Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
the United Kingdom’s
investment industry industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping investment industry in the United Kingdom. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore the United Kingdom’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore the United Kingdom’s investment industry leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Investment Industry industry KPIs in the United Kingdom
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
107 of 5,053 tracked companies have open roles.
115 of 5,053 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 185 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 53.8% of disclosed capital, while 97.7% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow the United Kingdom investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How the United Kingdom investment industry has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $139.09M | 258 | 11 |
| 2017 | $214.96M | 258 | 9 |
| 2018 | $876.83M | 269 | 13 |
| 2019 | $915.73M | 251 | 16 |
| 2020 | $909.55M | 303 | 20 |
| 2021 | $1.72B | 239 | 20 |
| 2022 | $662.42M | 154 | 11 |
| 2023 | $536.61M | 115 | 14 |
| 2024 | $311.42M | 82 | 10 |
| 2025 | $90.19M | 21 | 5 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- EBRD25.9%
- Crossbay18.6%
- Mantra Capital9.3%
- Other companies46.2%
Funding by stage
221 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in investment industry company rounds since 2016.
- 01Europa 81 rounds
- 02Gov 5 rounds
- 03British Business Investments 2 rounds
- 04HSBC 2 rounds
- 05Lloyds Bank 2 rounds
- 06Legal & General 2 rounds
- 07EquiSoft 1 rounds
- 08Synova Capital 1 rounds
- 09SunBridge Capital Management 1 rounds
- 010Orangewood Partners 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by .
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundParticipating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by CPP Investments.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Prytek.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Anthemis Group and Alven and others.
Backed by Synova Capital.
Backed by Space Angels.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · annual statements grouped by reported fiscal year; exact entity periods remain on preview rows · 17 reporting entities from 891 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not the United Kingdom market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
7 of 17 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 17 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illiquidx ↗09617701 | £222.0m | £2.0m | +0.9% | — | — |
| Fortem Capital ↗10042702 | £7.3m | £2.5m | +33.6% | — | — |
| Clearcapitalmarkets ↗09294557 | £3.6m | £0.4m | +12.2% | — | — |
| Calthorpe Estates ↗08432600 | £3.3m | £-0.0m | -0.0% | — | — |
| Citygrove ↗04757585 | £1.5m | £-0.1m | -8.0% | — | — |
| Delancey ↗13863012 | £0.9m | £-0.6m | -75.9% | — | — |
| Quob Park ↗04797361 | £0.5m | £0.1m | +23.3% | — | — |
| CubicStone ↗10503741 | £0.4m | £0.0m | +8.6% | — | — |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does investment industry compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the the United Kingdom companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
14 of the 5,054 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (0.3%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 351,550 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cancer Researchcancerresearchuk.org | 3,452,429 | 72 | 84.7% |
| Nestnestpensions.org.uk | 2,884,046 | 55 | 81.1% |
| fidelity internationalfidelity.co.uk | 1,310,973 | 55 | 49.1% |
| Teachers Pensionsteacherspensions.co.uk | 562,173 | 46 | 83.3% |
| Rightbizrightbiz.co.uk | 479,111 | 34 | 75.1% |
| Ukriukri.org | 475,289 | 51 | 24.7% |
| Lancashire County Councillancashire.gov.uk | 471,239 | 54 | 73.3% |
| Third Bridgethirdbridge.com | 231,862 | 37 | 40.4% |
| Royal Societyroyalsociety.org | 214,212 | 51 | 32.2% |
| Schrodersschroders.com | 189,048 | 48 | 53.9% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
26 of these companies (0.5%) publish at least one Android app — 29 apps in all, carrying 858K installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| My Medicash AppMedicash | 335.9K | — | Health & Fitness |
| Nest PensionsNest | 242K | — | Finance |
| Fidelity - Manage Investmentsfidelity international | 165.5K | — | Finance |
| Fidelity PlanViewerfidelity international | 90.2K | 4.8 | Finance |
| BestinvestBestinvest | 9.3K | — | Finance |
| MyUtmostUtmost Life and Pensions | 3.8K | — | Finance |
| The Analyst AppThe Analyst | 2.1K | — | Finance |
| Shackleton EngageShackleton - Britain’s financial adviser | 2.1K | — | Finance |
| Rightbiz SellerAppRightbiz | 1.5K | — | Communication |
| S:Connect AppSchroders | 1.2K | — | Business |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2026Q2).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Limited Partners | 7 | 584K | My Medicash App 335.9K | |
| Hedge Funds | 2 | 255.7K | Fidelity - Manage Investments 165.5K | |
| Investment Research Services | 3 | 12K | Bestinvest 9.3K | |
| Investment Consultants | 8 | 2.4K | Shackleton Engage 2.1K | |
| Accelerators & Incubators | 3 | 982 | Tramshed Tech 695 | |
| Investment Banks | 2 | 740 | GTIL Events 538 | |
| Private Equity Funds | 2 | 632 | Quob Park 625 |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 20 of 29 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2025Q4, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe the United Kingdom investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The the United Kingdom investment industry market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Social impact funds
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
12 companies hiring · $1.8B disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Business Wire India ATLAS participated as an exclusive Cornerstone investor in United Utilities’ equity placement, expanding its existing investment to establish a significant minority shareholding.
