Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
New York City’s
investment industry industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping investment industry in New York City. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore New York City’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore New York City’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyRecently founded independent companies
- Working CapitalFounded 2024 · workingcap.co
- Castor KeyFounded 2025 · castorkey.com
- ValinorFounded 2025 · valinordigital.com
Recently founded means a recorded 2023–2026 founding year and no recorded parent, acquirer or public-company status. These companies are not labelled startups without that separate classification.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Investment Industry industry KPIs in New York City
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
111 of 2,230 tracked companies have open roles.
74 of 2,230 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 79 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 89.1% of disclosed capital, while 96.7% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow New York City investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How New York City investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $3.39B | 77 | 6 |
| 2017 | $71.45M | 108 | 6 |
| 2018 | $845.91M | 107 | 7 |
| 2019 | $1.75B | 110 | 7 |
| 2020 | $507.7M | 167 | 6 |
| 2021 | $613.05M | 151 | 5 |
| 2022 | $277.64M | 84 | 5 |
| 2023 | $2.81M | 66 | 4 |
| 2024 | $19.07M | 42 | 5 |
| 2025 | $533.83M | 18 | 13 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- GoldenTree42.6%
- FirstKey Mortgage40.3%
- Vanbarton Group6.2%
- Other companies10.9%
Funding by stage
98 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in investment industry company rounds since 2016.
- 01Europa 5 rounds
- 02Morgan Stanley 3 rounds
- 03Goldman Sachs 2 rounds
- 04BCS Global Markets 1 rounds
- 05StoneX 1 rounds
- 06Siebert 1 rounds
- 07Investcorp 1 rounds
- 08Castle Island Ventures 1 rounds
- 09WTSL 1 rounds
- 010Stony Lonesome Group 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by .
Backed by .
Backed by .
Backed by WTSL.
Backed by .
Backed by .
Backed by Affiliated Managers Group.
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Castle Island Ventures and Paul B Prager and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · annual statements grouped by reported fiscal year; exact entity periods remain on preview rows · 12 reporting entities from 95 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not New York City market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
2 of 12 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 12 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J P Morgan ↗19617 | $182,447.0m | $57,048.0m | +31.3% | — | — |
| Empower ↗1822928 | $613.5m | $19.2m | +3.1% | — | — |
| Motion Acquisition ↗1822359 | $322.2m | $-182.4m | -56.6% | — | — |
| Trebia Acquisition ↗1805833 | $266.1m | $-65.3m | -24.6% | — | — |
| Mavik Capital Management ↗1674356 | $35.4m | $-27.8m | -78.5% | — | — |
| Western Acquisition Ventures ↗1868419 | $15.1m | $-23.7m | -156.4% | — | — |
| Insight Acquisition Corp ↗1862463 | $0.0m | $-8.0m | -112373.7% | — | — |
| InFinT Acquisition ↗1862935 | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar | Financial figure available in Radar |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does investment industry compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the New York City companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
12 of the 2,230 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (0.5%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 332,223 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Museum of Modern Artmoma.org | 2,811,332 | 73 | 43.8% |
| Multicultural Innovation Labmorganstanley.com | 2,664,571 | 65 | 29.8% |
| BlackRockblackrock.com | 2,200,815 | 65 | 41.1% |
| Goldman Sachsgoldmansachs.com | 1,326,834 | 64 | 50.7% |
| American Museum of Natural Historyamnh.org | 1,214,724 | 70 | 50.6% |
| StockStorystockstory.org | 336,984 | 48 | 40.3% |
| Asia Societyasiasociety.org | 327,463 | 56 | 35.6% |
| The Film Society of Lincoln Centerfilmlinc.org | 278,787 | 50 | 52.8% |
| TRStrsnyc.org | 186,299 | 40 | 47.5% |
| Environmental Defense Fundedf.org | 174,915 | 49 | 47.5% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
17 of these companies (0.8%) publish at least one Android app — 35 apps in all, carrying 2.2M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Explorer - AMNH NYCAmerican Museum of Natural History | 699.8K | 4 | Education |
| Morgan Stanley Wealth MgmtMulticultural Innovation Lab | 439.1K | 3 | Finance |
| J.P. Morgan Personal InvestingJ P Morgan | 273.6K | 4.4 | Finance |
| ShareworksMulticultural Innovation Lab | 225.5K | 3 | Finance |
| Stock PlanMulticultural Innovation Lab | 199.9K | 1.7 | Finance |
| New York Public Library (NYPL)New York Public Library | 63.6K | 4 | Books & Reference |
| UNJSPF Digital CEUnited Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund | 54.6K | 4.6 | Productivity |
| Morgan Stanley ResearchMulticultural Innovation Lab | 54K | 4 | Finance |
| J.P. Morgan Retirement LinkJ P Morgan | 53.3K | 4.3 | Finance |
| BlackRock EventsBlackRock | 29.2K | 5 | Business |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q3–2026Q1).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accelerators & Incubators | 8 | 949.9K | Morgan Stanley Wealth Mgmt 439.1K | |
| Limited Partners | 17 | 893K | Explorer - AMNH NYC 699.8K | |
| Investment Banks | 9 | 357.6K | J.P. Morgan Personal Investing 273.6K | |
| Banks | 7 | 344.3K | J.P. Morgan Retirement Link 53.3K | |
| Asset Management | 4 | 53.2K | BlackRock Events 29.2K | |
| Service Providers To Banks | 2 | 39.9K | BlackRock Institutional 10.7K | |
| Investment Consultants | 3 | 13.3K | GS PWM 11.4K | |
| Private Debt Funds | 2 | 13.3K | Goldman Sachs Authenticator 1.9K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 35 of 35 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe New York City investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The New York City investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Social impact funds
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
7 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
In February, the Singapore-based private equity firm completed the sale of Burger King's Japanese operation to Goldman Sachs.
