Industry landscapes
Industry report

Funding and advertised pay are reported in USD; filed accounts retain their stated source currency and basis.

Exchange-rate basis

Indicative conversions use ECB reference rates dated 2026-09-14, applied consistently across all periods. They are not historical exchange rates. Indian rupees may use crore (1 crore = 10 million); other currencies use K, M and B. CSV downloads, source documents and quoted news headlines retain their original currencies.

THE BOSTON EDITION 2026

Boston’s
financial services industry,
in focus.

The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in Boston. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

Snapshot: Funding in USD
Illustrated cover for Financial Services Industry Landscape of Boston
US
COMPANIES · CAPITAL · TALENT

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.

Financial Services illustration
MEET THE COMPANIES

Explore Boston’s financial services leaders

24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.

Expand panel +
Financial Services company highlights in Boston, snapshot 2 September 2026
Company
THL Creditthlcredit.com$3.25B———
SPDR Gold Sharesspdrgoldshares.com$914M———
STAG Industrialstagindustrial.com$875M—95Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Plymouth Industrial REITplymouthreit.com$445M—44$198.35MFYFY2024 filing
NFS Leasingnfsleasing.com$135M—49—
CFGIcfgi.com$73.02M—993—
Sungage Financialsungage.com$53.51M—71—
DRS Holdings$41.49M———
Fidelity Investmentsfidelity.com—12 roles44,038—
State Streetstatestreet.com—12 roles46,000$13.94BFYFY2025 filing
Pyramid Global Hospitalitypyramidglobal.com—11 roles3,739—
MFS Investment Managementmfs.com—10 roles2,706—
American Toweramericantower.com—9 roles5,643$495.7MFYFY2020 filing
Boston Propertiesbostonproperties.com—8 roles1,176—
Plymouth Rock Assuranceplymouthrock.com—8 roles1,954—
mass bay credit unionmassbaycu.org—8 roles55—
Acadian Assetacadian-asset.com————
AllianzGIallianzgi.com——2,907—
Beaconbeaconcommunitiesllc.com——528—
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusettsbluecrossma.org——3,181—
Brookline Bancorpbrooklinebancorp.com——806Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
DentaQuestdentaquest.com——2,400—
John Hancockjohnhancock.com——67—
Liberty Mutual Insurancelibertymutualgroup.com——34,618—
24 featured companies

Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗

Company discovery

Recorded evidence only

Explore the live startup set in Radar

No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.

Explore classified startups in Radar ↗
THE KEY SIGNALS

Financial Services industry KPIs in Boston

A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.

2 September 2026
Hiring participation13.6%

63 of 464 tracked companies have open roles.

Funding participation8.0%

37 of 464 tracked companies have a recorded round.

Top 3 funding share84.0%

Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.

Median disclosed round$10M

Midpoint of 51 rounds with a disclosed amount.

Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 84.0% of disclosed capital, while 92.0% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.

Explore the segments →
CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATION

How Boston financial services has grown

Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.

Expand panel +
2016 — 2025

Disclosed funding by year

Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD

Boston financial services
$0$523.54M$1.05B$1.57B$2.09B2016: $260M20162017: $1.84B20172018: $1.57B20182019: $980.83M20192020: $914.9M20202021: $28.87M20212022: $57.64M20222023: $20.7M20232024: $91.4M20242025: $23.75M2025
View the numbers
Annual financial services funding and company formation in Boston
YearFunding (USD)FoundedRaising
2016$260M177
2017$1.84B61
2018$1.57B245
2019$980.83M156
2020$914.9M123
2021$28.87M44
2022$57.64M65
2023$20.7M54
2024$91.4M23
2025$23.75M03
WHERE CAPITAL SITS

Funding concentration

Share of all disclosed company funding.

  • THL Credit54.2%
  • SPDR Gold Shares15.2%
  • STAG Industrial14.6%
  • Other companies16.0%

Funding by stage

61 recorded rounds since 2016

NUMBER OF ROUNDS
Seed & Angel12 19.7%
Series A–B14 23.0%
Series C+ / PE6 9.8%
Grants, debt & other29 47.5%

Recent recorded rounds

Latest recorded rounds · USD
2 rounds

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Conventional Debt03/2026
Lumint $500K

Backed by .