WisdomTree has completed the acquisition of Atlantic House, the London-based active investment firm focused on defined outcome and derivatives-led strategies.
Orszag described Campbell Lutyens as a 'premier global private markets advisor focused on fund placement, secondary advisory, and GP capital advisory services.' He said combining Campbell Lutyens with Lazard’s existing private capital advisory group would create 'the leading primary and secondary advisory business globally,' with 'approximately $500 million in anticipated combined 2027 revenue.' Lazard expects the transaction to close before the end of the calendar year.
Critical Metals Corp. announced the closing of the transfer of the remaining 50.5% interest in Tanbreez Mining Greenland A/S to Critical Metals Corp.
Private-equity backed MWA Financial has acquired Wiltshire-based Hawthorn Financial Services for an undisclosed amount.
Clarion Partners Europe snaps up BREEAM Excellent logistics hub in strategic ...
Amesto Global, a partner-owned international corporate services firm, has entered the Romanian market through the acquisition of Bucharest-based Ensight Finance
Source: Helical Bar today announces that its Barts Square scheme, held in joint venture with The Baupost Group LLC, has secured a new £165 mln (€210 mln) revolving credit facility from HSBC, refinancing £35 mln (€44mln) of existing debt, also from HSBC, due to be repaid in March 2015.
Trillium Partners has now raised over 83% of its initial capital requirement of £1.136 bln
The group, along with Infravia and Telefónica, announced it will acquire Substantial Group for £2 billion ($2.69bn) through their existing joint venture, nexfibre.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 1,245 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
3 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO · AIM1 reports
IPO · AIM1 reports
IPO activity · AIM1 reports
Leadership moves
139 tracked people moves
Appointment Chief Executive
Appointment Chair
Appointment Chief executive
Promotion Investment Director
Promotion Managing Director
Appointment Partner
Appointment Head of Client Group, Europe
Appointment Head of Finance
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Community Space
Accelerator Programme
AI consulting
Contract wins
26 recorded customer wins
Customer: virgin media o2Renewable Energy
Customer: Wind Energy
Customer: openaiTechnology
Customer: Logistics
Customer: ngenBESS financing
Customer: Claire’s Accessories and the Original Factory ShopRetail
Workforce actions
4 companies with reported reductions
800 rolescost reduction
600 rolescost reduction
200 rolescost reduction
100 rolescost reduction
Regulatory events
19 recorded events
approved transfer of 50.5% Tanbreez sharesGreenland
approved acquisition of remaining 50.5% interest in Tanbreez mineGreenland government
approved transfer of remaining project sharesGreenland authorities
Approved transfer of final 50.5% interestGovernment of Greenland
Litigation
11 tracked suits
oppression and mismanagement claim against Emerging MediaCivil · Ongoing
ex parte anti‑suit injunctionRegulatory · Filed
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 58 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liberty Global Ventures→vodafoneziggo | Announced | 2026-05-05 | Not stated in snapshot |
| lazard→Campbell Lutyens ↗ | Announced | 2026-05-04 | $575.0M |
| wisdomtree→Atlantic House ↗ | Completed | 2026-05-04 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Critical Metals→european lithium | Announced | 2026-04-30 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Critical Metals→Tanbreez Mining Greenland A/S | Completed | 2026-04-30 | Not stated in snapshot |
| MWA Financial→Hawthorn Financial Services | Completed | 2026-04-29 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
0 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 2-posting snapshot covers 2 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
0 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 2-posting snapshot covers 2 employers.
Most advertised job titles
0 tracked postings mention remote work.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 2 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| West Lothian Council ↗ | 2,567 |
| Worsley Investors ↗ | 2,100 |
| Ukri ↗ | 1,475 |
| Scottish Investment Bank ↗ | 1,268 |
| Hill Dickinson ↗ | 1,266 |
| Fairstone Group ↗ | 1,200 |
| Arts Council England ↗ | 1,029 |
| Volta Finance ↗ | 1,005 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
2,504 founders and chief executives across 2,324 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
2,504 founders and chief executives across 2,324 companies.