Wolverine Asset Management LLC bought a new position in shares of StoneBridge Acquisition Co. (NASDAQ:APAC – Free Report) during the 4th quarter, according to the company in its most recent Form 13F filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The firm bought 501,429 shares of the company’s stock, valued at approximately $4,989,000. Wolverine Asset Management LLC owned approximately 6.23% of StoneBridge Acquisition as of its most recent SEC filing.
Rockingstone Advisors LLC increased its stake in shares of Philip Morris International by 8.1% during the fourth quarter. Rockingstone Advisors LLC now owns 20,217 shares of the company’s stock worth $3,243,000 after acquiring an additional 1,507 shares during the period.
Consulting.us Chatham Financial, an independent capital markets advisory and technology firm, has agreed to acquire Hodes Weill & Associates, a New York-based capital advisory firm focusing on real estate, infrastructure, and other real assets.
The acquisition supports American Express’ strategy to expand beyond transaction processing into broader B2B payments workflows.
Morgan Stanley Asia bough 12 lakh shares for the same floor price, aggregating up to nearly Rs 56 crore
Leading Canadian media company Corus Entertainment today announced that its wholly-owned subsidiary, Nelvana Limited, has entered into a definitive agreement with Integrated Media Company, a TPG platform dedicated to the new media ecosystem, which will acquire Nelvana’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Montreal-based animation software company Toon Boom Animation, for approximately $147.5 million CAD in cash.
ValueAct announced it was taking a stake in the asset manager in February.
Accenture has acquired Keepler Data Tech, a Spanish cloud-native AI and data company.
Ownership of Latin-inspired food processor Teasdale Foods Inc. has transitioned to a new ownership group led by affiliates of Knighthead Capital Management LLC, according to a release shared today.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 1,924 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
8 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO2 reports
IPO3 reports
SPAC · Nasdaq1 reports
IPO1 reports
Follow-on Offering1 reports
IPO · NASDAQ1 reports
IPO1 reports
SPAC · Nasdaq Global Market1 reports
Leadership moves
217 tracked people moves
Appointment Japan representative and head of business development
Resignation Previously Managing Director, Asset Management Division, Goldman Sachs
Appointment Global Head of AI Product Management and Strategic Relations
Appointment EMEA Lead Sustainability Services
Appointment Global Utilities Industry Lead
Appointment Previously Chief Banking Officer
Appointment Managing Director
Resignation Previously Senior HSBC DCM banker
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Cybersecurity AI Solution
Data & AI
Education
Investment product
AI
Commerce media advertising platform
Credit Card
Tartan
Contract wins
52 recorded customer wins
Customer: Commercial real estate
Customer: Samsung HIVLGCs
Customer: Labor Kutxa
Customer: Sovereign AITechnology
Customer: ecopetrol
Customer: Harrison Street Asset ManagementReal Estate
Workforce actions
7 companies with reported reductions
250 rolesheadcount reduction
2,500 rolescost reduction
Scale not stated rolesAI-led offerings
Scale not stated rolesAI
Scale not stated rolescost reduction
4,000 rolescost reduction
Regulatory events
60 recorded events
under initial assessmentAustralian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)
approved for construction
fined for failing to keep records of electronic communicationsREMIT
received show cause noticeSecurities & Exchange Board of India (SEBI)
Litigation
18 tracked suits
breach of oral agreementCivil · Ongoing
breach of contractCivil · Dismissed
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 338 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goldman Sachs→industry ventures | Completed | 2026-06-01 | $965.0M |
| Goldman Sachs→Burger King\'s Japanese operation | Completed | 2026-05-05 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Wolverine Asset Management LLC→StoneBridge ↗ | 2026-05-04 | $5.0M | |
| FinTech Innovation Lab→ziff davis | Announced | 2026-05-04 | $1.2B |
| Goldman Sachs→united capital financial | Completed | 2026-05-04 | Not stated in snapshot |
| chatham financial→Hodes Weill ↗ | Announced | 2026-04-27 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
19,387 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 26,270-posting snapshot covers 155 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
19,387 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 26,270-posting snapshot covers 155 employers.