Largest and notable recorded rounds

Each card is one recorded round
10 cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Series C02/2018
CFGIcfgi.com$73.02M

Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.

Series C12/2019
DRS Holdings$41.49M

Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.

Series A07/2022
ndvrndvr.com$19M

Backed by LaunchCapital and Polaris Partners.

THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITY

Revenue, profitability & financial strength

Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.

Expand panel +
USD · millions · consolidated

Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.

FY2025 · company accounts; aggregate reporting threshold not met · 2 reporting entities from 12 eligible matches.

Revenue in covered accounts—

Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not Boston market sales.

Net profit / loss—

Combined result for the same cohort.

Aggregate net margin—

Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.

Median company revenue—

The middle covered reporting entity.

Profitable entities—

None of 2 covered entities.

Top-five concentration—

Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.

Annual account trend

Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.

Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.

Profitability has two perspectives

FY2025 · 2 reporting entities

Open the company accounts

Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.

2 reporting entities
Continue your financial research in Radar

Explore full company accounts and filings.

View financials in Radar ↗
BOSTON · INDUSTRY COHORTS

How does financial services compare?

Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.

IndustryCovered / eligibleRevenue totalMedian revenueNet profit / lossAggregate marginProfitable shareOverlap

Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.

Coverage, calculations & financial sources

Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.

The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.

Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.

DIGITAL FOOTPRINT

Web traffic, app reach and release cadence

How the Boston companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.

Busiest websites

9 of the 464 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (1.9%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 561,978 visits.

Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.

Most-installed apps

27 of these companies (5.8%) publish at least one Android app — 37 apps in all, carrying 14.7M installs between them.

Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.

App reach by segment

The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2026Q2).

SegmentAppsInstallsLeading appRelease trend
Asset Management1710.1MFidelity Investments 9.5M
Banks112.5MSantander Bank US 2.2M
Insurance Carriers112.4MSafeco Mobile 1.4M

A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.

Release cadence by quarter

New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.

2023Q1: 12023Q1: 02023Q12023Q2: 12023Q2: 02023Q22023Q4: 12023Q4: 02023Q42024Q2: 22024Q2: 02024Q22024Q4: 12024Q4: 12024Q42025Q2: 22025Q2: 12025Q22025Q3: 12025Q3: 22025Q3

Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 35 of 37 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2025Q3, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.

INSIDE THE INDUSTRY

The Boston financial services market map

Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.

Expand panel +

Where companies are building

Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.

Nbfc lenders23
Inc 50006
Enterprise tech6
Fintech5

Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.

SEGMENT TO EXPLORE

Nbfc lenders

The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.

23companies
4.3%have hiring activity

1 companies hiring · $3.44B disclosed funding

Explore in Radar

How companies make money

Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.

Fee-for-service273
Commission on transaction157
E-commerce - service33
Subscription29
Advertising26
Lending23
E-commerce - product11
Renting / leasing10
THE COMPANIES IN MOTION

Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work

Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.

Expand panel +
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Mergers & acquisitionsbostontrustwalden.com ↗

Boston Trust Walden Corp acquired a new stake in Dynatrace, Inc. (NYSE:DT – Free Report) during the 4th quarter, according to its most recent filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Mergers & acquisitionsstancecap.com ↗

Stance Capital LLC bought a new stake in Simon Property Group in the third quarter valued at approximately $26,000.

Mergers & acquisitionsacadian-asset.com ↗

Acadian Asset Management LLC increased its stake in Steel Dynamics by 82.7% in the 1st quarter and now owns 3,485 shares of the basic materials company’s stock worth $435,000

Mergers & acquisitionsgordonbrothers.com ↗

the brand management arm of Gordon Brothers snapping up shoe brand LK Bennett

Mergers & acquisitionsallianzgi.com ↗

DNV acted as technical advisor to TotalEnergies in the sale of a 50 percent stake in a large battery storage portfolio in Germany to Allianz Global Investors, in a deal valued at approximately EUR 500 million.

Funding roundssite.danestreet.com ↗

Quad-C Management, a middle market private equity firm, announced an investment in Dane Street

Mergers & acquisitionsstatestreet.com ↗

State Street Corp increased its position in shares of CVS Health by 0.3% during the third quarter. State Street Corp now owns 58,938,286 shares of the pharmacy operator’s stock worth $4,443,357,000 after acquiring an additional 149,701 shares in the last quarter.

