q26,785

Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.

Tone of coverage over time

2021
26,525 positive · 468 neutral · 12,467 negative
2022
34,646 positive · 767 neutral · 18,024 negative
2023
38,595 positive · 831 neutral · 23,854 negative
2024
44,141 positive · 890 neutral · 21,924 negative
2025
43,717 positive · 1,019 neutral · 24,326 negative

Leading coverage topics

Consumer Goods coverage tagged San Francisco · ranked by full-period article count.

Administrative And Political Subdivisions4,359,401 articles in the full recorded period
929,769 recent · 795,456 prior
Geopolitical Disputes And Contested Areas320,939 articles in the full recorded period
106,792 recent · 82,252 prior
International And Transnational Geographic Entities320,750 articles in the full recorded period
106,737 recent · 82,173 prior
International Political Relations217,775 articles in the full recorded period
57,226 recent · 54,616 prior
Professional League Updates180,952 articles in the full recorded period
40,344 recent · 44,805 prior
Security And Defense Policies158,404 articles in the full recorded period
46,371 recent · 38,439 prior
College Athletics News150,752 articles in the full recorded period
36,312 recent · 51,245 prior
Athlete Transfer Rumors126,387 articles in the full recorded period
29,504 recent · 32,034 prior
Sports Injury Reports107,186 articles in the full recorded period
26,994 recent · 24,454 prior
International Relations And Diplomacy97,856 articles in the full recorded period
23,309 recent · 25,040 prior

Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.

Topics gaining and losing attention

United States comparison coverage

KeywordRecentPriorChange
conceptual rock albums5,3551443619%
countries3,9251,959100%
stablecoin fx impact3,5701,89788%
oil price volatility3,4871,602118%
prog rock epics2,8091223308%
etf trading2,7881,193134%
theatrical rock personas2,731377281%
symphonic rock pieces2,6001517233%
avant-garde rock2,551425974%
mind-expanding rock2,4851417650%
tariff negotiations15,05725,032-40%
college playoffs8,11120,679-61%
nba team legends3,03412,677-76%
ncaa updates6,81712,639-46%
college football finals3,72611,472-68%

Event and signal lenses

United States comparison coverage

All complete annual cohorts shown
Rising

Regulatory Risk

2,731,504 classified articles

territories, disputed islands, tariff negotiations

38.2% critical · 25.9% positive
Rising

Funding Momentum

549,563 classified articles

investment deal, club valuation, inflation reports fx

35.6% critical · 42.8% positive
Rising

Growth

730,369 classified articles

nba expansion teams, nba team legends, league expansion news

32.4% critical · 44.2% positive

Consumer Goods coverage tagged San Francisco. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.

DEMAND, SUPPLY & PLACE

Where demand signals run ahead of mapped supply — San Francisco

Compare demand signals in San Francisco’s newsflow with the consumer goods categories mapped to each signal.

Expand panel +
HOW TO READ THE GAP

Signal percentile − supply percentile = gap in percentile points. Positive gaps highlight questions to investigate. A high signal can reflect spending pressure or access friction, as well as potential demand.

The comparison is relative to the signal families on this page. A supply percentile of zero means the lowest relative reading, not zero companies. It is a prioritisation clue, not measured market size or unmet demand.

COMPARISON PERIOD2025-05-01 to 2026-05-01Against 2024-05-01 to 2025-05-01Explore the signals ↓

The opportunity, in one view

Signal and mapped-supply percentiles, their gap, and change in the signal’s article share.

Swipe horizontally to compare all columns →

3 San Francisco demand signals compared with mapped consumer goods supply
Signal familySignal percentileSupply percentileRelative gapGap (points)Signal share vs prior year
Rail & metro connectivity ↗Connectivity Build-Out50.00.0+50.0+21.6%
Layoffs & income shocks ↗Spending Pressure100.0100.0+0.0+33.0%
Inflation & spending pressure ↗Spending Pressure0.050.0-50.0-32.5%

Showing all 3 signals. Select a family for its history and mapped categories.

Where the signals are loudest

All 12 city readings for these demand families in the comparison geography. San Francisco is highlighted.

Mentions per 10,000 articles

Each city’s reading is a share of its own coverage. Rows cover all of the United States for this page's signal families; San Francisco is marked.

