Locked revenue figures are available in Radar; the eight company financial previews stay the same throughout this page. A dash means the figure is outside these featured lists. Revenue years vary by company; the figures are not a like-for-like revenue comparison. Compare annual accounts ↗
the United States’s
direct-to-consumer beauty brands industry,
in focus.
The companies, capital and talent shaping direct-to-consumer beauty brands in the United States. Find the leaders. Understand the segments. See where the activity is.

An industry ecosystem,
measured in context.
MEET THE COMPANIESExplore the United States’s direct-to-consumer beauty brands leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Expand panel +
Explore the United States’s direct-to-consumer beauty brands leaders
24 featured companies from the funding, hiring, revenue and team-size leaderboards.
Company discovery
Recorded evidence onlyRecently founded independent companies
Recently founded means a recorded 2023–2026 founding year and no recorded parent, acquirer or public-company status. These companies are not labelled startups without that separate classification.
Explore classified startups in Radar ↗Direct-to-Consumer Beauty Brands industry KPIs in the United States
A few useful ratios bring the size of this ecosystem into perspective.
96 of 2,382 tracked companies have open roles.
322 of 2,382 tracked companies have a recorded round.
Share of disclosed capital received by the three largest recorded recipients.
Midpoint of 426 rounds with a disclosed amount.
Scale is concentrated. Opportunity is broader. The three largest funding recipients hold 24.3% of disclosed capital, while 86.5% of tracked companies have no recorded funding round.
Explore the segments →CAPITAL & COMPANY FORMATIONHow the United States direct-to-consumer beauty brands has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Expand panel +
How the United States direct-to-consumer beauty brands has grown
Recorded company formation and disclosed funding across the complete annual series shown.
Disclosed funding by year
Sum of recorded funding rounds · USD
View the numbers
| Year | Funding (USD) | Founded | Raising |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | $265.56M | 141 | 28 |
| 2017 | $200.16M | 157 | 32 |
| 2018 | $669.6M | 184 | 40 |
| 2019 | $385.91M | 200 | 42 |
| 2020 | $734.66M | 218 | 46 |
| 2021 | $544.76M | 204 | 48 |
| 2022 | $589.27M | 124 | 56 |
| 2023 | $194.74M | 105 | 43 |
| 2024 | $163.81M | 122 | 20 |
| 2025 | $115.96M | 8 | 18 |
Funding concentration
Share of all disclosed company funding.
- Harry\'s13.7%
- Pharmapacks5.8%
- Glossier4.8%
- Other companies75.7%
Funding by stage
538 recorded rounds since 2016
Investors appearing most often
Recorded participation in direct-to-consumer beauty brands company rounds since 2016.
- 01L Catterton 10 rounds
- 02Silas Capital 10 rounds
- 03True Beauty Ventures 8 rounds
- 04Sandbridge Capital 8 rounds
- 05Unilever Ventures 8 rounds
- 06Forerunner Ventures 8 rounds
- 07Lerer Hippeau 7 rounds
- 08CircleUp 7 rounds
- 09Goodwater Capital 6 rounds
- 010Fearless Fund 6 rounds
Recent recorded rounds
Latest recorded rounds · USDBacked by .
Backed by Stride Consumer.
Backed by American Pacific Group.
Backed by BOLD.
Backed by Hssaspokane.
Backed by Asto Consumer Partners and Align Ventures.
Backed by .
Backed by Morgan Stanley and L’ATTITUDE Ventures and others.
Largest and notable recorded rounds
Each card is one recorded roundBacked by The Carlyle Group.
Backed by Bain Capital and Macquarie Capital.
Backed by L Catterton and CircleUp and others.
Backed by Shan Lyn Ma and Mark Clouse and others.
Backed by Cowen.
Backed by Tiger Global Management and Thrive Capital and others.
Backed by ACG and Temasek and others.
Backed by Asto Consumer Partners and Align Ventures.
Backed by Sequoia Capital and Spark Capital and others.
Backed by ACME and TPG.
THE BUSINESS BEHIND THE ACTIVITYRevenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Expand panel +
Revenue, profitability & financial strength
Annual accounts for reporting companies linked to this landscape, on like-for-like currency and reporting bases.
