Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
the United Kingdom’s
insurtech industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping insurtech in the United Kingdom. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore the United Kingdom’s insurtech leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore the United Kingdom’s insurtech leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyRecently founded independent companies
Recently founded means a recorded 2023–2026 founding year and no recorded parent, acquirer or public-company status. These companies are not labelled startups without that separate classification.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Insurtech industry KPIs in the United Kingdom
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
49 of 918 tracked companies have open roles.
218 of 918 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 444 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 31.8% of disclosed capital, while 76.3% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow the United Kingdom insurtech has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How the United Kingdom insurtech has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $20.11M | 68 | 19 |
| 2017 | $1.17B | 67 | 36 |
| 2018 | $147.88M | 58 | 38 |
| 2019 | $580.74M | 58 | 43 |
| 2020 | $799.97M | 46 | 45 |
| 2021 | $1.37B | 38 | 59 |
| 2022 | $483.94M | 23 | 50 |
| 2023 | $793.57M | 26 | 34 |
| 2024 | $740.02M | 15 | 27 |
| 2025 | $630.4M | 3 | 14 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- BGL Group12.6%
- Hometree10.2%
- PremFina9.0%
- Other companies68.2%
Funding by stage
538 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in insurtech company rounds since 2016.
- 01Insurtech Gateway 20 rounds
- 02Europa 18 rounds
- 03Octopus Ventures 17 rounds
- 04LocalGlobe 13 rounds
- 05Techstars 10 rounds
- 06Anthemis Group 10 rounds
- 07Seedcamp 9 rounds
- 08MMC Ventures 8 rounds
- 09Concentric 7 rounds
- 010Mundi Ventures 7 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by Waterfall and Specfincapital.
Backed by Sompo Holdings.
Backed by Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce.
Backed by Lazaroo-Hood Group and Angel Investment Network and others.
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by CPP Investments.
Backed by Blackstone and Fairfax Financial Holdings.
Backed by EQT and Willoughby Capital and others.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Participating investors were not recorded in this snapshot.
Backed by DST Global and General Catalyst and others.
Backed by Dai-Ichi Life and Creandum and others.
Backed by Allianz X.
Backed by KKR and HDI Global.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · company accounts; aggregate reporting threshold not met · 1 reporting entities from 310 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not the United Kingdom market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
None of 1 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 1 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denis Global ↗12579401 | £0.2m | £0.0m | +12.4% | — | — |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does insurtech compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the the United Kingdom companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
31 of the 918 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (3.4%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 304,203 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| CompareTheMarketcomparethemarket.com | 11,097,028 | 74 | 76.5% |
| MoneySuperMarketmoneysupermarket.com | 8,681,496 | 71 | 73% |
| Confused.comconfused.com | 4,940,770 | 65 | 73% |
| GoComparegocompare.com | 4,510,326 | 72 | 73.2% |
| Vitalityvitality.co.uk | 1,476,449 | 53 | 80.5% |
| Esureesure.com | 1,091,653 | 47 | 88.7% |
| Churchillchurchill.com | 736,770 | 46 | 81.9% |
| Policy Expertpolicyexpert.co.uk | 718,268 | 40 | 81.3% |
| Quotezone.co.ukquotezone.co.uk | 705,592 | 45 | 80% |
| Tempcovertempcover.com | 678,719 | 49 | 87% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
75 of these companies (8.2%) publish at least one Android app — 150 apps in all, carrying 16.5M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compare the Market: MeerkatCompareTheMarket | 5.2M | — | Finance |
| CuvvaCuvva | 2M | 3.9 | Auto & Vehicles |
| MoneySuperMarketMoneySuperMarket | 1.2M | — | Finance |
| Confused.com: Cheap insuranceConfused.com | 1.1M | 5 | Finance |
| Snoop Finance | Budget TrackerSnoop | 1M | — | Finance |
| DriveScore - Save on InsuranceDriveScore | 678.1K | — | Finance |
| Zego DeliveryZego | 659.7K | 4.2 | Finance |
| Dayinsure - Temp Car CoverDayinsure | 635.9K | — | Auto & Vehicles |
| Vitality UKVitality | 619.9K | 2.8 | Finance |
| Veygo by AdmiralVeygo | 500.2K | — | Auto & Vehicles |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
App reach by segment
The busiest app inside each of this page’s own segments, with the quarterly release trend behind it (2023Q1–2026Q2).
