Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
New Zealand’s
consumer goods industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping consumer goods in New Zealand. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore New Zealand’s consumer goods leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore New Zealand’s consumer goods leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyExplore the live startup set in Radar
No company example met every recorded classification, independence and public-profile gate in this snapshot. The live directory may have newer qualifying companies.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Consumer Goods industry KPIs in New Zealand
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
26 of 1,488 tracked companies have open roles.
26 of 1,488 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 12 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 94.4% of disclosed capital, while 98.3% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow New Zealand consumer goods has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How New Zealand consumer goods has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $147.04M | 98 | 4 |
| 2017 | $1.2M | 88 | 1 |
| 2018 | $0 | 91 | 0 |
| 2019 | $3.59M | 93 | 2 |
| 2020 | $54.27M | 120 | 2 |
| 2021 | $0 | 52 | 0 |
| 2022 | $19.29K | 34 | 1 |
| 2023 | $25.2K | 20 | 1 |
| 2024 | $331.36K | 8 | 1 |
| 2025 | $0 | 2 | 0 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Mataura Valley Milk60.6%
- Geoskincare22.6%
- The a2 Milk Company11.3%
- Other companies5.6%
Funding by stage
21 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in consumer goods company rounds since 2016.
- 01Europa 3 rounds
- 02Punakaiki Fund 2 rounds
- 03Booster 1 rounds
- 04Genesis Capital 1 rounds
- 05Snowball Effect 1 rounds
- 06Parc Capital 1 rounds
- 07Convivialite Ventures 1 rounds
- 08CNADC 1 rounds
- 09Pie Funds 1 rounds
- 010Cathay Capital 1 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDLargest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by Cathay Capital.
Backed by Genesis Capital.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by Snowball Effect.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
No reviewed exact national-ID connector maps New Zealand company identities to the configured global filings table.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the New Zealand companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
14 of the 1,488 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (0.9%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 89,151 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Bared Footwear Blogbaredfootwear.com | 956,807 | 45 | 88.6% |
| Rodd & Gunnroddandgunn.com | 621,148 | 43 | 70.4% |
| Hallenstein Brothershallensteins.com | 551,805 | 42 | 59.4% |
| Rubynzrubynz.com | 207,796 | 39 | 75.9% |
| Fonterrafonterra.com | 162,308 | 44 | 64.9% |
| Barkersbarkersonline.co.nz | 100,122 | 40 | 36.8% |
| Bendon Lingeriebendonlingerie.co.nz | 91,100 | 37 | 84.1% |
| OfficeMaxofficemax.co.nz | 87,203 | 39 | 11.3% |
| Torpedo7torpedo7.co.nz | 86,292 | 43 | 57.1% |
| as colourascolour.co.nz | 85,938 | 41 | 7.2% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
15 of these companies (1%) publish at least one Android app — 21 apps in all, carrying 203.2K installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| HallensteinsHallenstein Brothers | 86.2K | — | Shopping |
| On FarmFonterra | 38.9K | — | Business |
| Farm Source Dairy DiaryFonterra | 22.3K | — | Business |
| My Co-opFonterra | 12.7K | — | Business |
| SKOPE-connectskope | 12.7K | — | Business |
| Augustine LimitedAugustine | 11K | — | Shopping |
| Silver Fern FarmerSilver Fern Farms | 5.9K | — | Business |
| MojoMojo Coffee | 3.8K | — | Food & Drink |
| MAProgressMAProgress | 2.6K | — | Sports |
| Gladfield MaltGladfield Malt | 2K | — | Tools |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2024Q1–2026Q2).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apparel Brands | 3 | 97.4K | Hallensteins 86.2K | |
| Food & Beverage Products | 9 | 87.2K | On Farm 38.9K | |
| Household Durables | 2 | 13K | SKOPE-connect 12.7K | |
| Sports Equipment | 2 | 3K | MAProgress 2.6K | |
| Music Equipment | 2 | 49 | Oladra Play 38 |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe New Zealand consumer goods market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The New Zealand consumer goods market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Internet first brands
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
4 companies hiring · $19.29K disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Fonterra’s deal to sell its consumer and associated businesses to Lactalis Group has been green‑lit by regulators and is set to be completed in the first quarter of calendar 2026.
