Industry landscapes
Industry report

Funding and advertised pay are reported in USD; filed accounts retain their stated source currency and basis.

Exchange-rate basis

Indicative conversions use ECB reference rates dated 2026-09-14, applied consistently across all periods. They are not historical exchange rates. Indian rupees may use crore (1 crore = 10 million); other currencies use K, M and B. CSV downloads, source documents and quoted news headlines retain their original currencies.

THE JAPAN EDITION 2026

Japan’s
consumer goods industry,
in focus.

The companies, capital and talent shaping consumer goods in Japan. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

Snapshot: Funding in USD
Illustrated cover for Consumer Goods Industry Landscape of Japan
JP
COMPANIES · CAPITAL · TALENT

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.

Consumer Goods illustration
MEET THE COMPANIES

Explore Japan’s consumer goods leaders

24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.

Expand panel +
Consumer Goods company highlights in Japan, snapshot 6 August 2026
Company
Base Foodbasefood.co.jp$321.34M94
Baroque Japanbaroque-global.com$90M1,694
DAMDAMdamdamtokyo.com$30M
Clearclear-inc.net$16.2M
FABRIC TOKYOfabric-tokyo.com$15.56M
SILK THE RICHsilktherich.com$11.35M
WAKAZEwakaze-store.com$8.96M22
Anataeanatae.co.jp$8.34M
Uniqlouniqlo.com13 roles158
Sonysony.com9 roles113,000Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Wacomwacom.com3 roles1,244
seiko holdingsseiko.co.jp3 roles12,233
Ajinomotoajinomoto.co.jp2 roles43,318
COMME des GARCONScomme-des-garcons.com2 roles27
Kirinkirin.co.jp2 roles
Mandommandom.co.jp2 roles5,267
Asahi Group Holdingsasahigroup-holdings.com30,864Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Asicsasics.com25
Canoncanon.com7,964
Fujitsu Generalfujitsu-general.com9,043Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Japan Tobaccojt.com57,963
Kao Corporationkao.com925Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Konica Minoltakonicaminolta.com39,731Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
Lionlion.co.jp7,833Financial figure available in RadarView in Radar
24 featured companies

Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗

Company discovery

Recorded evidence only
THE KEY SIGNALS

Consumer Goods industry KPIs in Japan

A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.

6 August 2026
Hiring participation0.8%

16 of 2,058 tracked companies have open roles.

Funding participation3.4%

71 of 2,058 tracked companies have a recorded round.

Top 3 funding share78.5%

Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.

Median disclosed round$1.39M

Midpoint of 55 rounds with a disclosed amount.

Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 78.5% of disclosed capital, while 96.6% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.

Explore the segments →
CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATION

How Japan consumer goods has grown

Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.

Expand panel +
2016 — 2025

Disclosed funding by year

Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD

Japan consumer goods
$0$94.65M$189.29M$283.94M$378.58M2016: $1.88M20162017: $9.49M20172018: $6.66M20182019: $7.33M20192020: $8.31M20202021: $3.54M20212022: $332.09M20222023: $10.53M20232024: $23.48M20242025: $52.36M2025
View the numbers
Annual consumer goods funding and company formation in Japan
YearFunding (USD)FoundedRaising
2016$1.88M612
2017$9.49M595
2018$6.66M753
2019$7.33M684
2020$8.31M702
2021$3.54M624
2022$332.09M487
2023$10.53M464
2024$23.48M109
2025$52.36M16
WHERE CAPITAL SITS

Funding concentration

Share of all disclosed company funding.

  • Base Food57.1%
  • Baroque Japan16.0%
  • DAMDAM5.3%
  • Other companies21.5%

Funding by stage

102 recorded rounds since 2016

NUMBER OF ROUNDS
Seed & Angel56 54.9%
Series A–B25 24.5%
Series C+ / PE3 2.9%
Grants, debt & other18 17.6%

Recent recorded rounds

Latest recorded rounds · USD
8 rounds

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Series A04/2026
Uniam $4.85M

Backed by Anobaka and MPower Partners.

Conventional Debt04/2026
Uniam

Backed by JFC and Mizuho Financial Group and others.

Seed02/2026
Ineto Agave

Backed by Akita Bank and Akigin Capital Partners and others.

Largest and notable recorded rounds

Each card is one recorded round
10 cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITY

Revenue, profitability & financial strength

Expand panel +

Annual accounts availability

No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps Japan company identities to the configured global filings table.

DIGITAL FOOTPRINT

Web traffic, app reach and release cadence

How the Japan companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.

Busiest websites

108 of the 2,058 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (5.2%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 173,116 visits.

