Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
Toronto’s
financial services industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping financial services in Toronto. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore Toronto’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore Toronto’s financial services leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyRecently founded independent companies
Recently founded means a recorded 2023–2026 founding year and no recorded parent, acquirer or public-company status. These companies are not labelled startups without that separate classification.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Financial Services industry KPIs in Toronto
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
115 of 1,031 tracked companies have open roles.
54 of 1,031 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 131 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 65.3% of disclosed capital, while 94.8% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow Toronto financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How Toronto financial services has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $124.85M | 51 | 3 |
| 2017 | $298.98M | 45 | 9 |
| 2018 | $795.34M | 54 | 6 |
| 2019 | $97.73M | 50 | 6 |
| 2020 | $262.4M | 52 | 8 |
| 2021 | $955.25M | 29 | 11 |
| 2022 | $44.17M | 15 | 4 |
| 2023 | $70.22M | 14 | 6 |
| 2024 | $209.42M | 9 | 15 |
| 2025 | $994.66M | 1 | 18 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Wealthsimple32.7%
- Choice Properties REIT21.3%
- Dream11.3%
- Other companies34.7%
Funding by stage
143 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in financial services company rounds since 2016.
- 01Power financial 4 rounds
- 02Allianz X 4 rounds
- 03Greylock Partners 3 rounds
- 04Meritech 3 rounds
- 05TCV 2 rounds
- 06Westdale Properties 2 rounds
- 07HCS Capital Partners 2 rounds
- 08SiriusPoint 2 rounds
- 09Alberta Blue Cross 2 rounds
- 010Dragoneer Investment Group 2 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by ManchesterStory Group and Slauson and others.
Backed by .
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by Meritech and Greylock Partners and others.
Backed by GIC and Dragoneer Investment Group and others.
Backed by TCV and Greylock Partners and others.
Backed by Allianz X and Power financial.
Backed by Power financial.
Backed by Allianz X.
Backed by Power financial.
Backed by Power financial.
Backed by Alberta Blue Cross and Securian Canada.
Backed by Power financial.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts availability
The measured Canada identity-to-filing probe did not produce a qualifying designated legal or national-ID join: world_filings_distributed exposes no reviewed Canadian national-ID key; none of the designated Canadian identities carried a CIK.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the Toronto companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
24 of the 1,031 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (2.3%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 557,375 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| BMObmo.com | 16,521,803 | 71 | 55.7% |
| Scotiabankscotiabank.com | 14,557,368 | 70 | 51.6% |
| Canadian Imperial Bank of Commercecibc.com | 12,040,005 | 67 | 44.4% |
| Wealthsimplewealthsimple.com | 8,595,412 | 66 | 31.4% |
| Royal Bank of Canadarbc.com | 3,455,367 | 55 | 27.7% |
| PC Financialpcfinancial.ca | 3,364,704 | 49 | 62.7% |
| Simpliisimplii.com | 2,833,970 | 51 | 55.8% |
| Canada Lifecanadalife.com | 2,460,803 | 57 | 58.1% |
| Sun Life Financialsunlife.com | 2,007,007 | 51 | 46.4% |
| Manulifemanulife.com | 1,051,893 | 44 | 39.6% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
34 of these companies (3.3%) publish at least one Android app — 58 apps in all, carrying 36M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| CIBC Mobile Banking®Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce | 7.3M | 3.9 | Finance |
| Scotiabank Mobile BankingScotiabank | 5.1M | 4.7 | Finance |
| BMO CanadaBMO | 4.4M | 4.3 | Finance |
| Wealthsimple - Grow your moneyWealthsimple | 3.3M | 3.3 | Finance |
| Capital One CanadaCapital One | 2.5M | 4.7 | Finance |
| Scotia CaribbeanScotiabank | 1.7M | 4.8 | Finance |
| BMO Digital BankingBMO | 1.7M | 4.6 | Finance |
| PC Financial MobilePC Financial | 1.5M | 4.2 | Finance |
| Simplii FinancialSimplii | 1.5M | 3.9 | Finance |
| Intact Insurance: Mobile appIntact | 1.3M | 3.5 | Finance |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2026Q1).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banks | 31 | 30.8M | CIBC Mobile Banking® 7.3M | |
| Asset Management | 22 | 3.7M | My Canada Life at Work 1.2M | |
| Investment Tech | 2 | 3.3M | Wealthsimple - Grow your money 3.3M | |
| Insurance Carriers | 6 | 3M | Intact Insurance: Mobile app 1.3M | |
| Insurance Distribution | 3 | 2.2M | belairdirect digital insurance 877.1K | |
| Services For Investment Industry | 4 | 18K | Scotia Wealth Management® 16.8K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 46 of 58 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe Toronto financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The Toronto financial services market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Nbfc lenders
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
7 companies hiring · $421.1M disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Royal Bank of Canada raised its stake in Viking Therapeutics by 13.0% in the 1st quarter.