| Segment | Apps | Installs | Leading app | Release trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Internet First Insurance Platforms | 74 | 15.1M | Compare the Market: Meerkat 5.2M | |
| Auto E-Commerce & Content | 41 | 6.6M | Cuvva 2M | |
| Auto Retail & Aftersales | 27 | 5.7M | Confused.com: Cheap insurance 1.1M | |
| Connected Vehicles | 35 | 5.3M | DriveScore - Save on Insurance 678.1K | |
| Banking Tech | 10 | 2.6M | MoneySuperMarket 1.2M | |
| Insurance It | 95 | 2.3M | Snoop Finance | Budget Tracker 1M | |
| Alternative Lending | 5 | 1.5M | Premium Credit - eJourney 112.8K | |
| Sales Force Automation | 8 | 1.3M | Nivo 223.6K |
A company can carry several segment tags, so these rows overlap and should not be added together. Trend lines are zero-based and share one quarter grid, so a flat line is a quiet segment, not a missing one.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 65 of 150 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2025Q4, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe the United Kingdom insurtech market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The the United Kingdom insurtech market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
Fintech
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
48 companies hiring · $7.18B disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
GAIA acquires SocialJobs
Wrisk, an Insurtech company’s acquisition of Atto on 10 February 2026, illustrates how automotive manufacturers are expanding beyond vehicle production into finance, insurance, and digital retail.
PremFina, which claims to be the UK’s fastest-growing insurance premium finance provider, has announced the expansion of its funding partnership with Waterfall Asset Management to £100m, upsizing and extending its junior capital facility to support continued growth.
Reassured, an investee company of Bridgepoint, completes a refinancing
Artificial Labs said on Tuesday it had raised $45 million in a Series B funding round led by CommerzVentures.
Optio Group, a specialty managing general agent (MGA), has announced that it has acquired AGS Forsikring AS (AGS).
Defaqto, UK’s leading provider of financial product ratings, market intelligence, and adviser technology, has agreed to acquire the Market Pricing Business of Pearson Ham Group, a move that materially expands its data and technology offering for the UK retail financial services and insurance sectors.
Raylo, a London-based subscription infrastructure for leading electronics brands, today announces a new partnership with LG, alongside a €34.5 million (£30 million) fundraise, to accelerate its expansion across device categories and international markets.
KatRisk, a leading global provider of catastrophe risk models and climate analytics, today announced the acquisition of Symfos, the UK-based company behind the Orchestra underwriting and portfolio intelligence platform.
FloodFlash co-founder and chief executive Adam Rimmer has exited the parametric flood MGA following its acquisition by NormanMax, according to people familiar with the matter.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 361 recorded events in the 24-month window.
IPO pipeline
2 companies with recorded IPO activity
OFS1 reports
IPO · UK2 reports
Leadership moves
44 tracked people moves
Appointment Account Executive
Appointment Head of Cyber Exposure and Proactive Risk
Appointment Chief Revenue Officer
Appointment Non-Executive Director
Appointment Non-Executive Director
Appointment Chair of the Audit Committee
Appointment
Appointment Chief Executive
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
AI-driven trade assistant
AI-driven trade assistant
Digital insurance marketplace app
Insurance AI
Financial Product Pricing & Origination Solution
Insurance Policy Administration Solution
Data Enrichment
Underwriting platform
Contract wins
11 recorded customer wins
Customer: clyde & co
Customer: eigenriskInsurance, Risk Management
Customer: admiral group
Customer: fusion specialtyInsurance
Customer: Tokio Marine HCC InternationalInsurance
Customer: Insurance
Regulatory events
6 recorded events
admitted to official listFinancial Conduct Authority
FDA-approvedFDA
acquisition completed
approved for operationNew York State Department of Financial Services (NY DFS)
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 19 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gaia→SocialJobs | Completed | 2026-04-24 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Wrisk→atto | Completed | 2026-02-10 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Optio Group→AGS Forsikring AS | Announced | 2026-02-02 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Defaqto→Market Pricing Business of Pearson Ham Group | Completed | 2026-01-27 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Defaqto→Pearson Ham Group’s Market Pricing Business | Completed | 2026-01-23 | Not stated in snapshot |
| eqt→The Exeter ↗ | Completed | 2026-01-22 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
19 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 41-posting snapshot covers 6 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
19 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 41-posting snapshot covers 6 employers.
Most advertised job titles
5 tracked postings mention remote work.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 41 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Companies hiring
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| Reassured ↗ | 1,582 |
| Simplyhealth ↗ | 1,218 |
| Unum ↗ | 538 |
| ManyPets ↗ | 410 |
| The Exeter ↗ | 200 |
| Tractable ↗ | 191 |
| Cuvva ↗ | 150 |
| Twenty7Tec ↗ | 120 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
501 founders and chief executives across 379 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
501 founders and chief executives across 379 companies.
Douw Steyn
BGL Group ↗Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education 1978
Simon Phelan
Hometree ↗Ex-Better Capital. Trinity College Dublin 2010
Mark Allan
Ki ↗Ex- Executive Director Brit Insurance, Sussex Capital, McKinsey & Company, Mercer Human Resource Consulting, University of Cambridge 2002
Steven Mendel
ManyPets ↗Ex-Certua, Close Brothers Group, Christie's, Barclays Wealth, McKinsey. University of Leeds BS 1988
Rich Counsell
Stable ↗Ex-CEO WARBLER, Tradition, STOKE FARMS.