Tempest Minerals Ltd., an Australian mineral exploration company, has entered a binding agreement to acquire Zealandia Resources Pty Ltd., a private gold exploration company with a portfolio of four advanced projects in New Zealand’s North Island.
"The Commerce Commission says it is ‘currently not satisfied’ that the proposed acquisition will not have, or would not be likely to have, the effect of substantially lessening competition in one or more relevant markets."
America’s Abbott, a corporate behemoth with a market cap of US$232b, had offered $307m for Synlait Milk’s loss‑making but state‑of‑the‑art plant at Pōkeno.
having bought Mataura Valley Milk off The a2 Milk Company a fortnight ago.
Open Country Dairy has bought Māori-backed dairy processor Miraka.
Comvita’s board asked to ‘please explain’ by former chair Lack of guidance not acceptable, says Neil Craig, as acquisition bid waits in the wings.
Earlier this week, it announced a deal to purchase Mataura Valley Milk from The a2 Milk Company.
The Deal Lincoln International (Lincoln) acted as the exclusive investment banking advisor to Trustar Capital (Trustar, f.k.a CITIC Capital) and Lanocorp, a portfolio company of Trilogy International, in its sale to West Lane Capital Partners (West Lane).
Walter and Wild said it had acquired the business under its new entity Hansells Acquisition Limited.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 384 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
1 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO · New Zealand Stock Exchange1 reports
Leadership moves
14 tracked people moves
Appointment President Global Ingredients Growth
Appointment President Global Ingredients Sales and Operations
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Appointment General Manager of Marketing
Resignation Previously Chief Financial Officer
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Butter
Platform
Fruit snacks
Contract wins
5 recorded customer wins
Customer:
Customer: lactalis
Customer: invivoWine
Customer: MultistepsFood packaging
Customer: Mpact OperationsFood Packaging
Workforce actions
4 companies with reported reductions
300 rolescost reduction
Scale not stated rolesefficiency
Scale not stated roleslow product volumes and increasing complexities in production
Scale not stated rolescost reduction
Regulatory events
10 recorded events
sale approvedRegulators
all required regulatory approvals and sale conditions had been satisfied
Court
green‑lit the acquisitionAustralia\'s Foreign Investment Review Board
Litigation
6 tracked suits
shareholder derivative complaintCivil · Dismissed
Regulatory · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 40 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| lactalis→Fonterra ↗ | Completed | 2026-04-29 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Tempest Minerals→Zealandia ↗ | Announced | 2026-03-04 | $4.0M |
| mohawk industries→Bremworth ↗ | Announced | 2025-12-23 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Godfrey Hirst→Bremworth ↗ | Rumored | 2025-12-23 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Fonterra→beingmate | Completed | 2025-10-29 | $755.0M |
| abbott→synlait ↗ | Announced | 2025-10-02 | $307.0M |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
Recorded hiring and workforce signals from the available source snapshot.
Expand panel +
The talent market
Recorded hiring and workforce signals from the available source snapshot.
Most advertised job titles
No repeated job title is supported by this snapshot.
0 tracked postings mention remote work.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| frucor suntory ↗ | 40,000 |
| Fonterra ↗ | 19,608 |
| Silver Fern Farms ↗ | 7,000 |
| Zespri ↗ | 1,085 |
| Bremworth ↗ | 435 |
| new zealand king salmon investments ↗ | 400 |
| synlait ↗ | 363 |
| Tatua ↗ | 270 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
314 founders and chief executives across 273 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
314 founders and chief executives across 273 companies.
MJ McCoy
The a2 Milk Company ↗Creative Alignments, ex-OpenArts, Boulder Valley School District, Spyder Active Sports. Colorado State University 1981
Miles Hurrell
Fonterra ↗Ex-Farm Source.