CompanyMonthly visitsAuthorityMobile
Uniqlouniqlo.com63,060,2938771.6%
Sonysony.com53,109,8147477.7%
kikkomankikkoman.co.jp20,048,9128196.7%
Ajinomotoajinomoto.co.jp14,570,8388394.8%
Asicsasics.com13,560,7748067.3%
Sanriosanrio.co.jp10,821,6057390.5%
Mujimuji.com10,443,4938279.4%
Yamaha Corporationyamaha.com6,498,0417363.3%
Shiseidoshiseido.co.jp4,310,5476991.4%
Shimanoshimano.com4,111,5266862.4%

Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.

Most-installed apps

169 of these companies (8.2%) publish at least one Android app — 445 apps in all, carrying 1.1B installs between them.

AppInstallsRatingStore category
MusicSony Mobile259.9M3.7Music & Audio
News Suite by SonySony118.5M4News & Magazines
Canon PRINTCanon86.9M4.5Tools
Sony | Support for XperiaSony Mobile77.8M3.5Tools
Canon Print ServiceCanon62.7M3.2Tools
BRAVIA™ HelpSony47.4M2.8Lifestyle
Sony | Sound ConnectSony44.1M4.3Tools
Home Theater ControlSony44M2.8Personalization
Brother iPrint&ScanBrother Industries36.2M3Tools
My BRAVIASony31.8M2.8Entertainment

Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.

App reach by segment

The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q4–2026Q1).

SegmentAppsInstallsLeading appRelease trend
Diversified Consumer Electronics Brands77347MNews Suite by Sony 118.5M
Mobiles & Accessories17339.7MMusic 259.9M
Imaging Products46254.4MCanon PRINT 86.9M
Apparel Brands4980.3MUNIQLOアプリ - ユニクロアプリ 20.7M
Computers & Accessories2072.9MBrother iPrint&Scan 36.2M
Sports Equipment6118.2MPanasonic Image App 6M
Food & Beverage Products2315.2MCoke ON 13.4M
Tv & Audiovisual Products3211.4MWeDJ 3.8M

A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.

Release cadence by quarter

New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.

2023Q2: 62023Q2: 52023Q22023Q3: 82023Q3: 42023Q32023Q4: 32023Q4: 72023Q42024Q1: 92024Q1: 32024Q12024Q2: 62024Q2: 112024Q22024Q3: 12024Q3: 102024Q32024Q4: 32024Q4: 162024Q42025Q1: 42025Q1: 162025Q12025Q2: 22025Q2: 172025Q22025Q3: 92025Q3: 572025Q32025Q4: 32025Q4: 652025Q42026Q1: 32026Q1: 802026Q1

Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 255 of 445 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.

INSIDE THE INDUSTRY

The Japan consumer goods market map

Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.

Expand panel +

Where companies are building

Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.

Internet first brands173
Consumer digital73
B2c e-commerce59
Beauty e-commerce19
B2c fashion e-commerce18
Internet first beauty brands17
Internet first fashion brands16
Global 200015
Internet first apparel brands15
Plant based foods11
Internet first women's clothing brands10
Women apparel e-commerce10

Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.

SEGMENT TO EXPLORE

Internet first brands

The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.

173companies
1.2%have hiring activity

2 companies hiring · $29.05M disclosed funding

Explore in Radar

How companies make money

Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.

E-commerce - product1,686
Physical commerce711
Advertising89
E-commerce - service55
Commission on transaction54
Fee-for-service48
Subscription36
Sponsorship32
THE COMPANIES IN MOTION

Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work

Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.

Expand panel +
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Mergers & acquisitionssapporoholdings.jp ↗

Sapporo Holdings, which acquired Stone in 2022 for around $165 million

Mergers & acquisitionssuntory.com ↗

Suntory has agreed to acquire Daiichi Sankyo Healthcare from Daiichi Sankyo in a deal valued at around ¥246.5 billion (£1.6 billion)

Mergers & acquisitionssony.net ↗

The newly formed venture, to be known as Bravia Inc., will see TCL acquire a controlling 51% stake for A$684 million.

Mergers & acquisitionsajinomoto.com ↗

A turning point came in 2014 with the purchase of Houston-based frozen food manufacturer Windsor Quality Holdings.

Mergers & acquisitionsnissin.com ↗

Universal Robina Corporation (URC) is selling a 21% stake in its instant noodle joint venture, Nissin Universal Robina Corporation (NURC), to Nissin Foods Asia Co., Ltd. (NFA).

Mergers & acquisitionsvaio.com ↗

Other acquired companies include internet business Nifty and personal computer maker Vaio.