Peter Blanc
Click4quote ↗CEO Aston Lark, Chartered Insurance Institute, Aston Scott. Colchester Royal Grammar School 1988
Sten Saar
Zego ↗Ex-Founder Realister, Deliveroo, onefinestay. Tallinn University of Technology BA 2008
David Goate
Marshmallow ↗Ex-Yoti, Cognitran, Homeseller. University of East Anglia BSc 2009
Richard Fulton
Raylo ↗Raylo, ex-Tyrian Capital, ex-Citi, The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), 1992
Sam Fromson
yulife ↗Ex-Invoice Cycle, Oceana Investment Partners, Orbis Investment Advisory · University of Cambridge MA
Venkat Sathyamurthy
Tractable ↗Tractable, ex-Rebellion Defense, ex-Onelogin, Stanford University Graduate School of Business, 2016
Teo Blidarus
FintechOS ↗Ex-Softelligence
Education networks
62 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
10 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
NEWS INTELLIGENCEHow this industry appears in the news
532,632 articles in the measured 12-month window.
Expand panel +
How this industry appears in the news
532,632 articles in the measured 12-month window.
News volume trends
Insurtech coverage across United Kingdom · articles per complete quarter
View quarterly article counts
| Quarter | Articles |
|---|---|
| 2021Q2 | 52,702 |
| 2021Q3 | 57,166 |
| 2021Q4 | 52,780 |
| 2022Q1 | 59,524 |
| 2022Q2 | 55,429 |
| 2022Q3 | 56,575 |
| 2022Q4 | 66,174 |
| 2023Q1 | 65,766 |
| 2023Q2 | 66,569 |
| 2023Q3 | 76,101 |
| 2023Q4 | 61,865 |
| 2024Q1 | 71,162 |
| 2024Q2 | 78,987 |
| 2024Q3 | 78,748 |
| 2024Q4 | 87,431 |
| 2025Q1 | 117,115 |
| 2025Q2 | 89,547 |
| 2025Q3 | 324,101 |
| 2025Q4 | 53,287 |
| 2026Q1 | 75,633 |
Article volume measures coverage, not market sales.
Tone of coverage over time
Most-covered companies
Company share of voice
516 recorded company events across 79 companies; percentages use that event total.
Leading coverage topics
Insurtech coverage across United Kingdom · ranked by full-period article count.
Recent and prior counts use the source comparison windows.
Topics gaining and losing attention
Insurtech coverage across United Kingdom
| Keyword | Recent | Prior | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| countries | 4,192 | 1,862 | 125% |
| tariff negotiations | 3,858 | 2,276 | 70% |
| free trade deals | 2,103 | 1,016 | 107% |
| stock performance | 1,931 | 1,223 | 58% |
| trade dispute mechanisms | 1,816 | 760 | 139% |
| bilateral trade | 1,726 | 694 | 149% |
| foreign policy analysis | 1,369 | 896 | 53% |
| multilateral diplomacy | 1,348 | 753 | 79% |
| national security strategy | 1,206 | 502 | 140% |
| exchange rates | 955 | 163 | 486% |
| free casino games | 25 | 1,118 | -98% |
| social casino | 25 | 1,115 | -98% |
| sweepstakes casino | 25 | 1,115 | -98% |
| simulated gambling apps | 27 | 1,113 | -98% |
| fun play casinos | 26 | 1,112 | -98% |
Event and signal lenses
Insurtech coverage across United Kingdom
Regulatory Risk
686,591 classified articlesterritories, disputed islands, countries
21.5% critical · 12.8% positiveFunding Momentum
61,835 classified articlesinflation reports fx, currency intervention policies, eur/usd
39.6% critical · 41.5% positiveGrowth
125,490 classified articlesstock performance, gdp growth forex, inflation reports fx
28.1% critical · 48.0% positiveInsurtech coverage across United Kingdom. Topic labels describe recorded classifications and can include broad context.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.

London
374 companies83.5% across the displayed hubs
21 companies hiring · $5.5B disclosed funding
Explore companies in London ↗
Manchester
17 companies3.8% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Manchester ↗
Cardiff
12 companies2.7% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $786.6K disclosed funding
Explore companies in Cardiff ↗
Glasgow
10 companies2.2% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $3.1M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Glasgow ↗
Belfast
9 companies2.0% across the displayed hubs
2 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Belfast ↗
Birmingham
9 companies2.0% across the displayed hubs
0 companies hiring · $0 disclosed funding
Explore companies in Birmingham ↗
Bristol
9 companies2.0% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $731.9K disclosed funding
Explore companies in Bristol ↗
Chelmsford
8 companies1.8% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $88.6K disclosed funding
Explore companies in Chelmsford ↗Insurtech in the United Kingdom: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 31 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