Display conversions use the dated reference rates above. Where a verified rate is unavailable, figures retain their source currency. Each reporting cohort keeps its currency and accounting basis separate.
FY2025 · company accounts; aggregate reporting threshold not met · 1 reporting entities from 1 eligible matches.
Sum of reporting-entity revenue; not the United States market sales.
Combined result for the same cohort.
Combined net income ÷ combined revenue.
The middle covered reporting entity.
None of 1 covered entities.
Share of covered revenue from the five largest entities.
Annual account trend
Reported cohort totals by year; coverage is stated for every period.
Bar height shows revenue. Changes in coverage can affect totals.
Profitability has two perspectives
FY2025 · 1 reporting entities
Open the company accounts
Up to eight fixed company previews show financial amounts. Search and sort the wider company list, then continue in Radar.
| Company / reporting entity | Revenue | Net profit / loss | Net margin | Revenue growth | Total assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| E.L.F Cosmetics ↗1600033 | $1,313.5m | $112.1m | +8.5% | — | — |
Explore full company accounts and filings.
Explore a reporting entity
Choose “View accounts” to inspect an available company preview.
How does direct-to-consumer beauty brands compare?
Each pair uses the same year, currency and reporting basis. Cohort overlap is disclosed.
| Industry | Covered / eligible | Revenue total | Median revenue | Net profit / loss | Aggregate margin | Profitable share | Overlap |
|---|
Available-account cohorts are not estimates of whole industries. Overlapping entities can occur in more than one cohort; do not add cohort totals.
Coverage, calculations & financial sources
Filed annual accounts for exact designated national identifiers. Every aggregate and peer pair uses one fiscal year, source currency and reporting basis; periods, coverage and overlap are explicit; 2026 partials are excluded.
The same up to eight reporting entities remain open across years, filters and sorts. Other company figures are available in Radar.
Source currencies and accounting bases stay separate. Missing accounts are excluded rather than treated as zero. Exact reporting periods appear on company previews. Annual totals can change with coverage and do not measure growth of a fixed company cohort.
Web traffic, app reach and release cadence
How the the United States companies on this page show up online: the sites people visit, the apps they install, and how often those apps ship.
Busiest websites
114 of the 2,382 companies on this page carry a measured traffic record (4.8%); these are the largest of those, by monthly visits. The median among them is 258,582 visits.
| Company | Monthly visits | Authority | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ipsyipsy.com | 17,815,469 | 55 | 97.8% |
| Scentbirdscentbird.com | 16,146,693 | 59 | 97.8% |
| FragranceNet.comfragrancenet.com | 13,671,868 | 65 | 83.4% |
| hersforhers.com | 7,114,881 | 65 | 92.1% |
| Maëlysmaelyscosmetics.com | 4,824,005 | 43 | 99.3% |
| DermStoredermstore.com | 3,057,105 | 53 | 82.1% |
| Dr. Squatch Soap Co.drsquatch.com | 2,830,594 | 51 | 87% |
| doTERRAdoterra.com | 2,649,486 | 62 | 58.7% |
| IL Makiageilmakiage.com | 2,511,919 | 51 | 92.5% |
| E.L.F Cosmeticselfcosmetics.com | 2,417,905 | 64 | 81.7% |
Visits and authority are third-party web estimates, not company-reported figures.
Most-installed apps
55 of these companies (2.3%) publish at least one Android app — 61 apps in all, carrying 5.6M installs between them.
| App | Installs | Rating | Store category |
|---|---|---|---|
| e.l.f. Cosmetics and SkincareE.L.F Cosmetics | 1.2M | 4.6 | Beauty |
| Scentbird Monthly Perfume BoxScentbird | 1.2M | 4.7 | Beauty |
| Chula - Belleza sin límitesChula | 976.7K | 4.2 | Beauty |
| FragranceNetFragranceNet.com | 936K | 3.9 | Shopping |
| Dermstore: Shop Pro Skin CareDermStore | 296.3K | 4.9 | Shopping |
| Madison Reed AppMadison Reed | 136.2K | 3.8 | Beauty |
| MEMEBOX:最潮韓國美妝Memebox | 90.6K | 1.7 | Shopping |
| doTERRA ShopdoTERRA | 68.1K | 2.8 | Lifestyle |
| Compras dōTERRAdoTERRA | 68K | — | Lifestyle |
| doTERRA Mobile CatalogdoTERRA | 67.5K | — | Shopping |
Installs are lifetime totals to date at the June 2026 store reading — a measure of reach, not of people using an app today.