Most advertised job titles
3,102 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
10,353 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 26,270 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 6,191 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Goldman Sachs ↗ | 36,600 |
| BlackRock ↗ | 19,800 |
| United Nations Population Fund ↗ | 7,466 |
| Motion Acquisition ↗ | 4,100 |
| New York Public Library ↗ | 2,669 |
| salomon brothers ↗ | 1,749 |
| American Museum of Natural History ↗ | 1,681 |
| Good Shepherd Services ↗ | 1,661 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
2,177 founders and chief executives across 1,458 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
2,177 founders and chief executives across 1,458 companies.
Jonathan Sachs
GoldenTree ↗Ex-Director-UBS. Tulane University - A.B. Freeman School of Business BS.
Daniel Wallace
FirstKey Mortgage ↗Conversion Capital, Merchant Bridge Finance, ex-Capital Crossing. Carnegie Mellon University BS 1991
Clayton DeGiacinto
Axonic Capital ↗Mortgage Trading, Goldman Sachs & Co. United States Military Academy BS, University of Pennsylvania, The Wharton School MBA
Sunder Jambunathan
Certes Partners ↗Co-Founder CardNinja, ex-Deutsche Bank, REEF. Georgetown University The McDonough School of Business
David Cotterman
Drake Real Estate Partners ↗Ex-MSD Capital, Urban Partners. the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania BS 1999, Harvard Business School MBA 2005
Eric Hadar
Allied Partners ↗Allied Partners, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Greg Caso
Castor Key ↗ex-The Carlyle Group, Bank of America Merrill Lynch · University of Pennsylvania BE 2015, Stanford University Graduate School of Business MBA 2021
Jacky He
DMG ↗Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jeff Kelly
OceanSound Partners ↗Ex-Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley. Washington University in St. Louis BS 1996, Northwestern University - Kellogg School of Management 2002
Ara Cohen
Knighthead Capital Management ↗Ex-Redwood Capital Management, King Street Capital Management, Tamarix Capital Corporation, Brown Brothers Harriman. Bowdoin College BA
Gordon McLaughlin
Element8 ↗Ex-Co-Founder Development Capital Partners, THL Partners, JP Morgan. Indiana University Bloomington BS, Columbia Business School MBA 2011
John Salib
Castellan Real Estate Partners ↗Founder Landmark Advisors, Salomon Smith Barney. Colgate University BA, Columbia Business School MBA
Education networks
549 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
122 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
54,224 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
54,224 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Investment Industry coverage tagged New York City · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 7,893 |
| 2021Q3 | 9,997 |
| 2021Q4 | 8,452 |
| 2022Q1 | 9,933 |
| 2022Q2 | 9,324 |
| 2022Q3 | 9,287 |
| 2022Q4 | 8,432 |
| 2023Q1 | 9,642 |
| 2023Q2 | 11,116 |
| 2023Q3 | 9,953 |
| 2023Q4 | 10,966 |
| 2024Q1 | 13,244 |
| 2024Q2 | 12,262 |
| 2024Q3 | 11,064 |
| 2024Q4 | 13,009 |
| 2025Q1 | 15,318 |
| 2025Q2 | 10,563 |
| 2025Q3 | 15,699 |
| 2025Q4 | 11,094 |
| 2026Q1 | 16,329 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
3,855 recorded company events across 96 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Investment Industry coverage tagged New York City · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
United States comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| stock performance | 22,381 | 15,840 | 41% |
| investment deal | 11,020 | 2,187 | 404% |
| stablecoin fx impact | 10,149 | 4,558 | 123% |
| stock price | 8,793 | 3,726 | 136% |
| foreign policy analysis | 6,842 | 4,619 | 48% |
| national security strategy | 6,697 | 2,923 | 129% |
| multilateral diplomacy | 6,615 | 4,112 | 61% |
| private equity | 6,173 | 1,007 | 513% |
| share price | 5,657 | 1,904 | 197% |
| decentralized forex | 5,319 | 2,760 | 93% |
| flood stage forecasting | 654 | 9,903 | -93% |
| hydrologic risk modeling | 87 | 9,481 | -99% |
| severe weather warning | 1,891 | 4,764 | -60% |
| coastal flooding study | 619 | 4,694 | -87% |
| flood control measures | 314 | 3,544 | -91% |
Event and signal lenses
United States comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
2,670,381 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, stock performance
42.7% critical · 26.8% positiveFunding Momentum
582,279 classified articlesinvestment deal, inflation reports fx, currency intervention policies
40.0% critical · 49.1% positiveGrowth
848,455 classified articlesearnings report, cannabis industry regulations, legal cannabis sales
36.2% critical · 44.7% positiveInvestment Industry coverage tagged New York City. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Investment Industry in New York City: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 6 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