Sumiori Arima
Gore Street Energy Storage Fund ↗Kleinwort Benson, ex- RHJ International SA, JP Morgan, McKinsey & Company.
Daniel Szentirmai
Renewable Power Capital ↗Ex-GE Energy Financial Services, GE Capital. Corvinus University Budapest BA, University College London MA
Jeremy Dobson
Emerging Markets Global Advisory ↗Ex-Nova Capital Global Markets
Peter Ferrari
Ashby Capital ↗Heron International, London & Edinburgh Trust. Reading University Masters.
Jc Gonneau
Camden Associates ↗Institut d'Etudes politiques de Paris / Sciences Po Paris & Univ California SB
Cato Brahde
Tufton Oceanic ↗Brown & Root. Newcastle University Bsc, Boston University MSBA
Tom Stoughton
Legis ↗ex- Founder New Source Ambulatory, Growth Strategy Group, Lane Capital, Lodgian. University of Georgia School of Law 1983
Bimal Umeria
Delta Capita ↗Delta Capita, ex-Goldman Sachs, ex-Deutsche Bank, Brunel University, 1995
Kevan Bishonden
CapRelease ↗Co-Founder - CapRelease. University of Hertfordshire Bachelor of Science 2009
James Stevenson
Succession Advisory Services ↗ex-AXA, Logica, Aon, Accenture, Sesame Bankhall Group.
Paddy MccGwire
Silverpeak ↗Ex- Founder Cobalt Corporate Finance, 3i, STC. Alliance Manchester Business School BSc
Lee Hartley
Fairstone Group ↗Ex-Liveroom. Northumbria University BEng 1998
Education networks
508 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
95 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
807,932 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
807,932 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Investment Industry coverage across United Kingdom · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 104,677 |
| 2021Q3 | 113,532 |
| 2021Q4 | 100,983 |
| 2022Q1 | 118,407 |
| 2022Q2 | 112,726 |
| 2022Q3 | 113,294 |
| 2022Q4 | 122,303 |
| 2023Q1 | 128,676 |
| 2023Q2 | 129,154 |
| 2023Q3 | 137,341 |
| 2023Q4 | 123,300 |
| 2024Q1 | 139,648 |
| 2024Q2 | 144,161 |
| 2024Q3 | 146,364 |
| 2024Q4 | 152,512 |
| 2025Q1 | 214,763 |
| 2025Q2 | 159,656 |
| 2025Q3 | 398,034 |
| 2025Q4 | 114,685 |
| 2026Q1 | 147,883 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
1,222 recorded company events across 169 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Investment Industry coverage across United Kingdom · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Investment Industry coverage across United Kingdom
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| stock performance | 4,852 | 3,313 | 46% |
| tariff negotiations | 4,297 | 2,716 | 58% |
| countries | 4,192 | 1,862 | 125% |
| free trade deals | 2,321 | 1,197 | 94% |
| stock price | 2,063 | 1,297 | 59% |
| startup news | 2,031 | 500 | 306% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 1,982 | 875 | 127% |
| bilateral trade | 1,870 | 791 | 136% |
| gold spot price | 1,594 | 985 | 62% |
| foreign policy analysis | 1,426 | 944 | 51% |
| inflation reports fx | 795 | 1,203 | -34% |
| gold futures trends | 761 | 1,185 | -36% |
| europa league | 424 | 1,166 | -64% |
| precious metals volatility | 601 | 993 | -39% |
| silver price movements | 583 | 945 | -38% |
Event and signal lenses
Investment Industry coverage across United Kingdom
Regulatory Risk
1,036,568 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, countries
28.7% critical · 21.4% positiveFunding Momentum
169,756 classified articlesinflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, club valuation
36.8% critical · 49.1% positiveGrowth
284,075 classified articlesvehicle sales forecasts, gdp growth forex, inflation reports fx
30.2% critical · 47.9% positiveInvestment Industry coverage across United Kingdom. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

London
2,766 companies88.6% across the displayed hubs
58 companies hiring · $6.5B disclosed funding
Explore companies in London ↗
Edinburgh
74 companies2.4% across the displayed hubs
5 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Edinburgh ↗
Manchester
69 companies2.2% across the displayed hubs
3 companies hiring · $5.5M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Manchester ↗
Birmingham
53 companies1.7% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $4.2M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Birmingham ↗
Tortola
45 companies1.4% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Tortola ↗
Bristol
45 companies1.4% across the displayed hubs
4 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Bristol ↗
Leeds
37 companies1.2% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $12.5M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Leeds ↗
Glasgow
34 companies1.1% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $17.6M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Glasgow ↗Investment Industry in the United Kingdom: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 6 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