Release cadence by quarter
New apps published, beside apps whose most recent update landed in that quarter — the second bar is how much of the shelf is still being maintained.
Darker bars are new releases, lighter bars apps updated. 61 of 61 apps carry a release date. The series ends at 2026Q1, the last quarter that closed before the June 2026 reading.
INSIDE THE INDUSTRYThe the United States direct-to-consumer beauty brands market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Expand panel +
The the United States direct-to-consumer beauty brands market map
Explore the segments behind the headline numbers.
Where companies are building
Rank segments by scale, hiring or disclosed funding.
Companies can sit in several segments. Counts and funding overlap.
B2c e-commerce
The largest measured segment in this report snapshot.
94 companies hiring · $5.51B disclosed funding
Explore in RadarHow companies make money
Common revenue models; a company can use more than one.
THE COMPANIES IN MOTIONWho is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Expand panel +
Who is listing, hiring leaders, launching and winning work
Recorded corporate activity linked to companies in this landscape.
Recent corporate headlines 10 dated reports
Fenn Wright has acquired Henry Rose, an independent sales and lettings agency in Ipswich, as part of a wider expansion strategy led by its newly appointed head of estate agency, Ian Fry.
The private equity firm recently invested $70 million for a minority stake in sun care brand Vacation, which sources say carried a roughly $210 million valuation.
OffCourt has joined the portfolio of Alopeke, according to the holding company’s site.
Nopalera, a San Antonio-based beauty and lifestyle brand, has raised $4 million in funding to accelerate its retail expansion and product development.
Sidley is representing Salt & Stone, a Los Angeles-based premium body care brand, in its majority acquisition by global private equity investor Advent.
Skyline Beauty Group has acquired LilyAna Naturals, with plans to unlock the skincare brand’s next stage of growth through its shared back-office infrastructure and operational expertise.
Fara Homidi – $4M Beauty & Consumer Fara Homidi, a luxury direct-to-consumer beauty brand, has raised $4M in funding according to a recent SEC filing.
On Sunday, January 25, the company submitted an emergency motion seeking a loan of more than $1 million to pay critical vendors.
Ceremonia, a Latinx hair care brand, has raised $3.5M in funding according to a recent SEC filing.
The capital market infrastructure provider Axiology has received seed financing of EUR 5 million to introduce new tokenized investment services under the EU DLT pilot regime.
Full recorded event mix
Top 10 categories among 175 recorded events in the 24-month window.
Leadership moves
26 tracked people moves
Appointment Chief Marketing Officer
Appointment Head of Business
Resignation Chief Creative Officer
Appointment President and Chief Operating Officer
Appointment Global President
Resignation Previously Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Appointment Chief Executive Officer
Product launches
Products, platforms and features in the recorded window
Beauty
Digital Service
Hair Care
Shoppable Livestream
Contract wins
1 recorded customer wins
Customer: myerBeauty
Workforce actions
3 companies with reported reductions
54 rolescost reduction
40 rolescost reduction
Scale not stated rolesbusiness downturn
Litigation
3 tracked suits
misappropriation of company funds, fraud and breach of fiduciary dutyCivil · Ongoing
patent infringementCivil · Verdict
Earnings pulse
Reported company results in the recorded window.
Median across 12 reported growth observations; companies may contribute multiple periods.
Mergers and acquisitions
Company-linked deal reports; status is preserved as recorded.
| Acquirer → target | Status | Date | Value / context |
|---|---|---|---|
| E.l.f.→NATURIUM ↗ | Announced | 2026-04-29 | $355.0M |
| fenn wright→Henry Rose ↗ | Completed | 2026-04-21 | Not stated in snapshot |
| Violet Grey→cos bar | Rumored | 2026-04-17 | Not stated in snapshot |
| vmg partners→Vacation ↗ | Announced | 2026-04-09 | $70.0M |
| Alopeke→OffCourt ↗ | Completed | 2026-04-07 | Not stated in snapshot |
| advent international→Salt & Stone ↗ | 2026-04-07 | Not stated in snapshot |
A discussion or rumour is not a completed transaction. An unstated value is not zero.