Baker McKenzie is representing TMX Group Limited (TMX) on its proposed acquisition of Cboe Australia.
Choice Properties REIT announced that they have agreed to acquire First Capital REIT in a unit and cash transaction valued at approximately C$9.4 billion ($6.9 billion, including the assumption of certain debt.
Phocas Financial Corp. acquired a new stake in Commercial Bancgroup, Inc. (NASDAQ:CBK – Free Report) during the 4th quarter, according to its most recent filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
In 2008, OMERS acquired Teranet for $2-billion.
8 minutes ago Spain’s Cellnex is in talks to sell its stake in its Swiss unit to Toronto-listed Manulife Financial Corporation’s investment management unit, according to two sources with knowledge of the situation.
Lahontan Gold Corp. (TSXV: LG,OTC:LGCXF) (OTCQB: LGCXF) (FSE: Y2F) (the “Company” or “Lahontan”) is pleased to announce that, further to its press releases of March 12, 2026, March 17, 2026, March 20, 2026, March 24, 2026 and April 2, 2026, it has closed the final tranche of its non-brokered… for an aggregate of $13.6M.
Accord Financial has exited the U.S. asset-based lending business via the sale of the loan portfolio of its Greenville, SC-based U.S. subsidiary to a U.S.-based independent finance company.
Burgundy Asset Management Ltd. now owns 2,378,968 shares of the financial services provider’s stock worth $56,643,000 after acquiring an additional 31,922 shares during the last quarter.
folding BGO together with Bell Partners, the U.S. multifamily operator it recently agreed to acquire.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 1,487 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
3 companies with recorded IPO activity
IPO activity2 reports
IPO · Nasdaq Stock Market LLC1 reports
IPO · NASDAQ1 reports
Leadership moves
88 tracked people moves
Appointment Process Development Study Lead
Appointment Chief Product and Technology Officer
Appointment Senior Wealth Advisor
Appointment Chief Investment Officer
Appointment Director
Appointment Director
Appointment Director
Appointment Chief Financial Officer
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Equity Plan
Financial Disclosure Document
Enterprise AI Platform
Financial Derivatives
Life Insurance
AI foundation model
ETF
Insurance Claims Portal
Contract wins
52 recorded customer wins
Customer: Battery X MetalsTechnology
Customer: planet venturesFinance
Customer: Québec Innovative Materials Corp.
Customer: pharmacorp
Customer: foran miningMining
Customer: lara explorationFinance
Workforce actions
5 companies with reported reductions
678 rolesoperational efficiency
Scale not stated rolesbusiness restructuring
2.5% rolescost containment
50 rolesefficiency push
Scale not stated rolesstrategic alignment
Regulatory events
48 recorded events
admitted to Official ListFinancial Conduct Authority (FCA)
approved as Organised Market PlaceEuropean Union Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER)
approved for construction
acceptedToronto Stock Exchange
Litigation
13 tracked suits
Terminated lease unpaid rentCivil · Ongoing
unpaid rentCivil · Ongoing
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 165 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Bank of Canada→bank of america | Rumored | 2026-05-17 | $2.0B |
| Royal Bank of Canada→viking therapeutics | Completed | 2026-05-04 | $8.4M |
| TMX Group→cboe australia | Announced | 2026-04-27 | Not stated in snapshot |
| eqb→PC Financial ↗ | 2026-04-24 | Not stated in snapshot | |
| TMX Group→cboe global markets | Announced | 2026-04-23 | $300.0M |
| TMX Group→Cboe Canada | Announced | 2026-04-22 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
13,743 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 22,826-posting snapshot covers 108 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
13,743 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 22,826-posting snapshot covers 108 employers.