Mergers & acquisitionscongressasset.com ↗

Congress Asset Management Co. acquired a new stake in Advanced Energy Industries, Inc. (NASDAQ:AEIS – Free Report) in the fourth quarter, according to the company in its most recent 13F filing with the SEC.

Mergers & acquisitionsgeodecapital.com ↗

Geode Capital Management LLC lifted its holdings in shares of Bel Fuse by 2.6% in the second quarter.

Mergers & acquisitionsflagshipharbor.com ↗

Flagship Harbor Advisors LLC acquired a new position in shares of Capital Group Core Plus Income ETF in the third quarter valued at approximately $202,000.

Full recorded event mix

Top 10 categories among 625 recorded events in the 24-month window.

Leadership moves
146
Earnings
135
Mergers & acquisitions
134
Asset acquisitions
110
Company announcements
27
Contracts
18
Funding rounds
16
New products
15
Lawsuit
5
Fundraising
5
7 activity cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

IPO pipeline

1 companies with recorded IPO activity

SKK ↗

IPO · NASDAQ1 reports

Leadership moves

55 tracked people moves

Rob Marsh

Appointment President of Global Risk Solutions (GRS) North America Specialty division

Jacqui Canney

Appointment Board Director

Raymond Meijer

Promotion Partner

Chad Benoit

Promotion Senior Partner

Elliott Seaborn

Appointment Chief Marketing Officer (CMO) of Independent Agency Group

Adam Winn

Appointment Co-Presidents of LMI

Jonathan Davis

Appointment Executive Chairman

Stephen Davis

Appointment Chief Executive Officer

Regulatory events

1 recorded events

Anchor ↗

licensed

Litigation

4 tracked suits

Company
american tower v dish

failure to make tower rental payments / contractual obligationsCivil · Ongoing

Company
ALT5 Sigma Corporation v wellington, Jean-Francois Amyot, Hugues Benoit, Prime Delta

LitigationCivil · Settled

Earnings pulse

Reported company results in the recorded window.

15companies
151period observations
7.5%median reported growth

Median across 67 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.

Mergers and acquisitions

Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.

Acquirer → targetStatusDateValue / context
Boston Trust Walden Company→dynatraceAnnounced2026-04-22$50.0M
Bain Capital→aptia2026-04-20Not stated in snapshot
Stancecap→simon property groupCompleted2026-04-12$26.0K
Acadian Asset→steel dynamicsAnnounced2026-04-10$435.0K
ares management→Plymouth Industrial REIT ↗Announced2026-04-09$2.1B
Gordon Brothers→LK BennettAnnounced2026-04-02Not stated in snapshot

A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.

PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITY

The talent market

3,715 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 6,780-posting snapshot covers 72 employers.

Expand panel +

Most advertised job titles

Front Desk Agent84
Room Attendant77
Internal Medicine Physician70
Field Property Claims Adjuster70
Ophthalmology Physician44
Account Manager41
0 internship postings

83 tracked postings mention remote work.

The seniority mix

2,756 postings specify a level.

unspecified
4,024
manager
1,452
senior
842
lead
253
intern
135
entry
74

Skills employers mention

Top skills across 6,780 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.

Excel
97
Python
44
Sql
40
Word
38
Microsoft Office
32
Aws
31
Java
24
Google Drive
24
Outlook
24
Powerpoint
23
ADVERTISED PAY$85.0K/ year

Median across 774 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.

Salary by seniority

manager$106.2K/ year266 postings
senior$85.2K/ year93 postings
lead$140.0K/ year37 postings

Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.

THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELD

Founders and leaders

190 founders and chief executives across 149 companies.

Expand panel +
12 profiles

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Education networks

22 profiles with education records.

Harvard Business School
7
Harvard University
6
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
4
Cornell University
3
Wharton School
2
University of Pennsylvania
2
New York University
2
University of Toronto
1

Prior employers

3 profiles with prior-work records.

Morgan Stanley
1
Amazon
1
McKinsey
1

Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.

NEWS INTELLIGENCE

How this industry appears in the news

38,694 articles in the measured 12-month window.