PEOPLE & OPPORTUNITYThe talent market
1,660 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 2,962-posting snapshot covers 128 employers.
Expand panel +
The talent market
1,660 postings in the preceding 12 months. The full 2,962-posting snapshot covers 128 employers.
Most advertised job titles
46 tracked postings mention remote work.
The seniority mix
796 postings specify a level.
Skills employers mention
Top skills across 2,962 tracked postings in the available jobs snapshot.
Median across 213 postings with pay data, expressed in USD.
Salary by seniority
Advertised posting medians do not describe all employees or roles.
Companies hiring
| Company | Open roles |
|---|---|
| Fenty Beauty ↗ | 11 |
| Anastasia Beverly Hills ↗ | 10 |
| E.L.F Cosmetics ↗ | 10 |
| Hattori Hanzo Shears ↗ | 10 |
| Amada ↗ | 10 |
| Barr ↗ | 8 |
| DIME Beauty ↗ | 7 |
| doTERRA ↗ | 7 |
Large employers
| Company | Employees |
|---|---|
| doTERRA ↗ | 2,697 |
| PAT McGRATH LABS ↗ | 1,800 |
| Function of Beauty ↗ | 335 |
| Ipsy ↗ | 300 |
| Madison Reed ↗ | 247 |
| Innovative skincare ↗ | 233 |
| Prose ↗ | 233 |
| Goop ↗ | 210 |
THE PEOPLE BUILDING THE FIELDFounders and leaders
1,210 founders and chief executives across 975 companies.
Expand panel +
Founders and leaders
1,210 founders and chief executives across 975 companies.
Kyle Leahy
Glossier ↗Ex-Cole Haan. Harvard Business School MBA, Georgetown University BA
Amy Errett
Madison Reed ↗Wild Salmon Center, ex-The Bay School Of San Francisco, ex-Common Sense Media, University of Pennsylvania - The Wharton School, 1988
Jeremy Johnson
Too Faced ↗Yucaipa High School 1992
Hien Nguyen
Function of Beauty ↗Ex-Zotos International, Cosmetic Laboratories, Mana Products. University of Houston 2007, Fairleigh Dickinson University 2010
Mark Levine
Dollar Shave Club ↗Next Innovation Plus.
Brian Bordainick
Starface World ↗Ex-CEO-Dinner Lab, Hudson's Bay Company · The University of Georgia BA 2007
Jennifer Goldfarb
Ipsy ↗Ex-Bare Escentuals, Goldman Sachs, Lehman Brothers. Duke University BA, Stanford University Graduate School of Business MBA
Daniel Hodgdon
Vegamour ↗Co-Founder Exposition Productions UK, ex-Marula by John Paul Selects, AKHASSA BATH & BEAUTY, Vioclicks. Georgetown University
Taylor Wang
Mayvenn ↗500 Startups, ex-Founder Groop Swoop. UC Berkeley BSc 2006, UC Davis 2006
Binna Won
Rael ↗Ex-Sigong Tech. Kyung Hee University 2004
Charles Desmarais
Athena Club ↗Ex-GardaWorld, Goldman Sachs, Co-Founder SchedulingDirect. McGill University BCom
Michael Malinsky
Wonderskin ↗Wonderskin, York University
Education networks
123 profiles with education records.
Prior employers
25 profiles with prior-work records.
Profiles cover recorded founders and leaders; contact details remain in Radar.
DEMAND, SUPPLY & PLACEWhere demand signals run ahead of mapped supply — the United States
Compare demand signals in the United States’s newsflow with the direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories mapped to each signal.
Expand panel +
Where demand signals run ahead of mapped supply — the United States
Compare demand signals in the United States’s newsflow with the direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories mapped to each signal.
Signal percentile − supply percentile = gap in percentile points. Positive gaps highlight questions to investigate. A high signal can reflect spending pressure or access friction, as well as potential demand.
The comparison is relative to the signal families on this page. A supply percentile of zero means the lowest relative reading, not zero companies. It is a prioritisation clue, not measured market size or unmet demand.
The opportunity, in one view
Signal and mapped-supply percentiles, their gap, and change in the signal’s article share.