Most advertised job titles
102 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
8,224 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 22,826 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 2,724 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Royal Bank of Canada ↗ | 79,308 |
| Fairfax Financial Holdings ↗ | 38,040 |
| Manulife ↗ | 34,000 |
| Sun Life Financial ↗ | 21,495 |
| BMO ↗ | 16,217 |
| Intact Ventures ↗ | 13,000 |
| Canada Life ↗ | 12,000 |
| PolicyMe ↗ | 2,802 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
346 founders and chief executives across 285 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
346 founders and chief executives across 285 companies.
Michael Katchen
Wealthsimple ↗Co-Founder Simple Ventures, Intact, ex-Ancestry, 1000memories, McKinsey. Western University
Stephen Johnson
Choice Properties REIT ↗Ex-CEO Canadian Real Estate.
Steven Hudson
ECN Capital ↗Ex-CEO Element Financial, Founder Cameron Capital, Founder & CEO Newcourt Credit Group, York University BBA 1981
Alex Avery
Primaris REIT ↗HR REIT, ex-FrontFour Real Asset Alternatives, CIBC Capital Markets, Raymond James Financial, The Altus Group. McMaster University BTech & MBA…
Andrew Marsh
Richardson GMP ↗ex-GMP Private, ScotiaMcLeod. University of Guelph BA 1990.
Sean Pi
Mayfair Gold ↗Ex-Evercore Partners.
Daniel Drimmer
True North Commercial REIT ↗Starlight Investments, TSXV-listed Starlight U.S. Multi-Family (No. 1) Value-Add Fund…
Josh Crumb
Abaxx Technologies ↗Base Carbon, ex-Goldmoney, ex-Goldman Sachs, Colorado School of Mines, 2003
Chris Sekine
Trisura ↗Surety Association of Canada.Carleton University BA
Laura McKay
PolicyMe ↗Ex-World Economic Forum, Oliver Wyman, TEDxAlgonquinPark, Munich Re, Manulife Financial. University of Waterloo 2013
Justin Choi
Sprott Asset Management ↗Managing Director - Sprott Asset Management. Korea University Bachelor of Business Administration 2006
Paul Meyer
Ridgewood Capital ↗Ex- Mulvihill Capital Management, CT Investment Counsel. University of Toronto Bachelor of Commerce 1992
Education networks
44 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
9 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
73,794 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
73,794 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Financial Services coverage tagged Toronto · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 20,356 |
| 2021Q3 | 20,191 |
| 2021Q4 | 15,136 |
| 2022Q1 | 19,730 |
| 2022Q2 | 20,609 |
| 2022Q3 | 18,869 |
| 2022Q4 | 19,870 |
| 2023Q1 | 18,718 |
| 2023Q2 | 21,642 |
| 2023Q3 | 20,547 |
| 2023Q4 | 19,528 |
| 2024Q1 | 23,978 |
| 2024Q2 | 25,000 |
| 2024Q3 | 23,640 |
| 2024Q4 | 25,404 |
| 2025Q1 | 31,072 |
| 2025Q2 | 21,535 |
| 2025Q3 | 25,822 |
| 2025Q4 | 15,845 |
| 2026Q1 | 17,726 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
2,082 recorded company events across 82 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Financial Services coverage tagged Toronto · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Canada comparison coverage
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| stock price | 1,342 | 920 | 46% |
| mlb team standings | 1,130 | 617 | 83% |
| mlb team strategies | 1,089 | 721 | 51% |
| multilateral diplomacy | 1,072 | 734 | 46% |
| mlb player performance | 1,065 | 753 | 41% |
| angel investors | 1,035 | 397 | 161% |
| investment deal | 937 | 482 | 94% |
| ice sports | 912 | 240 | 280% |
| wto rulings | 757 | 394 | 92% |
| share price | 732 | 475 | 54% |
| tariff negotiations | 6,321 | 15,353 | -59% |
| free trade deals | 3,141 | 6,398 | -51% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 2,936 | 4,670 | -37% |
| bilateral trade | 1,921 | 3,514 | -45% |
| preferential tariff | 1,291 | 3,319 | -61% |
Event and signal lenses
Canada comparison coverage
Regulatory Risk
639,229 classified articlestariff negotiations, free trade deals, trade dispute mechanisms
35.1% critical · 34.9% positiveFunding Momentum
168,393 classified articlesangel investors, investment deal, inflation reports fx
27.8% critical · 42.1% positiveGrowth
242,778 classified articlesleague expansion news, nba expansion teams, earnings report
26.4% critical · 46.0% positiveFinancial Services coverage tagged Toronto. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
Financial Services in Toronto: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 31 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