Sreejith Sreekumar
Bare Brown & T ↗Founder & CEO Giacca & Abito Sartoriale Fashion, ex-Raymond, Arvind Lifestyle Brands, teaandtailoring. National Institute of Fashion Technology 2008
Marten Leeuwen
More Circular ↗Ex- Milcobel, Founder Again Materials Management, Line Up Solutions, AEB Amsterdam, Heerema Marine Contractors. University of Canterbury BE 2005
Philip Cockrell
Accuro ↗Co-Founder Payve, ex-Serato INC, Optimal Usability, Firstlight ERA. Victoria University of Wellington BCA 2002, The University of Auckland 2014
Migara Tennakoon
Peace Lily ↗Ex-Main Roads Western Australia, , . The University of Western Australia Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.), Engineering Science and Finance 2017…
Dan Necklen
Kids Ride Shotgun ↗Ex-Likeable NZ, 4good Charitable Trust, Westpac New Zealand, SimpleMail Email Marketing, Sitetime. The University of Waikato BS 2006
Hannah Williamson
Lemon and Beaker ↗HR Group New Zealand, ex-Mark Apparel, T-Buc Saeoul Topia. University of Auckland 2007, Hult International Business School EMBA 2016
James Annabell
Egmont Honey ↗Ex-Midlands Apiaries, Onside Player Management, Watson and Son, Taranaki Regional. Victoria University of Wellington LLB 2007
Patrick Maguire
aeroe ↗Ex-Ignite Architects, WARREN AND MAHONEY, CCM Architects, Oppermann Associates. Victoria University of Wellington BArch 2005
Brad Down
Manuka Biotic ↗Co-Founder Burst SMS, Ex-Digital Ministry, Beam Me, Known, Daemon Group, Michael Page International. Deakin University 1992
Laura Nixon
Solid ↗Auckland Regional Dental Service, Belich Dental. Massey University BSc 2005, Auckland University of Technology BSc 2012.
Education networks
2 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
1 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
215,984 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
215,984 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Consumer Goods coverage across New Zealand · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 44,012 |
| 2021Q3 | 46,969 |
| 2021Q4 | 44,697 |
| 2022Q1 | 41,090 |
| 2022Q2 | 52,860 |
| 2022Q3 | 43,385 |
| 2022Q4 | 56,694 |
| 2023Q1 | 63,127 |
| 2023Q2 | 44,051 |
| 2023Q3 | 52,642 |
| 2023Q4 | 52,300 |
| 2024Q1 | 48,136 |
| 2024Q2 | 48,369 |
| 2024Q3 | 55,345 |
| 2024Q4 | 60,855 |
| 2025Q1 | 69,572 |
| 2025Q2 | 55,030 |
| 2025Q3 | 65,464 |
| 2025Q4 | 48,532 |
| 2026Q1 | 54,998 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
770 recorded company events across 28 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Consumer Goods coverage across New Zealand · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Consumer Goods coverage across New Zealand
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| flood resilience | 597 | 278 | 115% |
| conceptual rock albums | 519 | 21 | 2371% |
| low-income banking | 446 | 34 | 1212% |
| weather emergency | 413 | 268 | 54% |
| trade facilitation commitments | 403 | 183 | 120% |
| study overseas | 402 | 228 | 76% |
| floodplain management | 366 | 198 | 85% |
| overseas study | 364 | 222 | 64% |
| mlb starting pitchers | 363 | 259 | 40% |
| rugby world cup qualifiers | 360 | 208 | 73% |
| test cricket | 2,189 | 4,960 | -56% |
| test innings | 1,615 | 3,939 | -59% |
| odi cricket | 1,359 | 3,817 | -64% |
| limited overs cricket | 1,344 | 3,784 | -64% |
| odi tactics | 1,283 | 3,708 | -65% |
Event and signal lenses
Consumer Goods coverage across New Zealand
Regulatory Risk
263,361 classified articlestest cricket, odi tactics, test innings
37.6% critical · 27.3% positiveFunding Momentum
60,724 classified articlesinflation reports fx, odi world cup, icc world cup
33.8% critical · 30.9% positiveGrowth
61,510 classified articlesinflation reports fx, gdp growth forex, currency intervention policies
32.3% critical · 41.2% positiveConsumer Goods coverage across New Zealand. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

Auckland
403 companies57.3% across the displayed hubs
10 companies hiring · $36.9M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Auckland ↗
Christchurch
75 companies10.7% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Christchurch ↗
Wellington
74 companies10.5% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $1.5M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Wellington ↗
Hamilton
36 companies5.1% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $53.0M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Hamilton ↗
Tauranga
33 companies4.7% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Tauranga ↗
Takanini
33 companies4.7% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Takanini ↗
Nelson
26 companies3.7% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Nelson ↗
Queenstown
23 companies3.3% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Queenstown ↗Consumer Goods in New Zealand: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 7 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