Swipe horizontally to compare all columns →
| Signal family | Signal percentile | Supply percentile | Relative gap | Gap (points) | Signal share vs prior year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Layoffs & income shocks ↗Spending Pressure | 85.0 | 22.2 | +62.8 | +57.7% | |
| Highways & expressways ↗Connectivity Build-Out | 45.0 | 0.0 | +45.0 | +23.5% | |
| Consumer grievances & trust ↗Trust Friction | 75.0 | 44.4 | +30.6 | +92.6% | |
| Tourism footfall ↗Demand Driver | 55.0 | 33.3 | +21.7 | +35.3% | |
| Airports & air links ↗Connectivity Build-Out | 15.0 | 11.1 | +3.9 | +23.9% | |
| Housing & urban expansion ↗Demand Driver | 55.0 | 66.7 | -11.7 | +49.2% | |
| Inflation & spending pressure ↗Spending Pressure | 55.0 | 66.7 | -11.7 | +18.9% | |
| Rail & metro connectivity ↗Connectivity Build-Out | 35.0 | 66.7 | -31.7 | +36.8% | |
| E-commerce & quick delivery ↗Channel Shift | 55.0 | 94.4 | -39.4 | +67.2% | |
| Industrial parks & warehousing ↗Investment Build-Out | 35.0 | 94.4 | -59.4 | +28.1% | |
| Congestion & traffic friction ↗Access Friction | 40.0 | — | No matching category | — | +2.5% |
Showing all 11 signals. Select a family for its history and mapped categories.
Where the signals are loudest
All 12 city readings for these demand families in the comparison geography. the United States is highlighted.
Each city’s reading is a share of its own coverage.
Congestion & traffic friction · Layoffs & income shocks · Highways & expressways
Inflation & spending pressure · Layoffs & income shocks · Congestion & traffic friction
Congestion & traffic friction · Layoffs & income shocks · Consumer grievances & trust
Congestion & traffic friction · Highways & expressways · Layoffs & income shocks
Congestion & traffic friction · Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure
Inflation & spending pressure · Layoffs & income shocks · Congestion & traffic friction
Congestion & traffic friction · Highways & expressways · Layoffs & income shocks
Congestion & traffic friction · Highways & expressways · Layoffs & income shocks
Layoffs & income shocks · Congestion & traffic friction · Inflation & spending pressure
Congestion & traffic friction · Highways & expressways · Housing & urban expansion
Congestion & traffic friction · Layoffs & income shocks · Highways & expressways
Congestion & traffic friction · Layoffs & income shocks · Inflation & spending pressure
Inside the leading signals
Open any signal for its quarterly historySPENDING PRESSURELayoffs & income shocks+62.8percentile-point gap
Layoff cycles can pull discretionary spend back toward value offerings.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- Internet First Brands1,918
- Marketplaces74
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 2692 | 15.79 |
| 2024Q4 | 2657 | 14.98 |
| 2025Q1 | 3457 | 13.81 |
| 2025Q2 | 3055 | 19.17 |
| 2025Q3 | 6687 | 24.54 |
| 2025Q4 | 3761 | 31.16 |
| 2026Q1 | 2843 | 19.69 |
| 2026Q2 | 1885 | 24.49 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
CONNECTIVITY BUILD-OUTHighways & expressways+45.0percentile-point gap
Corridor build-out can collapse travel time, widening every catchment.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- Marketplaces74
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 1087 | 6.38 |
| 2024Q4 | 1071 | 6.04 |
| 2025Q1 | 1090 | 4.36 |
| 2025Q2 | 923 | 5.79 |
| 2025Q3 | 1985 | 7.28 |
| 2025Q4 | 631 | 5.23 |
| 2026Q1 | 965 | 6.68 |
| 2026Q2 | 597 | 7.76 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
TRUST FRICTIONConsumer grievances & trust+30.6percentile-point gap
Trust friction can reward whoever fixes service, complaints and fraud handling.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- Consumer Digital2,275
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 700 | 4.11 |
| 2024Q4 | 575 | 3.24 |
| 2025Q1 | 674 | 2.69 |
| 2025Q2 | 566 | 3.55 |
| 2025Q3 | 1058 | 3.88 |
| 2025Q4 | 636 | 5.27 |
| 2026Q1 | 1740 | 12.05 |
| 2026Q2 | 496 | 6.44 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
DEMAND DRIVERTourism footfall+21.7percentile-point gap