Seattle105.2

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure · Rail & metro connectivity

St. Louis97.8

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure · Rail & metro connectivity

Lebanon92.8

Inflation & spending pressure · Layoffs & income shocks

New York City64.2

Inflation & spending pressure · Layoffs & income shocks · Rail & metro connectivity

Cleveland58.4

Inflation & spending pressure · Layoffs & income shocks · Rail & metro connectivity

San Francisco57.6

Layoffs & income shocks · Rail & metro connectivity · Inflation & spending pressure

Minneapolis55.6

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure · Rail & metro connectivity

Detroit53.4

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure

Atlanta49.0

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure · Rail & metro connectivity

Chicago47.3

Inflation & spending pressure · Layoffs & income shocks · Rail & metro connectivity

Portland45.0

Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure · Rail & metro connectivity

Newark42.9

Layoffs & income shocks · Rail & metro connectivity · Inflation & spending pressure

Inside the leading signals

Open any signal for its quarterly history
CONNECTIVITY BUILD-OUTRail & metro connectivity+50.0percentile-point gap
THE OPERATING HYPOTHESIS

Where rail and metro build out, station-area demand can follow the footfall.

12.68mentions per 10,000 articles+21.6%share change vs prior year

Mapped consumer goods categories

  • B2C E-Commerce80

Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.

Quarterly share of San Francisco coverage

Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline

061218232024Q3: 72024Q32024Q4: 122024Q42025Q1: 112025Q12025Q2: 162025Q22025Q3: 202025Q32025Q4: 112025Q42026Q1: 72026Q1
View quarterly signal counts
Rail & metro connectivity in San Francisco coverage
QuarterMentionsPer 10,000 articles
2024Q3147.43
2024Q42112.28
2025Q12811.21
2025Q22216.94
2025Q32420.32
2025Q41011.15
2026Q1127.25

Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography

San Francisco12.1 / 10,000
San Diego9.1 / 10,000
Los Angeles8.0 / 10,000
SPENDING PRESSURELayoffs & income shocks+0.0percentile-point gap
THE OPERATING HYPOTHESIS

Layoff cycles can pull discretionary spend back toward value offerings.

30.74mentions per 10,000 articles+33.0%share change vs prior year

Mapped consumer goods categories

  • Internet First Brands113
  • B2C Grocery Delivery12
  • Uber For Grocery Delivery12

Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.

Quarterly share of San Francisco coverage

Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline

0142842562024Q3: 162024Q32024Q4: 392024Q42025Q1: 162025Q12025Q2: 162025Q22025Q3: 482025Q32025Q4: 292025Q42026Q1: 252026Q1
View quarterly signal counts
Layoffs & income shocks in San Francisco coverage
QuarterMentionsPer 10,000 articles
2024Q33116.44
2024Q46839.78
2025Q14116.41
2025Q22116.17
2025Q35748.27
2025Q42629.0
2026Q14225.36

Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography

Seattle97.5 / 10,000
St. Louis66.7 / 10,000
Minneapolis47.4 / 10,000
SPENDING PRESSUREInflation & spending pressure-50.0percentile-point gap
THE OPERATING HYPOTHESIS

Sustained price pressure can shift spending toward value formats.

11.53mentions per 10,000 articles-32.5%share change vs prior year

Mapped consumer goods categories

  • B2C E-Commerce80
  • B2C Grocery Delivery12
  • Uber For Grocery Delivery12

Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.

Quarterly share of San Francisco coverage

Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline

071320272024Q3: 182024Q32024Q4: 182024Q42025Q1: 122025Q12025Q2: 232025Q22025Q3: 152025Q32025Q4: 142025Q42026Q1: 72026Q1
View quarterly signal counts
Inflation & spending pressure in San Francisco coverage
QuarterMentionsPer 10,000 articles
2024Q33418.04
2024Q43218.72
2025Q13012.01
2025Q23023.1
2025Q31815.24
2025Q41314.5
2026Q1137.85

Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography

Lebanon70.3 / 10,000
New York City40.6 / 10,000
Cleveland37.5 / 10,000
RESEARCH & CHANGING CONVERSATIONS

Related research and changing coverage

San Francisco consumer goods coverage

Expand panel +
RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2020

Higher Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Retail Prices After Excise Taxes in Oakland and San Francisco

American Journal of Public Health

68 citations in the snapshot

RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2019

Healthy Retail as a Strategy for Improving Food Security and the Built Environment in San Francisco

American Journal of Public Health

17 citations in the snapshot

RESEARCH CONTEXT · 2018

Merchant Attitudes Toward a Healthy Food Retailer Incentive Program in a Low-Income San Francisco Neighborhood

International Quarterly of Community Health Education

12 citations in the snapshot

What is growing in this coverage

the United States coverage of this page's demand families

KeywordRecent articlesPrior articlesShare change
patent infringement394241923.3%
cyber liability254251152.2%
privacy policies20724963.0%
arbitration clause17022852.3%
ip litigation54772836.3%
antitrust investigations63587799.5%

Share changes describe coverage in the stated comparison periods, not search demand or market size.

UNDERSTAND THE LANDSCAPE

Consumer Goods in San Francisco: key questions

Clear definitions for making better comparisons.

What does this landscape measure?

It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.

Can segment counts be added together?

No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.

What does a missing figure mean?

A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.

Company ecosystem snapshot: 1 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.

Canonical landscape ↗
Coming soon