Mergers & acquisitionsricoh.com ↗

The operation is in addition to the acquisition of Videocorp in 2023.

Mergers & acquisitionsbrother.com ↗

Brother Industries has launched a ¥35 billion ($230 million/ €215 million) bid to buy Mutoh Holdings, aiming to strengthen its industrial printing business and take the smaller rival private.

Mergers & acquisitionsasahigroup-holdings.com ↗

Diageo ended the year with its most sizeable disposal, offloading its business in Kenya to Asahi Group Holdings for $2.3bn

Mergers & acquisitionssunsmile.co.jp ↗

AnyMind Group has agreed to acquire Japan-based beauty and personal care distributor and brand owner Sun Smile, marking its entry into offline retail.

Full recorded event mix

Top 10 categories among 886 recorded events in the 24-month window.

Company announcements
270
Earnings
213
Mergers & acquisitions
102
Leadership moves
99
Contracts
50
New products
39
Asset acquisitions
31
Buyback
21
Lawsuit
20
Layoffs
10
7 activity cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

IPO pipeline

2 companies with recorded IPO activity

Orion beer ↗

IPO · Tokyo Stock Exchange1 reports

IPO · Hong Kong1 reports

Leadership moves

71 tracked people moves

Sony ↗
Shuhei Yoshida

Departure Previously President of Worldwide Studios

Sony ↗
Takeshi Ishida

Appointment Manager

Toshiba ↗
Alberto Ruano

Resignation Previously Manager of Toshiba Spain

Shiseido ↗
Caroline Foo

Appointment Managing Director for Malaysia

Koji Masuda

Appointment Chairman of the board

Susumu Ohkawara

Appointment Director and Executive Vice President

Suntory ↗
Takeshi Niinami

Termination Previously Chief Executive Officer

Lion ↗
Ram Kalyanasundaram

Departure Previously Chief Information Officer

Product launches

Products, platforms and features in the recorded window

Toshiba ↗
improved synchronous motor designs

Motor

FZ25

Motorcycle

Zeitaku Shibori

Ready-to-drink (RTD)

Kirin ↗
Mercian YATSU shochu flavour range

Spirits

Ajinomoto ↗
Tube‑pouch

Pouch packaging

Ajinomoto ↗
Atlr.72® Mochelie

Pastry

Canon ↗
VarioPrint iX1700

Printing Equipment

Canon ↗
VarioPress iV7

Printing Equipment

Contract wins

21 recorded customer wins

People ↗

Customer: Meta PlatformsAI content licensing

chiyoda ↗

Customer: qatarenergyEnergy

chiyoda ↗

Customer: QatarEnergy LNGOil & Gas

Sony ↗

Customer: TCL Electronics HoldingsConsumer electronics / TV manufacturing

Customer: alphagraphics south charlotte

People ↗

Customer: metaTechnology

Workforce actions

8 companies with reported reductions

Sony ↗

Scale not stated rolesrestructuring

People ↗

226 rolescost reduction

Shiseido ↗

300 rolesrepositioning

Toshiba ↗

9,000 rolescost reduction

Sony ↗

5,000 rolescost reduction

Canon ↗

Scale not stated rolescost reduction

Litigation

21 tracked suits

Company
Bia Tosha v diageo, east african breweries, asahi group holdings

Attempt to restrain a cross‑border share sale over distribution and goodwill disputeCivil · Dismissed

Company
disney, netflix, paramount, sony, warner bros v bytedance

copyright infringementCivil · Ongoing

Earnings pulse

Reported company results in the recorded window.

45companies
223period observations
4.0%median reported growth

Median across 147 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.

Mergers and acquisitions

Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.

Acquirer → targetStatusDateValue / context
ShiseidoShiseido ↗Announced2026-06-01Not stated in snapshot
Konica MinoltaFedEx Office unit Japanese operationsPending2026-05-31$44.0M
SuntoryDaiichi Sankyo HealthcareAnnounced2026-04-23Not stated in snapshot
kirin holdingsFANCL ↗Announced2026-04-23Not stated in snapshot
sapporo holdingsstone brewingCompleted2026-04-21$165.0M
tclSony ↗Announced2026-03-31Not stated in snapshot

A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.

PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITY

The talent market

Recorded hiring and workforce signals from the available source snapshot.

Expand panel +

Most advertised job titles

No repeated job title is supported by this snapshot.

0 internship postings

0 tracked postings mention remote work.

THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELD

Founders and leaders

323 founders and chief executives across 283 companies.

Expand panel +
12 profiles

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

Education networks

6 profiles with education records.