Visitor flows can convert into discretionary spend where they land.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- Internet First Brands1,918
- Beauty Products Subscription105
- Online Beauty Appliances68
- Handicraft E-Commerce49
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 889 | 5.22 |
| 2024Q4 | 884 | 4.98 |
| 2025Q1 | 930 | 3.72 |
| 2025Q2 | 1039 | 6.52 |
| 2025Q3 | 1801 | 6.61 |
| 2025Q4 | 934 | 7.74 |
| 2026Q1 | 722 | 5.0 |
| 2026Q2 | 650 | 8.44 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
CONNECTIVITY BUILD-OUTAirports & air links+3.9percentile-point gap
If new terminals and routes pull business and tourist inflow, demand tends to follow the passenger.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- Beauty Products Subscription105
- Online Beauty Appliances68
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 106 | 0.62 |
| 2024Q4 | 109 | 0.61 |
| 2025Q1 | 150 | 0.6 |
| 2025Q2 | 162 | 1.02 |
| 2025Q3 | 202 | 0.74 |
| 2025Q4 | 132 | 1.09 |
| 2026Q1 | 122 | 0.85 |
| 2026Q2 | 74 | 0.96 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
DEMAND DRIVERHousing & urban expansion-11.7percentile-point gap
New residential catchments can pull everyday demand with them.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- B2C E-Commerce2,346
- Marketplaces74
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 513 | 3.01 |
| 2024Q4 | 557 | 3.14 |
| 2025Q1 | 752 | 3.01 |
| 2025Q2 | 759 | 4.76 |
| 2025Q3 | 1345 | 4.94 |
| 2025Q4 | 681 | 5.64 |
| 2026Q1 | 745 | 5.16 |
| 2026Q2 | 354 | 4.6 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
SPENDING PRESSUREInflation & spending pressure-11.7percentile-point gap
Sustained price pressure can shift spending toward value formats.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- B2C E-Commerce2,346
- Marketplaces74
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 4668 | 27.39 |
| 2024Q4 | 4283 | 24.15 |
| 2025Q1 | 5369 | 21.46 |
| 2025Q2 | 7757 | 48.67 |
| 2025Q3 | 8074 | 29.63 |
| 2025Q4 | 6012 | 49.81 |
| 2026Q1 | 4421 | 30.63 |
| 2026Q2 | 2791 | 36.26 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
CONNECTIVITY BUILD-OUTRail & metro connectivity-31.7percentile-point gap
Where rail and metro build out, station-area demand can follow the footfall.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- B2C E-Commerce2,346
- Marketplaces74
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 221 | 1.3 |
| 2024Q4 | 185 | 1.04 |
| 2025Q1 | 279 | 1.11 |
| 2025Q2 | 218 | 1.37 |
| 2025Q3 | 491 | 1.8 |
| 2025Q4 | 183 | 1.52 |
| 2026Q1 | 202 | 1.4 |
| 2026Q2 | 126 | 1.64 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
CHANNEL SHIFTE-commerce & quick delivery-39.4percentile-point gap
Online and quick-commerce adoption can migrate spend across channels faster than networks adapt.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- B2C E-Commerce2,346
- Handicraft E-Commerce49
- Customized Products E-Commerce44
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 160 | 0.94 |
| 2024Q4 | 235 | 1.33 |
| 2025Q1 | 183 | 0.73 |
| 2025Q2 | 212 | 1.33 |
| 2025Q3 | 439 | 1.61 |
| 2025Q4 | 294 | 2.44 |
| 2026Q1 | 228 | 1.58 |
| 2026Q2 | 111 | 1.44 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
INVESTMENT BUILD-OUTIndustrial parks & warehousing-59.4percentile-point gap
Parks and warehousing can add the jobs and fulfilment capacity that reach depends on.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
- B2C E-Commerce2,346
- Handicraft E-Commerce49
- Customized Products E-Commerce44
Companies can appear in multiple categories; these counts are not a unique-company total.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 291 | 1.71 |
| 2024Q4 | 291 | 1.64 |
| 2025Q1 | 430 | 1.72 |
| 2025Q2 | 278 | 1.74 |
| 2025Q3 | 457 | 1.68 |
| 2025Q4 | 294 | 2.44 |
| 2026Q1 | 424 | 2.94 |
| 2026Q2 | 166 | 2.16 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
ACCESS FRICTIONCongestion & traffic friction—supply not mapped
Congestion friction can push footfall toward nearby formats and toward delivery.