Expand panel +
38,694articles in the measured year
5,239articles in 2026Q2
61.2%positive tone in the latest complete year

News volume trends

Financial Services coverage tagged Boston · articles per complete quarter

05,39810,79616,19321,5912021Q2: 10,5812021Q22021Q3: 12,4062021Q4: 9,6472022Q1: 10,9972022Q2: 11,5122022Q22022Q3: 11,2202022Q4: 10,8342023Q1: 11,5642023Q2: 13,2952023Q22023Q3: 10,4992023Q4: 11,1112024Q1: 14,3452024Q2: 13,4872024Q22024Q3: 12,4312024Q4: 13,3542025Q1: 18,7752025Q2: 12,6362025Q22025Q3: 13,3222025Q4: 9,8032026Q1: 10,3302026Q2: 5,2392026Q2
View quarterly article counts
QuarterArticles
2021Q210,581
2021Q312,406
2021Q49,647
2022Q110,997
2022Q211,512
2022Q311,220
2022Q410,834
2023Q111,564
2023Q213,295
2023Q310,499
2023Q411,111
2024Q114,345
2024Q213,487
2024Q312,431
2024Q413,354
2025Q118,775
2025Q212,636
2025Q313,322
2025Q49,803
2026Q110,330
2026Q25,239

Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.

Tone of coverage over time

2021
22,869 positive · 514 neutral · 11,402 negative
2022
29,048 positive · 687 neutral · 14,739 negative
2023
30,247 positive · 603 neutral · 15,531 negative
2024
36,056 positive · 759 neutral · 16,703 negative
2025
33,318 positive · 848 neutral · 20,266 negative

Leading coverage topics

Financial Services coverage tagged Boston · ranked by full-period article count.

Administrative And Political Subdivisions4,359,394 articles in the full recorded period
929,770 recent · 795,452 prior
Geopolitical Disputes And Contested Areas320,888 articles in the full recorded period
106,788 recent · 82,223 prior
International And Transnational Geographic Entities320,721 articles in the full recorded period
106,735 recent · 82,154 prior
Cryptocurrency Impact On Forex Markets235,672 articles in the full recorded period
62,307 recent · 62,419 prior
International Political Relations229,321 articles in the full recorded period
59,667 recent · 58,162 prior
Security And Defense Policies163,673 articles in the full recorded period
47,390 recent · 40,421 prior
Professional League Updates159,324 articles in the full recorded period
35,556 recent · 38,726 prior
Athlete Transfer Rumors116,408 articles in the full recorded period
26,576 recent · 29,688 prior
Patent Law & Innovation Protection114,401 articles in the full recorded period
235 recent · 28,813 prior
International Relations And Diplomacy102,516 articles in the full recorded period
24,178 recent · 26,630 prior

Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.

Topics gaining and losing attention

United States comparison coverage

KeywordRecentPriorChange
investment deal10,6573,498205%
stablecoin fx impact10,5427,47041%
etf trading6,8653,94774%
private equity6,4711,648293%
oil price volatility6,3083,81565%
share price5,9683,36677%
etfs5,9573,42474%
sector etfs5,7153,30573%
etf structures5,3852,98181%
etf products5,3132,85886%
patent claims14128,788-100%
patent prosecution14128,787-100%
patent examination13928,774-100%
litigation defenses11428,766-100%
tariff negotiations14,84225,875-43%

Event and signal lenses

United States comparison coverage

All complete annual cohorts shown
Rising

Regulatory Risk

3,333,458 classified articles

territories, disputed islands, monetary easing

44.8% critical · 25.2% positive
Rising

Funding Momentum

660,994 classified articles

inflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, trade deficits fx

39.9% critical · 41.4% positive
Rising

Growth

935,055 classified articles

gdp growth forex, earnings report, inflation reports fx

38.8% critical · 40.9% positive

Financial Services coverage tagged Boston. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.

UNDERSTAND THE LANDSCAPE

Financial Services in Boston: key questions

Clear definitions for making better comparisons.

What does this landscape measure?

It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.

Can segment counts be added together?

No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.

What does a missing figure mean?

A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.

Company ecosystem snapshot: 2 September 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.

Canonical landscape ↗
Coming soon