Harvard University
2
Columbia Business School
1
Columbia University
1
King’s College London
1
Harvard Business School
1
University of Cambridge
1
London Business School (LBS)
1
Singapore Management University (SMU)
1

Prior employers

1 profiles with prior-work records.

Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.

NEWS INTELLIGENCE

How this industry appears in the news

454,004 articles in the measured 12-month window.

Expand panel +
454,004articles in the measured year
94,743articles in 2026Q1
50.3%positive tone in the latest complete year

News volume trends

Consumer Goods coverage across Japan · articles per complete quarter

051,791103,582155,372207,1632021Q2: 66,2122021Q22021Q3: 87,2852021Q4: 58,0212022Q1: 71,1542022Q2: 68,6122022Q22022Q3: 71,8812022Q4: 94,8062023Q1: 94,6932023Q2: 94,6702023Q22023Q3: 105,9122023Q4: 89,0292024Q1: 105,6992024Q2: 105,4462024Q22024Q3: 117,4662024Q4: 114,8412025Q1: 140,2362025Q2: 103,4102025Q22025Q3: 180,1422025Q4: 83,2682026Q1: 94,7432026Q1
View quarterly article counts
QuarterArticles
2021Q266,212
2021Q387,285
2021Q458,021
2022Q171,154
2022Q268,612
2022Q371,881
2022Q494,806
2023Q194,693
2023Q294,670
2023Q3105,912
2023Q489,029
2024Q1105,699
2024Q2105,446
2024Q3117,466
2024Q4114,841
2025Q1140,236
2025Q2103,410
2025Q3180,142
2025Q483,268
2026Q194,743

Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.

Tone of coverage over time

2021
137,876 positive · 36,047 neutral · 70,432 negative
2022
169,655 positive · 51,509 neutral · 84,943 negative
2023
230,898 positive · 62,497 neutral · 90,430 negative
2024
247,441 positive · 94,220 neutral · 101,181 negative
2025
254,622 positive · 147,708 neutral · 104,162 negative

Leading coverage topics

Consumer Goods coverage across Japan · ranked by full-period article count.

International And Transnational Geographic Entities300,515 articles in the full recorded period
100,289 recent · 75,578 prior
Geopolitical Disputes And Contested Areas300,510 articles in the full recorded period
100,287 recent · 75,577 prior
Administrative And Political Subdivisions300,463 articles in the full recorded period
100,274 recent · 75,562 prior
International Sports Competitions42,824 articles in the full recorded period
6,820 recent · 8,708 prior
International Political Relations35,063 articles in the full recorded period
7,248 recent · 6,443 prior
Olympic Games Coverage33,411 articles in the full recorded period
3,840 recent · 7,364 prior
International Relations And Diplomacy24,255 articles in the full recorded period
4,586 recent · 4,480 prior
Security And Defense Policies23,557 articles in the full recorded period
5,059 recent · 4,200 prior
Trade Policies And Agreements23,086 articles in the full recorded period
8,869 recent · 6,941 prior
Trade Wars And Geopolitical Impacts18,964 articles in the full recorded period
5,932 recent · 5,065 prior

Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.

Topics gaining and losing attention

Consumer Goods coverage across Japan

KeywordRecentPriorChange
countries3,9031,710128%
trade dispute mechanisms2,4921,59456%
bilateral trade2,2051,29670%
preferential tariff1,6801,16145%
forex liquidity1,522412269%
exchange rates1,40580874%
tariff rate quota1,38889655%
mfn tariff1,26483951%
gold spot price1,211170612%
commodity futures993285248%
olympic team selections8842,509-65%
honda forums02,413-100%
olympic trials9362,284-59%
summer olympics athletics2351,374-83%
olympic venues3881,209-68%

Event and signal lenses

Consumer Goods coverage across Japan

All complete annual cohorts shown
Rising

Regulatory Risk

815,112 classified articles

territories, disputed islands, countries

24.6% critical · 17.6% positive
Rising

Funding Momentum

85,228 classified articles

inflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, trade deficits fx

37.6% critical · 42.6% positive
Rising

Growth

223,566 classified articles

gdp growth rate, gdp acceleration, economic output growth

33.2% critical · 46.0% positive

Consumer Goods coverage across Japan. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.

GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINT

Where companies are based

Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Expand panel +
8 cards

Swipe or scroll horizontally to browse.

UNDERSTAND THE LANDSCAPE

Consumer Goods in Japan: key questions

Clear definitions for making better comparisons.

What does this landscape measure?

It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.

Can segment counts be added together?

No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.

What does a missing figure mean?

A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.

Company ecosystem snapshot: 6 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.

Canonical landscape ↗
Coming soon