Mapped direct-to-consumer beauty brands categories
This signal has no matching category in the page’s direct-to-consumer beauty brands market map, so no supply percentile or gap is assigned.
Quarterly share of the United States coverage
Mentions per 10,000 articles · zero baseline
View quarterly signal counts
| Quarter | Mentions | Per 10,000 articles |
|---|---|---|
| 2024Q3 | 2790 | 16.37 |
| 2024Q4 | 3697 | 20.85 |
| 2025Q1 | 3562 | 14.23 |
| 2025Q2 | 2881 | 18.08 |
| 2025Q3 | 4705 | 17.27 |
| 2025Q4 | 2433 | 20.16 |
| 2026Q1 | 1860 | 12.88 |
| 2026Q2 | 1751 | 22.75 |
Where this signal concentrates in the comparison geography
RESEARCH & CHANGING CONVERSATIONSRelated research and changing coverage
the United States direct-to-consumer beauty brands coverage
Expand panel +
Related research and changing coverage
the United States direct-to-consumer beauty brands coverage
Uniform Pricing in U.S. Retail Chains*
The Quarterly Journal of Economics
391 citations in the snapshot
The Unequal Gains from Product Innovations: Evidence from the U.S. Retail Sector*
The Quarterly Journal of Economics
241 citations in the snapshot
The Next-Generation U.S. Retail Electricity Market with Customers and Prosumers—A Bibliographical Survey
Energies
81 citations in the snapshot
The Pass-Through of Minimum Wages into U.S. Retail Prices: Evidence from Supermarket Scanner Data
The Review of Economics and Statistics
71 citations in the snapshot
What is growing in this coverage
the United States coverage of this page's demand families
| Keyword | Recent articles | Prior articles | Share change |
|---|---|---|---|
| patent infringement | 394 | 24 | 1923.3% |
| cyber liability | 254 | 25 | 1152.2% |
| privacy policies | 207 | 24 | 963.0% |
| arbitration clause | 170 | 22 | 852.3% |
| ip litigation | 547 | 72 | 836.3% |
| antitrust investigations | 635 | 87 | 799.5% |
Share changes describe coverage in the stated comparison periods, not search demand or market size.
GEOGRAPHIC FOOTPRINTWhere companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
Expand panel +
Where companies are based
Company counts, hiring and disclosed funding across the recorded hubs.
New York City
279 companies36.7% across the displayed hubs
20 companies hiring · $2.4B disclosed funding
Explore companies in New York City ↗Los Angeles
202 companies26.6% across the displayed hubs
14 companies hiring · $513.1M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Los Angeles ↗San Francisco
84 companies11.1% across the displayed hubs
6 companies hiring · $758.7M disclosed funding
Explore companies in San Francisco ↗
Miami
62 companies8.2% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $11.5M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Miami ↗
Chicago
45 companies5.9% across the displayed hubs
4 companies hiring · $13.9M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Chicago ↗
Brooklyn
33 companies4.3% across the displayed hubs
3 companies hiring · $46.7M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Brooklyn ↗
Atlanta
28 companies3.7% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $22.3M disclosed funding
Explore companies in Atlanta ↗San Diego
27 companies3.6% across the displayed hubs
1 companies hiring · $64.1M disclosed funding
Explore companies in San Diego ↗Direct-to-Consumer Beauty Brands in the United States: key questions
Clear definitions for making better comparisons.
What does this landscape measure?
It measures the tracked company ecosystem, recorded funding, hiring and other available evidence. It is not a market-size estimate.
Can segment counts be added together?
No. A company can belong to several segments, so segment counts and funding can overlap.
What does a missing figure mean?
A dash or unavailable panel means the current reviewed source snapshot does not support that figure.
Company ecosystem snapshot: 30 August 2026. Funding is recorded in USD; filed accounts retain their stated currency and reporting basis. Each section identifies its own coverage. The news and research behind these sections is explorable in Prism.
Canonical landscape ↗